New Reference Books

Uniquely authoritative and wide-ranging in its scope, The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is the indispensable reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,500 cross-referenced A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; other church leaders; saints; and mystics. In this new edition, great efforts have been made to increase and strengthen coverage of non-Anglican denominations (for example non-Western European Christianity), as well as broadening the focus on Christianity and the history of churches in areas beyond Western Europe. In particular, there have been extensive additions with regards to the Christian Church in Asia, Africa, Latin America, North America, and Australasia. Significant updates have also been included on topics such as liturgy, Canon Law, recent international developments, non-Anglican missionary activity, and the increasingly important area of moral and pastoral theology, among many others. Since its first appearance in 1957, the ODCC has established itself as an essential resource for ordinands, clergy, and members of religious orders, and an invaluable tool for academics, teachers, and students of church history and theology, as well as for the general reader.

This new edition is a comprehensive guide to nearly 200 invasions, conquests, battles, and occupations, from ancient times to the present. Throughout history, invasions and conquests have played a remarkable role in shaping our world and defining our boundaries, both physically and culturally.

This unique and authoritative guide describes more than 400 important Chinese symbols, explaining their esoteric meanings and connections. Their use and development in Chinese literature and in Chinese customs and attitudes to life are traced lucidly and precisely. An ideal reference book to help one learn and explore further, while simultaneously giving greater insight into many other aspects of Chinese life. The most authoritative guide to Chinese symbolism available to the general reader today. A well-researched, informative and entertaining guide to the treasure trove of Chinese symbols. South China Morning Post

This encyclopedia reviews and interprets a broad array of research on Latin American politics, including topics related to political institutions, processes, and parties; social movements; political economy; racial and gender politics; and Latin America's international relations. Under the editorial directorship of Harry E. Vanden and Gary Prevost and associate editors Jennifer Cyr, Kwame Dixon, Mary K. Meyer McAleese, Gabriel Ondetti, and Richard Stahler-Sholk, this publication brings together peer-reviewed contributions by leading researchers and offers the definitive resource for understanding contemporary politics in the region. As a result, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics is a necessary resource for students and as well as both new and established scholars.

Numeracy has shaped human history as much as literacy: mathematics has enabled us to measure the cosmos, control the Earth, and create all technological change. A Cultural History of Mathematics presents the first comprehensive and global history from antiquity to today. The work is divided into 6 volumes, with each volume covering the same topics, so readers can either study a period/volume or follow a topic across history. The 6 volumes cover: Antiquity (c.3000 BCE-500 CE); the Medieval Age (500-1400); the Early Modern Age (1450-1687); the Eighteenth Century (1687-1800); the Nineteenth Century (1800-1914); the Modern Age (1914-present). Themes (and chapter titles) are: everyday numeracy; practice & profession; inventing mathematics; mathematics & worldviews; describing & understanding the world; mathematics & technological change; representing mathematics. The page extent for the pack is approximately 1536pp. Each volume opens with notes on contributors and an Introduction and concludes with notes, bibliography, and an index.

A Library Journal Best in Reference selection for 2022. How has the activity of shopping changed over the centuries and what does it tell us about the lives and interests of people living within different cultures? In a work that spans 2,500 years, these questions are addressed by 55 experts, each contributing an overview of a theme applied to a period in history. With the help of a broad range of case material they illustrate broad trends and nuances of the culture of shopping from antiquity to the present. Individual volume editors ensure the cohesion of the whole and to make it as easy as possible to use, chapter titles are the same across each of the volumes. This gives the choice of reading about a specific period in one of the volumes, or following a theme across history, history by reading the relevant chapter in each of the six. The six volumes cover: 1 - Antiquity (500 BCE to 500 CE); 2 - Middle Ages (500 to 1450); 3 - Early Modern Age (1450 to 1650); 4 - Age of Enlightenment (1650 to 1820); 5 - Age of Revolution and Empire (1820 to 1920); 6 - Modern Age (1920 to 2000+). Themes and chapter titles are: Practices and Processes; Spaces and Places; Shoppers and Identities; Luxury and Every day; Home and Family; Visual and Literary Representations; Reputation, Trust and Credit; and Governance, Regulation and the State. The page extent for the pack is approximately 1,700 pp. Each volume opens with Notes on Contributors and an Introduction by the Volume Editor and concludes with Notes, Bibliography and an Index. The Cultural Histories Series A: Cultural History of Shopping is part of The Cultural Histories Series. Titles are available as hardcover sets for libraries needing just one subject or preferring a tangible reference for their shelves or as part of a fully-searchable digital library. The digital product is available to institutions by annual subscription or on perpetual access via www.bloomsburyculturalhistory.com . Individual volumes for academics and researchers interested in specific historical periods are also available in print or digitally via www.bloomsburycollections.com .