New Reference Books

By 1950, the technological advances of the 20th century were in full swing and several important social and political reforms were making their mark. This set offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, including legal codes, letters, speeches, constitutions, reports, and books, from "Essential Truths" by Rufus Jones to the Nato Treaty.

By 1950, the technological advances of the 20th century were in full swing and several important social and political reforms were making their mark. This set offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, including legal codes, letters, speeches, constitutions, reports, and books, from "Essential Truths" by Rufus Jones to the Nato Treaty.

The A to Z of the Napoleonic Era covers one of the most explosive and most exciting periods of world history, spanning the time from the eruption of the French Revolution through the end of the Napoleonic wars (1789-1815). These 26 years of history saw the birth of nationalism and Western democracy, economic crisis and political convulsion, the growth of industrialism, the death of ancient traditions, and the birth and break-up of empire. It was the time of Napoleon, who gave his name to this period of tremendous change: the period in which the roots of modern Europe were planted. This work is intended as a broad review, devoting a majority of its attention to the military and political events and personalities of the period, while also surveying the major artistic, social and cultural events and personalities that formed this period.

Asia has a long, rich history, encompasses nations that continue to shape the world today, including China, Japan, Korea, and Vietnam. This set takes a detailed look at significant documents developed by scholars, politicians, warriors, emperors, scientists, and reformers, from He Zhen to Mao Zedong.

Who We Are: Asians brings you the facts you need about the size and characteristics of the nation's Asian population the fastest-growing segment of the consumer marketplace. Its 10 chapters examine Asian education, health, housing, income, labor force status, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth. New to the third edition of Who We Are: Asians is a chapter on trends in Asian wealth before and after the Great Recession. The Population chapter includes 2014 population estimates showing numbers nationally and by state. The Time Use chapter examines how Asians prioritize their time. Also included is information on the spending, incomes, labor force participation, educational attainment, school enrollment, and living arrangements of Asians.While the government collected the data in Who We Are: Asians, the tables are not reprints from government reports. Instead, New Strategist's editors spent hundreds of hours scouring web sites, compiling numbers into meaningful statistics, and creating tables with calculations that reveal the trends. New Strategist has done the work for you, delving into the data and providing analysis and comparisons, placing the important information about Asians at your fingertips. Asians are much more educated than the average American. They are more likely to postpone childbearing until their thirties, and many have children living in their home well into their fifties. These differences affect not only lifestyle but also consumer behavior and are of utmost importance to policymakers and business leaders. Who We Are: Asians gives you the information you need to discover and become familiar with the large and rapidly growing Asian population and its many unique characteristics.

Who We Are: Hispanics brings you the facts you need about the nation's largest minority, the 55 million Hispanics in the United States, or one in six Americans. Its 11 chapters examine Hispanic attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force status, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth. In addition to 2014 population estimates of the numbers of Hispanics nationally and by state, Who We Are: Hispanics includes socioeconomic data on the Hispanic population. It has detailed spending data for Hispanic households and an update on Hispanic household wealth, including the impact of the Great Recession on Hispanic net worth, assets, and debt. Results from the American Time Use Survey can also be found here, profiling Hispanic time use and comparing it to the averages. Attitudinal data from the General Social Survey compare and contrast Hispanic attitudes with those of Blacks and non-Hispanic Whites on a whole range of issues. While the government collected the data in Who We Are: Hispanics, the tables are not reprints from government reports. Instead, New Strategist's editors spent hundreds of hours scouring web sites, compiling numbers into meaningful statistics, and creating tables with calculations that reveal the trends. New Strategist has done the work for you, delving into the data and providing analysis and comparisons, placing the important information about Hispanics at your fingertips. The living arrangements, educational attainment, and occupational distribution of Hispanics differ from those of the average American and those differences affect not only lifestyles but also consumer behavior. Who We Are: Hispanics gives you the information you need to discover and become familiar with the large and rapidly growing Hispanic population and its many unique characteristics.

