New Reference Books

Harriet Tubman: A Life in American History is an indispensable resource for high school and college students about the life and times of anti-slavery activist Harriet Tubman, who exemplifies how slaves took the initiative to free themselves and others. Harriet Tubman served a pivotal role in leading slaves to freedom in the decade before the Civil War. This biography offers a demythologized chronicle of her life and work with information about her life as a slave, role as conductor on the Underground Railroad, work as a military scout during the Civil War, and postwar activism for blacks and women. The book provides valuable context that situates Harriet Tubman against the backdrop of the slavery debate in antebellum America, and the hardships endured by ex-slaves in postbellum America. As such, the timeframe covers nearly a full century, from the first quarter of the 19th to the first quarter of the 20th. In addition to ten biographical chapters and a short timeline, Harriet Tubman includes an interpretive essay reflecting on her importance in American history. The volume also includes an appendix of primary documents about Tubman's life and work, a bibliography, and a number of sidebars and short commentaries embedded in the text, inviting readers to explore connections between Tubman's life and political, intellectual, and social culture. Provides readers with a comprehensive but readable account of Tubman's life Provides readers with an overview of American abolitionism and the Underground Railroad Explores the pivotal role of religious faith in Tubman's activism Suggests several comparisons between Tubman's activism and current struggles for social justice.

Photographs of Oneonta, New York, USA by Stephen Joseph.

Argentina celebrated a century of independence from Spain in 1910, and the republic was the tenth most important trading nation in the global economy. Although it had the promise of growth and industrial development at the time, crises, mismanagement, and unrealized potential associated with authoritarianism, populism, and military coups (culminating in thousands of "disappearances" over a period of unparalleled state terror) prevented that from happening. By 2001, Argentina announced that it would not service its foreign debt, triggering the largest default in world financial history. Since then, the country has sought to recapture the potential and promise of the past, and its place in the world while escaping from what appeared to be an interminable cycle of expansion, crises, conflict, and institutional collapse. Historical Dictionary of Argentina contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, an extensive bibliography, and more than 800 cross-referenced entries on the country's important personalities and aspects of its politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Argentina.

Geography Today provides a thoughtful and thorough introduction to the study of geography from maps and technology to the study of different cultures, political systems, and economies, and an investigation of plate tectonics and climate systems. Geography Today: An Encyclopedia of Concepts, Issues, and Technology approaches the study of geography by concept, in contrast to most other works, which are organized by world region. Geography curriculums have been moving away from teaching the topic on a regional basis and toward teaching it through broader concepts. This is modeled by the National Geography Standards, the National Council for Geographic Education's Roadmap for 21st Century Geography Education, Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills Resource System, and ABC-CLIO's own geography advisory board, comprised of high school geography teachers from across the United States. By introducing geography concepts, Geography Today sets the foundation for readers to understand why certain geographies may be the way they are. It further helps high school geography students to apply concepts to different contexts with 101 geography terms, themes, and concepts for quick-reference research and study. Provides readers with a concise explanation of geography concepts as laid out in the U.S. National Geography Standards Provides real-world examples of geography in action Contains numerous resources to help readers fully understand the study of geography in the 21st century. Includes an A-to-Z quick reference section that enables students to dive deeper into specific terms, themes, and concepts.

Covering all aspects of global exploration, from Antarctica to the North Pole, The Oxford Companion to World Exploration examines the lives and expeditions of heroic and influential explorers. This coverage includes biographies, including Lewis and Clark, Ferdinand Magellan, Cheng Ho, HernanCortes, Ibn Battuta, Vitus Bering, and Christopher Columbus; national expeditions, including Portuguese, British, French, Chinese, Dutch, and Spanish; and navigational and marine sciences, such as navigational techniques, ancient and medieval navigation, ocean currents and winds, longitude,cartography, and aerial surveys. The Companion's temporal scope ranges from the ancient cultures of Egypt, Persia, Greece, Byzantium, China, Polynesia, and Rome, through to modern space exploration. The articles have been written by leading scholars from across the globe, utilizing the most currentscholarship in the field of exploration studies.The Companion contains 800 entries, supplemented by 150 black-and-white and 50 full-color photographs and maps. Annotated primary source materials, such as travel logs and personal letters, supplement select biographies. Each entry is signed by a leading scholar in the field, contains a bibliography for further reading, and is cross-referenced to other useful points of interest within the Companion. Published in association with the Newberry Library in Chicago, the Companion will reproduce more than 100 images from its world-renowned collection.

There are very serious environmental problems facing the planet. Biodiversity loss has reached unprecedented levels. Climate change is progressing so rapidly that within this century we are likely to see substantial sea level rise. There has been dramatic loss of tropical rainforests. Plastic pollution is killing wildlife and polluting our oceans. Various movements old and new are addressing these green issues. Civil society activism has taken on new strategies with the emergence of new technologies and global networks of green activists have formed. A new generation of green activists are emerging and boldly criticizing the status quo. At the same time, in some parts of the world, green movements that looked like they were beginning to gain a political foothold or were even doing quite well are in retreat. The reasons are complex. Some suffer from lack of funding and hostile political and legal environments. Others are being attacked by populist politicians who see green activism as a threat. The second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 300 cross-referenced on green movements, green politics, green trends, and major environmental agreements and events. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the green movement.

