New Reference Books

Epic in scope, yet filled with detail, this illustrated guide takes readers through the whole of our human past. Spanning the dawn of human civilization through the present, it provides a tour of every site of key archaeological importance. From the prehistoric cave paintings of Lascaux to Tutankhamun's tomb, from the buried city of Pompeii to China's Terracotta Army, all of the world's most iconic sites and discoveries are here. So too are the lesser-known yet equally important finds, such as the recent discoveries of our oldest known human ancestors and of the world's oldest-known temple, bekli Tepe in Turkey. A masterful combination of succinct analysis and driving narrative, this book also addresses the questions that inevitably arise as we gradually learn more about the history of our species. Written by an international team of archaeological experts and richly illustrated throughout, Archaeology: The Essential Guide to Our Human Past offers an unparalleled insight into the origins of humankind.

Great Lives from History: American Women covers prominent individuals from colonial times through the present, offering a fascinating perspective on important women from U.S. history.

A first-of-its-kind reference resource traces the interactions among four Atlantic facing continents: Europe, Africa, and the Americas (including the Caribbean) between 1400 and 1900. Provides readers with authoritative information on the people, places, events, and commodities at the heart of Atlantic history. Demonstrates the interconnections among people, places, and events from different regions, overcoming the tendency to see history as limited by national boundaries. Offers balanced coverage of the field of Atlantic history, with entries addressing a variety of geographies and periods to provide a panoramic view. Portrays familiar historical topics in a new light by emphasizing their international context.

Shows in illuminating detail how the Allied and Axis forces used visual images and other propaganda material to sway public opinion during World War II. Gives the reader primary source examples of World War II propaganda, answering the need for the study of images that is necessary in today's history study. Includes a comprehensive bibliography.

What are the origins of agriculture? In what ways have technological advances related to food affected human development? How have food and foodways been used to create identity, communicate meaning, and organize society? In this highly readable, illustrated volume, archaeologists and other scholars from across the globe explore these questions and more. The Archaeology of Food offers more than 250 entries spanning geographic and temporal contexts and features recent discoveries alongside the results of decades of research. The contributors provide overviews of current knowledge and theoretical perspectives, raise key questions, and delve into myriad scientific, archaeological, and material analyses to add depth to our understanding of food. The encyclopedia serves as a reference for scholars and students in archaeology, food studies, and related disciplines, as well as fascinating reading for culinary historians, food writers, and food and archaeology enthusiasts.

Places, Towns and Townships is an excellent resource for anyone in need of data for all of the nation's cities, towns, townships, villages, and census-designated places in one convenient source. It compiles essential information about places in the United States and the people who live in them such as: population, housing, income, education, employment, crime, and much more. In addition to the tables, Places, Towns and Townships includes text that describes key findings, figures that call attention to noteworthy trends in data, and rankings of the largest cities by various demographics. Compiled from multiple government sources, the data in this unique reference volume represents the most current and accurate information available. This data will not be updated for several years, making Places, Towns and Townships an invaluable resource in the years to come. Some interesting facts found in the 2016 edition of Places, Towns and Townships include: While about 18 percent of the population lived in the nation's 75 largest cities, 37 percent lived in places that were not incorporated as cities in 2014. There were 34 incorporated cities and one town with more than 500,000 people in 2014. These 34 cities and towns represented only 23 states. Among the 75 largest cities, Seattle, Boston, and San Francisco all have more than 72 percent of their residents in the 18-to-64 age group. During the years 2010 through 2014, 13.1 percent of the residents of the United States were born in foreign countries. In 43 cities mostly medium-sized cities and CDPs more than half of the people are foreign-born. Many of these cities are in Florida. In the five-year period from 2010 through 2014, 63.9 percent of Americans age 16 and older were in the civilian labor force, and 9.2 percent of the labor force participants were unemployed. Nationally, Health Care and Social Assistance is the industrial sector with the most employees 16.6 percent of the total followed by Retail Trade with 13.2 percent. Places, Towns and Townships makes a valuable addition to the County and City Extra Series.