Who We Are: Blacks brings you the facts you need about the size and characteristics of this fast-growing and politically powerful minority. Its 11 chapters examine Black attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force status, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth. In addition to 2014 population estimates of the numbers of Blacks nationally and by state, Who We Are: Blacks includes socioeconomic data on the Black population. It has detailed spending data for Black households and an update on Black household wealth: including the impact of the Great Recession on Black net worth, assets, and debt. Results from the American Time Use Survey can also be found here, profiling Black time use and comparing it to the averages. Attitudinal data from the General Social Survey compare and contrast Black attitudes with those of Hispanics and non-Hispanic Whites on a whole range of issues.While the government collected the data in Who We Are: Blacks, the tables are not reprints from government reports. Instead, New Strategist's editors spent hundreds of hours scouring web sites, compiling numbers into meaningful statistics, and creating tables with calculations that reveal the trends. New Strategist has done the work for you, delving into the data and providing analysis and comparisons, placing the important information about Blacks at your fingertips.The substantial educational, employment, and economic gains made by Blacks over the past few decades and documented in these pages, are contrary to popular perception and media portrayals, but these realities are of utmost importance to policymakers and business leaders. Who We Are: Blacks gives you the information you need to discover and become familiar with the large and growing Black population and its many unique characteristics.

The 2016 presidential election was one of the most dramatic upsets in US political history. Virtually all pre-election polls indicated Democrat Hillary Clinton ahead of Republican Donald Trump in the popular vote and Electoral College. The Atlas of the 2016 Elections explains the surprising Trump victory with a series of unique maps unleashing the illustrative power of cartography and the explanatory power of history and political geography. The contributors a balanced mix of geographers, political scientists, and historians provide a comprehensive examination of the election process from the primary campaigns and nominating conventions to the fall campaign and final results. In addition to the presidential election, the Atlas has full coverage of other important races, including congressional races, state races, and local and state referenda. Illustrated with more than one hundred meticulously drawn full-color maps, the Atlas will be an essential reference and a fascinating resource for pundits, voters, campaign staff, and political junkies alike.

The descriptions and examples of unethical behaviors in sport in this book will challenge readers to rethink how they view sport and question whether participating in sport builds character--especially at the youth and amateur levels. * Describes and analyzes key ethical issues, such as cheating, fair play, violence, discriminatory actions, and the use of performance-enhancing drugs, in a single volume * Identifies how ethical problems in sport affect sport in the United States and internationally but also significantly impact society overall * Examines significant events and influential individuals to provide a historical and sociological context for understanding how and why individuals behave unethically in sport * Provides a wealth of information and resources that describe how poor behaviors of athletes, coaches, and parents in sport can be changed through educational interventions and a reemphasis on values like integrity

This new edition in the Great Events series chronicles important historical events that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities. In the last ten years alone, the world has witnessed significant events that have broken down barriers, both socially and legally, making enormous strides to end discrimination against the LGBTQ community. Just some of these events include: 2011 - ""Don't Ask, Don't Tell"" is repealed. 2012 - Barack Obama becomes the first sitting US president to publicly support the freedom for LGBT couples to marry. 2013 - The US Supreme Court rules that legally married same-sex couples are entitled to federal benefits. 2015 - The Supreme Court rules that states cannot ban same-sex marriage. 2016 - Pentagon lifts the ban on transgender people serving openly in the US military. In-depth, yet accessible essays provide a summary of the event and discuss the event's significance and historical impact. Entries are supplemented with sources for further reading, cross-references to other material in the series, maps, quotations from primary source documents, timelines, and hundreds of photographs and illustrations. Finding Aids & Special Features - Essays have been supplemented with approximately 140 sidebars that will further inform a reader's understanding of the topics discussed. Some 115 essays include extracts from primary source documents such as court decisions, mission statements, laws and important supporting texts. Another 25 essays include biographical profiles of people who were key to the event, tables providing statistics by state, filmographies and other compilations of information that will deepen a reader's knowledge of the topics covered here. These volumes are illustrated with more than 100 photographs and other illustrations that visually bring the topics discussed to life. The back matter in volume two contains reference tools to help reader further explore GLBT history. An annotated bibliography arranged by category provides readers with sources for further study. A Website Directory identifies useful sites that will open the world of GLBT research on the internet to readers. A Category Index provides access to the individual essays through the 21 broad areas of interest. A Personage Index directs users to essay events in which a particular individual plays a role. The Subject Index provides access to the individual essays and their content through multiple access points. This set selects events that help to mark the definition of "gender," the emergence of social, cultural, and political movements, and the struggles to gain civil rights. Designed for history students at the high school and undergraduate levels, public librarians will also find the set, and the series as a whole, invaluable as a reference tool for students and general readers at all academic levels.