This comprehensive sourcebook covers the evolution of LGBTQ engagement in American politics, from the emergence of gay rights as a political issue in the early 1970s to the present day, when LGBTQ issues occupy a prominent place in politics. This work provides a broad and authoritative survey of the ways in which gay Americans are influencing the tenor and trajectory of U.S. politics at the local, state, and national levels. An encyclopedic section offers thorough coverage of all of the individuals, organizations, cultural forces, political issues, and legal decisions that have combined to elevate the role of LGBTQ people at the ballot box, on the campaign trail, in Washington, and in mayors' offices, city councils, and school boards across the country. Complementing reference entries are in-depth essays on the rising prominence of gay Americans as voters, candidates, public officials, lawmakers, and opinion leaders, providing further context for understanding their impact on modern U.S. political processes and institutions from the perspective of liberals and conservatives alike. Finally, the set includes a collection of important primary source documents that illuminate landmark events, examine gay policy priorities and preferences, and showcase the beliefs and experiences of prominent LGBTQ Americans in the world of politics. Provides historical essays detailing the evolution of LGBTQ Americans in U.S. politics as voters, candidates, and officeholders Offers more than 250 reference entries of individuals, organizations, cultural forces, political issues, and legal decisions Presents primary documents of additional insight into major events, issues, and individuals associated with LGBTQ politics Features a chronology of events for at-a-glance coverage of the most important events in LGBTQ history Includes an appendix of LGBTQ organizations involved in politics.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Criminal Psychology will be a modern, interdisciplinary resource aimed at students and professionals interested in the intersection of psychology (e.g., social, forensic, clinical), criminal justice, sociology, and criminology. The interdisciplinary study of human behavior in legal contexts includes numerous topics on criminal behavior, criminal justice policies and legal process, crime detection and prevention, eyewitness identification, prison life, offender assessment and rehabilitation, risk assessment and management, offender mental health, community reintegration, and juvenile offending. The study of these topics has been increasing continually since the late 1800s, with people trained in many legal professions such as policing, social work, law, academia, mental health, and corrections. This will be a comprehensive work that will provide the most current empirical information on those topics of greatest concern to students who desire to work in these fields. This encyclopedia is a unique reference work that looks at criminal behavior primarily through a scientific lens. With over 500 entries the book brings together top empirically driven researchers and clinicians across multiple fields psychology, criminology, social work, and sociology to explore the field.

This new series from Grey House offers in-depth, single volumes that follow the debate, or path, to a decision on a controversial topic as it evolved throughout history. Each volume offers a wide range of opinion essays and editorials, speeches, and journal articles and expert analysis.

Shakespeare lived when knowledge of plants and their uses was a given, but also at a time of unique interest in plants and gardens. His lifetime saw the beginning of scientific interest in plants, the first large-scale plant introductions from outside the country since Roman times, and the beginning of gardening as a leisure activity. Shakespeare's works show that he engaged with this new world to illuminate so many facets of his plays and poems. This dictionary offers a complete companion to Shakespeare's references to landscape, plants and gardens, including both formal and rural settings. It covers plants and flowers, gardening terms, and the activities that Shakespeare included within both cultivated and uncultivated landscapes as well as encompassing garden imagery in relation to politics, the state and personal lives. Each alphabetical entry offers an definition and overview of the term discussed in its historical context, followed by a guided tour of its use in Shakespeare's works and finally an extensive bibliography, including primary and secondary sources, books and articles.

An annual roundup of the amazing breakthroughs in science and technology The McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science & Technology 2012 continues its tradition of making information on the latest advances in science and technology accessible to the non-specialist through concise, richly illustrated articles. With entries written by international leaders in their respective fields, this new edition covers a broad range of scientific and technical disciplines from Astronomy to Zoology. 190 experts in science and technology keep you informed about key developments and trends in more than 50 major disciplies. Coverage includes forefront topics in areas such as biomedical sciences; cell and molecular biology; computer science; environmental science; genetics; materials science and engineering; neuroscience; polymer chemistry; theoretical physics; and more 300 images, two-color illustrations, and charts complement and enhance the text. An extensive index makes finding information easy Features numerous cross-references to the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition, in each article for background reading as well as references to key literature. All articles are invited, reviewed, and signed to ensure quality of content, then edited and illustrated to ensure comprehensibility for the non-specialist reader.

For over a century, this acclaimed reference work has provided librarians and researchers with the most comprehensive and current information on libraries across North America. In this Web version, subscribers can easily locate and view detailed profiles on more than 30,000 public, academic, and special libraries in the United States and Canada. Profiles include address and phone numbers, e-mail addresses, special collections and holdings, personnel and finances. Hot links are provided to web sites and e-mails and to library branches. The improved interface makes it easier to search by library types, library schools, and support organizations.