The composition of the American population is rapidly changing from a white, male dominated society to one that is so diverse it will soon be without any single, dominant race, ethnicity, or gender. The dramatic demographic shifts in American society have provoked many false claims and distortions of facts that have fueled demagoguery, as occurred during the 2016 presidential campaign. Access to unvarnished facts about people different than you, but who are becoming your neighbors is more critical now than ever. This book, in full-color, was created to provide a single source of easily accessible facts obtained primarily from U.S. government agencies comparing characteristics of race, ethnicity, and gender in graphic format to enhance comprehension, as only visual presentations can achieve. Virtually all major socio-economic topics are covered, including geographic distribution of populations, birth rates, health, wealth, poverty, income, employment, crime, incarcerations, social behaviors, education and political preferences. Included are past and future trends for many characteristics, as are comparisons between foreign-born, natural citizens, legal and undocumented immigrants. Special Features: Socio-economic characteristics between races, ethnicities, and genders in America -Comparisons include: health, education, wealth, poverty, income, employment, crime, incarcerations, social behaviors, geographic distributions, and political preferences.
Includes foreign-born and natural citizens, lawful and undocumented immigrants. All data are graphically displayed for easy visualization and comprehension. Attributed sources for all data include web addresses to enable additional research. Only factual data are presented without editorial comments or opinions Interesting facts found in America's Diverse Population include: More than one-in-eight persons residing in the U.S. in 2015 were born elsewhere. Approximately one-in-four persons with "Green Cards" resided in California in 2013. Over three million temporary workers were admitted into the U.S. in 2014. In 2009 over two-thirds of convictions of undocumented immigrants were for violations of immigration law, and two percent for crimes against persons. Approximately one-of-three Black or African American children live in households with both married parents, compared with ninety-five percent of Asian households. In 2013 one-of-eight high school age Hispanic or Latino females reported they were forced to have sex. In 2015 ninety-seven percent of kindergarten teachers were women. Approximately one-half of all maids and housekeeping cleaners in 2015 were Hispanic or Latino women. In 2015, almost one-in-four Asian females held a Master's degree, the highest rate of any race or ethnicity. In 2013, the number of Non-Hispanic White children in the U.S., grades K-8, fell below fifty percent of students for the first time.

The well-received first edition of the Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology (2007, 2 vols) established itself in the academic library market as a landmark reference that presents a thorough overview of this cross-disciplinary field for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources. Nearly ten years later, SAGE presents a thorough revision that both updates current entries and expands the overall coverage, adding approximately 200 new articles, expanding from two volumes to four. Examining key themes and topics from within this dynamic and expanding field of psychology, this work offers a truly cross-cultural and global perspective. Ten years later, this second edition presents a thorough revision that both updates current entries and expands overall coverage.
Approximately 200 new articles have been added, expanding from two volumes to four. Authoritative reference work for psychology, business, management and human resources researchers.

The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication employs a broadly-based taxonomy of intercultural communication (ICC) that consists of six organizing themes. Those themes are the traditional ICC core theme known as "intercultural communication" and five associated themes recognized as "cross-cultural communication," "cultural communication," "intergroup communication," "intercultural training," and "critical intercultural communication." This encyclopedia addresses issues of ethnicity and race in intercultural communication not as a separate theme, but as an integral part of each thematic area. It also provides entries outside the ICC's discipline of communication, such as cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology. This work features 256 articles written by 249 authors representing 19 different countries. The articles address issues, theories, and concepts that have substantively contributed to the development of ICC theory and research (ie: Hall's high- and low-context communication systems; Hofstede's four dimensions); methodological issues of importance to ICC research (ie: emic and etic; sampling equivalence); and summaries of findings from original studies directly pertaining to the ICC domain (ie: cross-cultural psychological studies of cultural differences in variables pertaining to message processing and verbal/nonverbal communication behavior). Overview of the ICC domain as a whole Key research topics in the field with a strong global editorial team Overview essays on the six thematic areas of study Cross-over information from cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication is an ideal book for international communication undergraduate and graduate students as well as for academic researchers and professional practitioners of intercultural communication.

This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic, and addresses questions such as: What are the key theories used to understand variations in sexual orientation and gender identity? How do Gay Straight Alliances (GSA) affect LGBTQ youth? How do LGBTQ people experience the transition to parenthood? How does sexual orientation intersect with other key social locations, such as race, to shape experience and identity? What are the effects of marriage equality on sexual minority individuals and couples? Top researchers and clinicians contribute to the 400 signed entries, from fields such as: Psychology, Human Development, Gender/Queer Studies, Sexuality Studies, Social Work, Sociology. The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies is an essential resource for researchers interested in an interdisciplinary perspective on LGBTQ lives and issues.