The SAGE Handbook of the 21st Century City focuses on the dynamics and disruptions of the contemporary city in relation to capricious processes of global urbanisation, mutation and resistance. An international range of scholars engage with emerging urban conditions and inequalities in experimental ways, speaking to new ideas of what constitutes the urban, highlighting empirical explorations and expanding on contributions to policy and design. The handbook is organised around nine key themes, through which familiar analytic categories of race, gender and class, as well as binaries such as the urban/rural, are readdressed. These thematic sections together capture the volatile processes and intricacies of urbanisation that reveal the turbulent nature of our early twenty-first century: Hierarchy: Elites and Evictions Productivity: Over-investment and Abandonment Authority: Governance and Mobilisations Volatility: Disruption and Adaptation Conflict: Vulnerability and Insurgency Provisionality: Infrastructure and Incrementalism Mobility: Re-bordering and De-bordering Civility: Contestation and Encounter Design: Speculation and Imagination This is a provocative, inter-disciplinary handbook for all academics and researchers interested in contemporary urban studies.

What is the "American Dream"? This book's author argues that contrary to what many believe, it is not achieving the wealth necessary to enter the top one percent but rather becoming members of the great middle class by dint of hard work and self-discipline. Includes content related to all the themes of the National Curriculum Standards for Social Studies and the Common Core requirements for primary documents and critical thinking exercises Focuses on the intersections of middle class society to current issues of interest and policy debates, including diversity, gender, taxation, race, minimum wage, unions, student loan interest rates, school closings, and labor issues. Documents the perspectives of the major economists of each era on the middle class.

This book examines a broad range of infamous scams, cons, swindles, and hoaxes throughout American history and considers why human gullibility continues in an age of easy access to information. Explores figures such as "Yellow Kid" Weil, Charles Ponzi, Orson Welles, and Frank Abagnale, among others. Provides insight into human nature gullibility being one aspect of it throughout the ages, addresses the power of rumor and legend, and identifies the social conditions that have allowed some scams and hoaxes to flourish. Presents information that can serve academic research projects as well as fascinate and entertain general readers. Features the original stories behind the Hollywood movies The Sting, Catch Me If You Can, Argo, and American Hustle.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Political Behavior; explores the intersection of psychology, political science, sociology, communications, and human behavior to better understand why and how people interact with political processes. Bringing together scholars from around the world, the encyclopedia integrates theories, research, and case studies from a variety of disciplines to help readers better understand the complexities of political behavior. Contributors analyze the forces that shape the behavior of individuals, groups, and social movements and how that behavior impacts political outcomes and public policy debates. In over 360 entries, the encyclopedia focuses broadly on the following topics: Cognitive processes, Group identities and influence Individual political behavior, International/comparative perspectives, Justice and political behavior Media, discourse, and communications Policies and political behavior, Political systems Security and terrorism Social political movements, Theories of political behavior, Voting behavior and political campaigns Aimed at college and university students, this one-of-a-kind reference covers voting patterns, interactions between groups, what makes different types of government systems appealing to different societies, and the impact of early childhood development on political beliefs, among others. Topics explored by political psychologists are of great interest in fields beyond either psychology or political science, with implications, for instance, within business and management. This title will be available online on SAGE Knowledge, the ultimate social sciences library.

