New Reference Books

This masterful six-volume encyclopedia provides comprehensive, global coverage of religion, emphasizing larger religious communities without neglecting the world's smaller religious outposts. * Coverage of the religions of more than 240 countries, including all of the larger religious communities, denominations, and sects * Detailed statistical information on the major religious communities in each country * 100+ entries on famous and important religious sites and places of pilgrimage * Biographies of the 100 most influential religious leaders in history * More than 150 photographs, plus maps and illustrations for each nation * A bibliography for each entry

An enlightening, comprehensive A-to-Z guide to angels of all kinds, The Encyclopedia of Angels, Second Edition provides a scholarly reference to the origins, natures, functions, and manifestations of angels. Sure to delight and inform students, scholars, and laypeople alike, this second edition is the definitive source on the subject. Carefully executed and extensive revisions cover 50 percent more material than the previous edition, adding unsurpassed detail and accuracy to an encyclopedia that is already impressive in scope and authority. Engaging, fact-filled entries cover topics such as the history of angelologies, individual angels, the importance of angels in major world religions, encounters with angels, and depiction of angels in art and popular culture. Several entries cover prominent historical figures, such as Charles Lindbergh, William Blake, and Carl Jung, who claimed to have experienced first-hand interaction with angels. In addition, many entries have been updated, rewritten, and expanded, particularly topical entries like those on drama, music, or film. The encyclopedia also contains an expanded bibliography and approximately 65 new illustrations, as well as a new introduction and a foreword written by Lisa Schwebel, Ph.D., Professor of Religion, Hunter College, City University of New York.

The Yearbook of American & Canadian Churches has been published continuously since 1916 and contains information about denominations, churches, clergy, seminaries, and other religious organizations in the United States and Canada. The Yearbook of American & Canadian Churches is the single best, most complete and accurate compilation of essential information about religious organizations in North America. The Yearbook features: statistics of church membership and finances, descriptions of denominations, listings of denominations by families names, postal and e-mail addresses of church leaders, denominational headquarters, and regional offices, national and regional ecumenical organizations, listings of theological schools and Bible colleges statistics of seminary enrollment, listings of religious periodicals, calendar of religious holidays and festivals, listings of sources of religion-related research, listings of church archives, and extensive indexes (including an index of names).

This contemporary verse by verse commentary examines the scientific, literary, and historical content of the Scriptures — reflecting the exegetical variation found within the community of scholars. Features current theories on dating, historical reconstruction, and archaeological information. Provides contemporary perspectives on hermeneutics, theological depths relating to the biblical word, and themes in the Old Testament. Includes articles on Jesus, the Early Church, Gnosticism, and the subapostolic church.

Here is the first-ever comprehensive guide to archival concepts, principles, and practices. Encyclopedia of Archival Science features 154 entries, which address every aspect of archival professional knowledge. These entries range from traditional ideas (like appraisal and provenance) to today's challenges (digitization and digital preservation). They present the thoughts of leading luminaries like Ernst Posner, Margaret Cross-Norton, and Philip Brooks as well as those of contemporary authors and rising scholars. Historical and ethical components of practice are infused throughout the work.

A placename is often much more than just a label. A name may bespeak the history of a nation, the culture of a people, or the hopes of an individual. Such connections are revealed in this extensive alphabetical reference to placenames of the world, which offers an in-depth look at the origins of each. First published in 1997, the work in this new edition contains over 7,000 entries, including 1,000 new placenames from previously under-represented areas such as China and Japan. Entries cover natural features such as mountains, rivers and lakes as well as manmade entities such as cities and countries. Each entry includes the name of the feature; a brief description and its geographical location; and the origin of the name with relevant historical, biographical and topographical details. Appendices give the meanings of common elements of non-English placenames (e.g., Abu, as in Abu Dhabi, means father of); major placenames in European languages (e.g., Pays-Bas and Paesi Bassi are the French and Italian names, respectively, for what English speakers call the Netherlands); and transcribed Chinese-language equivalents for the names of the world's countries and capitals.