This publication provides a wide range of characteristics profiling the demographic, social, and economic status of the millennial generation. While the Baby Boom generation occupies much of our social and political dialogue, the millennial generation is actually a larger generation. As the Boomers age, their numbers will decrease while the millennials will be the driving social and political force in the coming decades. Millennials in America focuses on the those born between 1982-2001. Millennials in America is an invaluable source for helping people understand what the census data tells us about who we are, what we do, and where we live. Benefits of this publication include: It will fill an information gap because of the difficulty in extracting comparative data from the Census Bureau's American FactFinder dissemination system. Users will have comparative data in a single reference volume. It will eliminate the need for the data user to understand and manipulate detailed census data files and consolidate disparate tables in AFF. This publication utilizes the PUMS data which is the ONLY source of data that can be used to define precise age ranges for the Millennial generation. The age detail available for census summary data simply aren't adequate for defining the Millennials and therefore prohibit compilation of characteristics specific to this important generation. Features of this publication include: Detailed data on 11 subject areas including race, educational attainment, field of study, income, mobility status, employment status, housing, and more. Each subject area includes data for the United States, the 50 states and the District of Columbia, 622 counties, 331 cities, 381 metropolitan areas and 34 micropolitan areas. Each part is preceded by highlights, maps, and figures illustrating how areas diverge from the national norm as well as differences among areas.

Today, concerns about the financial stability of Social Security, trends in disability, health care costs, and the supply of caregivers are all driven by the coming explosion in population over the age of 65. Aging in America focuses on the economic and demographic portrait of the senior population and can provide a context for analysis of broader population issues. It provides a range of characteristics of the older population including: age composition, race and Hispanic origin, educational attainment, living arrangements, veteran status, employment and income, health insurance, disability and housing characteristics. Some of the benefits of Aging in America include: It provides a cross-section of socio-economic characteristics focused on the aging population for commonly researched geographic areas: states, counties, cities, metropolitan and micropolitan areas, and congressional districts. The tables are structured to allow easy comparisons across geographic areas and easy profiling of characteristics for any area of reader interest. This publication fills an information gap because of the difficulty in extracting comparative data from the Census Bureau's American FactFinder dissemination system. Users will have comparative data in a single reference volume.

These volumes provide in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents from influential figures in women's history from the United States and around the world. The set provides detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: Mary Wollstonecraft: A Vindication of the Rights of Woman Jane Addams: Why Women Should Vote The Declaration of the Rights of Woman and of the Female Citizen Nineteenth Amendment Shirely Chisholm: The Black Woman in Contemporary America From the European calls for the rights of women to the modern feminist movement, these volumes provide thoughtful analysis of documents and speeches allowing readers to gain a better understanding of the roles, opinions, and changing attitudes of and toward women in world history. An important resource for the history collections of high schools, undergraduate libraries and public libraries.

Crime and punishment fascinate. Overwhelming in their media dominance, they present us with our most popular television programs, films, novels, art works, video games, podcasts, social media streams and hashtags. The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Crime, Media and Popular Culture, a massive and unprecedented undertaking, offers a foundational space for understanding the cultural life and imaginative force and power of crime and punishment. Across five areas foundational to the study of crime and media, leading scholars from five continents engage cutting edge scholarship in order to provide definitive overviews of over 120 topics. In the context of an unprecedented global proliferation in the production of images, they take up the perennial and emergent problems of crime's celebrity and fascination; stereotypes and innovations in portrayals of crime and criminals; and the logics of representation that follow police, courts, capital punishment, prisons, and legal systems across the world. They also engage new, timely, and historically overlooked categories of offense and their representations, including child sexual abuse, violence against women, and human trafficking. A series of entries on mediums and methods provide a much needed set of critical approaches at a historical moment when doing media and visual research is a daunting, formidable undertaking. This is also a volume that stretches our understanding of conventional categories of crime representation. One example of this is homicide, where entries include work on the ever-popular serial killer but also extend to filicide, infanticide, school shootings, aboriginal deaths in custody, lynchings, terrorism and genocide. Readers will be will be hard-pressed to find a convention, trope, or genre of crime representation that is not, in some way, both present and enlarged. From film noir to police procedurals, courtroom dramas and comedies to comic books, crime news to true crime and reality TV, gaming to sexting, it is covered in this encyclopedia.

Michigan is the only state in the country that has a death penalty prohibition in its constitution. Eugene G. Wanger's compelling arguments against capital punishment is a large reason it is there. The forty pieces in this volume are writings created or used by the author, who penned the prohibition clause, during his fifty years as a death penalty abolitionist. His extraordinary background in forensics, law, and political activity as constitutional convention delegate and co-chairman of the Michigan Committee Against Capital Punishment has produced a remarkable collection. It is not only a fifty-year history of the anti-death penalty argument in America, it also is a detailed and challenging example of how the argument against capital punishment may be successfully made.    