The 80 documents are organized into the following major categories: Political Scandals; Spies and Espionage; Social Scandals; Financial Schemes; Whistleblowers; Wikileaks; and Institutional Dirty Linen Laundering. Each document chapter includes the primary source document, often reproduced in its entirety, Summary Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes.

This dynamic, two-volume reference work covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption. Over 350 information-packed entries explore the people, crimes, investigations and court cases behind 200 years of political scandals. Highlights of this third edition include: 350 A-Z entries, with See Also references, that knit together people, cases & crimes. New entries in this updated edition include: Charles Rangel, Aaron Schock, Thaddeus McCotter, Rick Renzi, G. Thomas Porteous, Sheldon Silver and new information on the New Jersey George Washington bridge scandal, the Veterans Administration scandal and Russian hacking during the 2016 Presidential election. Eight helpful Appendices provide important overviews of scandal groups A full range of Illustrations, including political cartoons, photos, along with graphs and tables to provide more context A comprehensive, in-depth Historical Chronology of major political scandals in US history, from colonial times to the present. An expanded Primary Documents section provides important additional resources. An annotated Bibliography, Suggested Readings, and Cumulative Subject Index round out the rich resources available in these volumes. Available in print and ebook formats. Students, scholars, and other readers interested in American history, political science, and ethics will appreciate this survey of a wide range of corrupting influences. An important look at how our political system developed and changed and the forces that compelled these changes. With its comprehensive coverage of this interesting topic, Political Corruption in America will prove to be a useful addition to the reference collections of all public libraries, university libraries, history collections, political science collections and high schools.

This updated edition of one of the bestselling and most comprehensive Broadway reference books, first published in 1985, has been expanded to include many of the most important and memorable productions of American musical theater, including revivals. Chronologically arranged, beginning with The Black Crook in 1866, the eighth edition adds new entries and photos on numerous musicals from recent years, including Priscilla, Queen of the Desert ; The Book of Mormon ; Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark ; Once ; Newsies: The Musical ; Annie (revival); Rodgers & Hammerstein's Cinderella ; Kinky Boots ; A Night with Janis Joplin ; and A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder . Broadway Musicals, Show-by-Show features a wealth of statistics and inside information, plus critical reception, cast lists, pithy commentary about each show, and numerous detailed indexes that no Broadway fan will want to be without.

First published over fifty years ago, A GLOSSARY OF LITERARY TERMS remains an essential resource for all serious students of literature. Now fully updated to reflect the latest scholarship on recent and rapidly evolving critical theories, the new contains a complete glossary of essential literary terms presented as a series of engaging, beautifully crafted, essays that explore the terms, place them in context, and suggest related entries and additional reading. This indispensable, authoritative, and highly affordable reference covers terms useful in discussing literature and literary history, theory, and criticism. Perfect as a core text for introductory literary theory or as a supplement to any literature course, this classic work is an invaluable reference that you can use throughout your academic and professional careers.

The fourth set in the series, Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: History, Theme & Technique is a one-volume set that contains over 70 essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels. It includes genres, time periods, foreign language traditions, social relevance, and craftsmanship such as penciling and inking.

The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of Shakespeare aims to replicate the expansive reach of Shakespeare's global reputation. In pursuit of that vision, this work is transhistorical, international and interdisciplinary. Volume 1, Shakespeare's World, 1500-1660, includes a comprehensive survey of the world in which Shakespeare and his contemporaries lived, while Volume 2, The World's Shakespeare, 1660-Present, examines what the world has made of Shakespeare as a cultural icon over the past four centuries. For each of the work's twenty-eight broad subject areas, ranging from translation to popular culture to performing arts, an overview is followed by a series of shorter essays taking up particular aspects of the subject at hand. Richly illustrated with more than three hundred images between the two volumes, this work brings the world, life and afterlife of Shakespeare to readers, from non-academic Shakespeare fans and students to theater professionals and Shakespeare scholars.