This second edition of the 1990 Library Journal Best Reference book, four years in the compiling and writing, is an exhaustive A-Z direct-entry encyclopedia of Antarctica. It doubles the first edition's entries to 30,000, covering geographical features, historical events, explorers, expeditions, airplanes, ships, scientists, scientific stations, tour operators, scientific terms, birds, animals, insects, flora, items of general interest and much more. Antarctica is defined as all land and water south of 60°S. Information for geographical features is drawn primarily from national gazetteers, both current and old, and is not limited to English-language sources. Extensive cross-referencing simplifies the continent's often bewildering nomenclature--geographical features' names, for example, may vary widely from one national gazetteer to the next, and are further complicated by having been named and renamed multiple times, and in many languages, through the years. All linguistic variations of placenames are included and cross-referenced.

Maps tells the story in this innovative volume, and the story of Canada they tell is profoundly engrossing and rewarding. The atlas covers a period of a thousand years and contains essentially all the historically significant maps of the country. Gathered from major archives and libraries all over the world, they include treasures from the National Archives of Canada--many never before published--and many from the archives of the Hudson’s Bay Company. Included are maps by the founder of New France, Samuel de Champlain, by Philip Turnor and Peter Fidler. There are English maps and French maps; Spanish maps and Russian maps; American, Italian and Dutch maps as well as maps drawn by Native people such as the Beothuk, Blackfoot and Cree. Canada’s colourful past unfolds in sumptuous visual detail--history seen from a whole new perspective.

2017 Road atlas of the United States, Canada, and Mexico

This fully-revised comprehensive fourth edition covers the whole field of physical geography including climate and atmosphere, geomorphology, biogeography, hydrology, oceans, Quaternary, environmental change, soils, remote sensing and GIS. This new edition reflects developments in the discipline during the last decade, with the expert advisory group providing an international perspective on the discipline of physical geography. Over 2000 entries that are self-contained or cross-referenced include 200 that are new to this edition, over 400 that are rewritten and updated, and new supporting references and additional recommended reading in many others. This volume is the essential reference point for students of physical geography and related environmental disciplines, lecturers and interested individuals alike.

Encyclopedia of Caves is a self-contained, beautifully illustrated work dedicated to caves and their unique environments. It includes more than 100 comprehensive articles from leading scholars and explorers in 15 different countries. Each entry is detailed and scientifically sound, yet accessible for students and non-scientists. This large-format reference is enchanced with hundreds of full-color photographs, maps, and drawings from the authors' own work, which provide unique images of the underground environment. Global in reach--authors are an international team of experts covering caves from around the world. Includes 24 new articles commissioned especially for this 2nd edition. Articles contain extensive bibliographies cross-referencing related essays. Hundreds of color photographs, maps, charts and illustrations of cave features and biota. A-Z sequence and a comprehensive index allow for easy location of topics. Glossary presents definitions of all key vocabulary items.

The Cambridge World Prehistory provides a systematic and authoritative examination of the prehistory of every region around the world from the early days of human origins in Africa two million years ago to the beginnings of written history, which in some areas started only two centuries ago. Written by a team of leading international scholars, the volumes include both traditional topics and cutting-edge approaches, such as archaeolinguistics and molecular genetics, and examine the essential questions of human development around the world. The volumes are organised geographically, exploring the evolution of hominins and their expansion from Africa, as well as the formation of states and development in each region of different technologies such as seafaring, metallurgy and food production. The Cambridge World Prehistory reveals a rich and complex history of the world. It will be an invaluable resource for any student or scholar of archaeology and related disciplines looking to research a particular topic, tradition, region or period within prehistory.