These volumes investigate important historical documents from influential nationalist and populist movements from countries and territories around the globe. Readers will find in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, historic events and speeches from leaders that shaped these ideas and movements, combined with documents that define Nationalism and Populism in today's society and how they affect politics, ethnic relations, democracy and international tensions. Nationalism & Populism provides detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: Napoleonic Code; Ottoman Constitution; William Gladstone: Irish Home Rule Speech; Chiang Kai-shek: China Cannot be Conquered; Freedom Charter of South Africa. Each in-depth chapter guides readers with historical insight and comprehension. Written by historians and teachers, several elements explain the document's historical impact and provide thoughtful critical analysis, including a Summary Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes. Plus, an historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events covered. From the rise of Nationalism around the world in the 19th Century to the Populist themes that pervade the 2016 American Presidential election, these volumes provide thoughtful analysis of documents and speeches allowing readers to gain a better understanding of the history and current state of these movements. An important resource for the history collections of high schools, undergraduate libraries, and public libraries.

This text explores the full history of immigration issues in America, from those early immigrants making their way through Ellis Island, to immigration issues in modern society. With in-depth analysis of a broad range of documents, researchers come away with fresh understanding and insight to study this hot button topic. Immigration & Immigrant Communities provides detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: The Chinese Exclusion Act Executive Order 9066: Japanese Internment Cesar Chavez: Commonwealth Address Pope Francis' Speech to U.S. Congress on Immigrants and Refugees And much more! Each in-depth chapter guides readers with historical insight and comprehension. Written by historians and teachers, several elements explain the document's historical impact and provide thoughtful critical analysis, including a Summary Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes. Plus, an historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events covered. The documents discussed in this volume paint a portrait of the issues and challenges face by immigrants on American soil. This volume will be a useful addition to high school and undergraduate libraries, plus history collections of all sizes.

The 48th edition of the SIPRI Yearbook analyses developments in 2016 in: Security and conflicts, Military spending, and armaments, Non-proliferation, arms control and disarmament. The SIPRI Yearbook contains extensive annexes on the implementation of arms control and disarmament agreements and a chronology of events during the year in the area of security and arms control.

Thoroughly updated and featuring 75 new entries, this monumental four-volume work illuminates past and present events associated with civil rights and civil liberties in the United States. Offers 686 alphabetically arranged entries, ranging from thoroughly updated entries from the first edition to 75 new entries that cover dramatic changes in civil rights and liberties in the last decade. Covers the latest events and controversies surrounding civil liberties issues in America. Fully explores the scope and limitations of Constitutional rights, a perennially hot topic in American politics and society. Includes primary documents with contextual headnotes to enhance understanding of the full importance of the featured document. Provides sources for further reading with each entry to help users engage in additional research.

A 2014 report issued by the White House Council on Women and Girls included the alarming statistic that one in five female college students in the United States experience some form of campus sexual assault. Despite more than fifty years of anti-rape activism and over two decades of federal legislation regarding campus sexual violence, sexual assault on American college and university campuses remains prevalent, under-reported, and poorly understood. A principle reason for this lack of understanding is that the voices of women who have experienced campus sexual assault have been largely absent from academic discourse about the issue. In Campus Sexual Assault, Lauren J. Germain focuses attention on the post-sexual assault experiences of twenty-six college women. She reframes conversations about sexual violence and student agency on American college campuses by drawing insight directly from the stories of how survivors responded individually to attacks, as well as how and why peers, family members, and school, medical, and civil authorities were (or were not) engaged in addressing the crimes. Germain weaves together women's narratives to show the women not as victims per se, but as individuals with the power to overcome these traumatic experiences. Aimed at students, parents, faculty members, university leaders, service providers, and lawmakers, Campus Sexual Assault seeks to put an end to the silence around sexual trauma by giving voice to those closest to it and providing tools for others to hear with and to act on.

The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance is based on the celebrated Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, and covers styles and movements, buildings, organizations, regions and traditions; it has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers. New entries cover the people and companies who have come into prominence since the publication of the Encyclopedia. The Companion includes all the most popular and accessible information from the Encyclopedia, concentrating primarily on the personalities involved in producing theatre, as well as overviews of the genres within which they work. It has 2,400 entries presented in a far more compact and portable format. The timeline of historical and cultural events in the world of theatre and performance has been significantly updated, along with the extensive bibliography, and an appendix of useful weblinks has been added, which is supported and accessible through a companion website.The Companion provides an informative and accessible package aimed at both the theatre-going public as at specialists and professionals in the field.

The Encyclopedia of Black Comics, focuses on people of African descent who have published significant works in the United States or have worked across various aspects of the comics industry. The book focuses on creators in the field of comics: inkers, illustrators, artists, writers, editors, Black comic historians, Black comic convention creators, website creators, archivists and academics--as well as individuals who may not fit into any category but have made notable achievements within and/or across Black comic culture.

U.S. Latino Literature is defined as Latino literature within the United States that embraces the heterogeneous inter-groupings of Latinos. For too long U.S. Latino literature has not been thought of as an integral part of the overall shared American literary landscape, but that is slowly changing. This dictionary aims to rectify some of those misconceptions by proving that Latinos do fundamentally express American issues, concerns and perspectives with a flair in linguistic cadences, familial themes, distinct world views, and cross-cultural voices. The Historical Dictionary of U.S. Latino Literature contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has cross-referenced entries on U.S. Latino authors, and terms relevant to the nature of U.S. Latino literature in order to illustrate and corroborate its foundational bearings within the overall American literary experience. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about this subject.

This new reference gathers some 1500 blacks who have made contributions to various scientific disciplines. Each entry gives birth/death dates, major speciality, education, and organizational affiliations. Inventions are also listed according to the individual holding the patent.

A systematic survey and comparison of the work of 19th-century American and British women in scientific research, this book covers the two countries in which women of the period were most active in scientific work and examines all the fields in which they were engaged.

Published in 1998, Ladies in the Laboratory provided a systematic survey and comparison of the work of 19th-century American and British women in scientific research. A companion volume, published in 2004, focused on women scientists from Western Europe. In this third volume, author Mary R.S. Creese expands her scope to include the contributions of 19th- and early 20th-century women of South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada.The women whose lives and work are discussed here range from natural history collectors and scientific illustrators of the early and mid years of the 19th century to the first generation of graduates of the new colonial colleges and universities. Rarely acknowledged in publications of the British and European specialists, the contributions of these women nonetheless formed a significant part of the natural history information about extensive, previously unknown regions and their products. Rather than a biographical dictionary or a collection of self-contained essays on individuals from many time periods, Ladies in the Laboratory III is a connected narrative tied into the wider framework of 19th-century science and education. A well-organized blend of individual life stories and quantitative information, this volume is for everyone interested in the story of women's participation in 19th century science. The stories of these women make for fascinating reading and serve as a valuable source for the student of women's and colonial history.

The first volume of Ladies in the Laboratory provided a systematic survey and comparison of the work of nineteenth-century American and British women in scientific research. Companion volumes focused on women scientists from Western Europe and the former British colonial territories of South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada. In Ladies in the Laboratory IV, Mary R.S. Creese expands her scope to include the contributions of nineteenth-century women of Imperial Russia. Many of these women believed that science was the key to social progress, and the great advances in scientific research work in which Russians had leading roles made scientific training especially attractive. Featuring biographical sketches of more than 120 women, this volume covers individuals whose scientific research encompassed medicine, chemistry, zoology, botany, and paleontology. Organized into chapters by field, the entries provide details about the personal backgrounds as well as professional achievements of these remarkable women. A well-organized blend of individual life stories and quantitative information, this volume is for everyone interested in nineteenth-century science. The stories of these women make for fascinating reading and serve as a valuable source for those who want to learn more about the history of women in science and medicine as well as nineteenth-century Russian history.

A detailed exploration of the variety of threats that endangered species are facing around the world, whether they are due to human impact or so-called natural causes. Includes a Perspectives chapter that allows for voices to be heard from many individuals who are concerned with endangered species. Serves general readers who wants to learn more about the history and current events concerning endangered species in an easy-to-understand fashion as well as high school and undergrad students conducting research for reports or projects. Presents facts that enables readers reach their own conclusions regarding the controversies regarding endangered species.

Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In addition to completely new essays in this edition, all entries from the previous edition have been evaluated and updated by a panel of Medical Editors to ensure their currency and accuracy.

This five-volume handbook reflects the state-of-the-art in clinical psychology - science, practice, research, and training. It provides a comprehensive overview of: the history of clinical psychology, specialties and settings, theoretical and research approaches, assessment, treatment and prevention, psychological disorders, health and relational disorders, health promotion, educational paths, psychologists' development, ethics and standards, professional organisations, and future directions of clinical psychology. With content incorporating the editorial board's commitment to the themes of diversity, evidence-based practices, and international contributions, this addition to the APA Handbooks in Psychology#65533; series will be an essential resource for students, researchers, educators, and practitioners. The five volumes are: Volume 1: Roots and Branches Volume 2: Theory and Research Volume 3: Applications and Methods Volume 4: Psychopathology and Health Volume 5: Education and Profession

Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources, including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.