America's number-one all-time best-selling tax guide, with 2,500 money-saving tips J.K. Lasser's Your Income Tax 2017 puts America's most trusted tax advice to work to help you with your 2016 tax return. Reader-friendly and easy to use, this book answers your most pressing questions to help you maximize your tax savings. You'll learn how the latest tax law and IRS changes apply to your specific situation, and you'll find expert advice on sheltering income, planning, claiming deductions, and more. New tax laws, IRS rulings, court decisions, filing pointers, and planning strategies are highlighted throughout for quick reference. Using a CPA or tax software to file? This guide shows you what you can do to leverage the utmost money-saving capabilities these services have to offer. Filing yourself? This book gives you guidance and expertise from America's most trusted tax resource for over 75 years. Tax laws are continually evolving, and even if your family situation and finances haven't changed in the last year, your tax-saving opportunities or liabilities may have changed because of new rules. Do you routinely stay up to date on IRS rulings and new tax legislation? J.K. Lasser does, and this book tells you everything you need to know to file your 2016 return. Maximize your tax savings with over 2,500 tax-saving tips. Learn how recent tax law changes affect your 2016 filing. Identify your deductions, and claim them correctly. Get the answers you need quickly, from a trusted source.

While its primary focus is the United States, "Feminism" also examines how multiculturalism and global thinking have infused today's feminists with a sense of widened responsibility for girls and women worldwide. Readers will find a cultural overview of society's changing perception of women and a thoughtful analysis of the directions feminism is taking today. Other sections include a chronology of significant events, a collection of biographical sketches, and annotated listings of organizations and print and nonprint resources, including Internet coverage. Rounded out by a comprehensive index, this volume is excellent for anyone seeking a one-stop reference work on feminism.

Provides basic consumer health information about abuse and neglect of children and adolescents, along with facts about prevention and intervention strategies and treatment for survivors of abuse. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.

This completely updated, new edition of Forensic Science approaches its subject from multiple directions. One primary approach is from the points of view of forensic investigators. In addition to its core essays on subspecialties and allied fields, the set has essays on specific types of investigations, investigative techniques, specialized equipment, and types of evidence. Also included is coverage of the role of forensic science in the American legal system.

An insightful look at the long tradition of communal societies in the United States from colonial times to the present, examining their ideological foundations, daily life, and relationships to mainstream American society. * 40 entries on specific utopian communal movements in American history, from the Puritans to the Amish to single-tax movement communities * 45 entries on special topics related to utopian life, including socialism, Bible-based communism, family roles, and leadership * 25 entries on important figures, including Robert Owen and Eberhard Arnold, and events such as the Branch Davidian disaster * A comparative chronology detailing the dates of existence of the utopias covered * Bibliographical listings with each entry, leading to further investigations in print and online

This is the first edition of the Oxford Latin Desk Dictionary, offering essential coverage of Latin words and grammar, as well as extra information on Roman history and culture. It takes account of the latest research into Latin, and is designed specifically to fit the needs of today's student. It covers over 46,000 words and phrases, including additions from the writings of Plautus and Terence, and from the study of Silver Latin. Common irregular verb parts are given as headwords for greater clarity, and boxed notes provide help with language usage, and with difficult words and constructions. There are detailed appendices on historical, mythological, and geographical names, as well as sections on money, weights and measures, dates, and times, poetic meter, and medieval Latin. With a timeline of important dates, and biographies on Roman writers, this edition is packed with interesting and essential information on Roman history and culture. Also with pronunciation help and a guide to Latin grammar, this compact and affordable dictionary is a necessity for all students and adult-learners of Latin.

Over 25 years ago, Raymond Williams Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society set the standard for how we understand and use the language of culture and society. Now, three luminaries in the field of cultural studies have assembled a volume that builds on and updates Williams classic, reflecting the transformation in culture and society since its publication. New Keywords: A Revised Vocabulary of Culture and Society is a state-of-the-art reference for students, teachers and culture vultures everywhere. Assembles a stellar team of internationally renowned and interdisciplinary social thinkers and theorists Showcases 142 signed entries from art, commodity, and fundamentalism to youth, utopia, the virtual, and the West that capture the practices, institutions, and debates of contemporary society Builds on and updates Raymond Williams's classic Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society, by reflecting the transformation in culture and society over the last 25 years Includes a bibliographic resource to guide research and cross-referencing.

First published in 1976, Raymond Williams' highly acclaimed Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society is a collection of lively essays on words that are critical to understanding the modern world. In these essays, Williams, a renowned cultural critic, demonstrates how these key words take on new meanings and how these changes reflect the political bent and values of our past and current society. He chose words both essential and intangible--words like nature, underprivileged, industry, liberal, violence, to name a few--and, by tracing their etymology and evolution, grounds them in a wider political and cultural framework. The result is an illuminating account of the central vocabulary of ideological debate in English in the modern period. This edition features a new original foreword by Colin MacCabe, Distinguished Professor of English and Literature, University of Pittsburgh, that reflects on the significance of Williams' life and work. Keywords remains as relevant today as it was over thirty years ago, offering a provocative study of our language and an insightful look at the society in which we live.

Selected from a diverse field of speakers and venues, this volume offers some of the most engaging American speeches of the year. Distinguished by its diversity, covering areas in politics, education, popular culture, as well as trending topics in the news, these speeches provide an interesting format to explore some of the year's most important stories.

This timely work is a balanced overview of end-of-life issues related to euthanasia and assisted suicide. * Includes the full text of documents such as the Hippocratic Oath and position statements from several religions * A detailed chronology pinpoints key events from the time of Hippocrates to current legal cases still being decided

DSM-5 Clinical Cases presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the newly released DSM-5 bringing DSM-5 alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5 and help the reader understand diagnostic concepts, including symptoms, severity, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications. Every feature in the book helps to bridge the distance between the formal classification and the real-life presentation of patients: All cases are original and previously unpublished, making for fresh, compelling reading for both experienced clinicians and those new to diagnostic classification. Case authors were selected for their expertise in the disorder described in the case. For ease in identifying specific cases, case titles are clinically relevant, based on the primary complaint, and identify the DSM-5 diagnosis described. Each case adheres to a consistent format developed by the editors to fully illuminate the disorder being profiled. Features may include history of present illness, family psychiatric history, medical history, mental status exam results, DSM-5 diagnostic features, lab and physical findings, and a summary. A brief discussion follows each case, analyzing the clinical presentation, highlighting key points, and exploring issues of comorbidity that may complicate both the diagnosis and subsequent treatment. This approach is especially helpful since few cases in real-life are unambiguous. Easy-to-use appendixes enable readers to locate cases by type of disorder, special interests, and DSM-5 diagnosis. The book is designed to serve as a companion text in a variety of contexts -- from abnormal psychology courses to medical school and residency training programs. In addition, those studying for specialty examinations will find reviewing the cases very useful. Fascinating, practical, and instructive, DSM-5 Clinical Cases succeeds in bringing the DSM-5 to the examining room.

The Physicians' Desk Reference has been the authoritative source on prescription drugs for 71 years. Found in virtually every physician's office, pharmacy, clinic, and library, no medical reference is more current, more recognized, or more respected. Now in its 71st edition, PDR contains full, FDA-approved drug label information, including warnings and precautions, drug interactions, and hundreds of full-color pill images. Every label in PDR includes information on dosages, side effects, and safety information, such as contraindications, pregnancy ratings, and interactions with other drugs, food, and alcohol. Data on clinical trials are also included.

Finally, here is the definitive glossary of the book, offering readers all the terms they will need for thorough understanding of how books are made, the materials they are made of, and how they are described in the bookselling, book collecting, and library worlds. Every key term --- over 1,300 different words --- that could be used in booksellers' catalogs, library records, and collectors' descriptions of their holdings is represented in this dictionary. This authoritative source covers all areas of book knowledge: -the book as physical object, -typeface terminology, -paper, -printing, -book collecting, -book design, -bibliography, -calligraphy, t he language of manuscripts, -writing implements, -librarianship, -legal issues, -the parts of a book, and much more. The definitions are supplemented by more than 100 illustrations showing the book as a physical object: parts of books, kinds of illustrations, kinds of printing techniques, tools that librarians, booksellers, and collectors refer to that are used in the making of books, kinds of binding structures and decoration, kinds of paper decoration, and other things.