The Oxford Illustrated History of Science is the first ever fully illustrated global history of science, from Aristotle to the atom bomb and beyond. The first part of the book tells the story of science in both East and West from antiquity to the Enlightenment; from the ancient Mediterranean world to ancient China; from the exchanges between Islamic and Christian scholars in the Middle Ages to the Chinese invention of gunpowder, paper, and the printing press; from the Scientific Revolution of sixteenth and seventeenth century Europe to the intellectual ferment of the eighteenth century. The chapters that follow focus on the increasingly specialized story of science since end of the eighteenth century, covering experimental science in the laboratory from Michael Faraday to CERN; the exploration of nature, from intrepid Victorian explorers to twentieth century primatologists; the mapping of the universe, from the discovery of Uranus to Big Bang theory; the impact of evolutionary ideas, from Lamarck, Darwin, and Wallace to DNA; and the story of theoretical physics, from James Clark Maxwell to Quantum Theory and beyond. A concluding chapter reflects on how scientists have communicated their work to a wider public, from the Great Exhibition of 1851 to the internet in the early twenty-first century.

Galaxies - the Milky Way's siblings - offer a surprising variety of forms and colours. Displaying symmetrical spiral arms, glowing red nebulae or diffuse halos, even the image of a galaxy can reveal much about its construction. All galaxies consist of gas, dust and stars, but the effects of gravity, dark matter and the interaction of star formation and stellar explosions all influence their appearances. This volume showcases more than 250 of the most beautiful galaxies within an amateur's reach and uses them to explain current astrophysical research. It features fantastic photographs, unique insights into our knowledge, tips on astrophotography and essential facts and figures based on the latest science. From the Andromeda Galaxy to galaxy clusters and gravitational lenses, the nature of galaxies is revealed through these stunning amateur photographs. This well illustrated reference atlas deserves a place on the bookshelves of astronomical imagers, observers and armchair enthusiasts.

This new edition of The Encyclopedia of Climate Change provides comprehensive coverage of global warming and climate change, including scientific descriptions and explanations of all factors, from carbon dioxide to sunspots, that might contribute to climate change. Previously published as the Encyclopedia of Global Warming in 2009, this new edition, now titled the Encyclopedia of Climate Change brings the conversation up-to-date with a full update of existing material and over 100 new entries. New content includes detailed information from the 2015 UN Climate Change Conference, Greenpeace Activists, the Politics of Global Warming, Environmental Politics, Negotiations on Greenhouse Gas Emissions and The Standing March, to name a few. This encyclopedia is designed to provide students at the high school and undergraduate levels with a convenient source of information on the fundamental science and sociopolitical issues, including the debates and controversies, surrounding climate change. The study of climate change involves not only scientists but also politicians, policy makers, businesses, government and nongovernment agencies, and the general public. A student attempting to understand both the environmental science and social issues and controversies will encounter not just scientific terms and concepts but political organizations, geographic areas, social concepts, persons, countries, organizations, and laws as well. The essays in the set fall into one or more of the following broad categories: animals, Arctic and Antarctic, astronomy, chemistry and geochemistry, climatic events and epochs, conferences and meetings, cryology and glaciology, diseases and health effects, economics, industries and products, energy, environmentalism, conservation and ecosystems, ethics, human rights and social justice, fossil fuels, geology and geography, laws, treaties and protocols, meteorology and atmospheric sciences, nations and peoples, oceanography, organizations and agencies, physics and geophysics, plants and vegetation, pollution and waste, popular culture and society, science and technology, transportation, and water resources.

Defining Documents in American History: Environment & Conservation offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped environmental and conservation issues throughout the American history. This text closely studies more than forty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of environmentally related events in the U.S. from 1872 to 2015. Defining Documents in American History: Enivronment & Conservation provides detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: The Demise of the Bison on the Plains, The Founding of the First National Parks, The Emergence of the Modern Conservation Movement, Ecological Consciousness, Earth Day, and Gaia Contemporary Environmental Battles and many, many more! An historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events and subjects in the period. An introduction for each of the major subjects covered in the title considers the significance of document analysis for students and educators. Each in-depth chapter guides readers with historical insight and comprehension. The documents included represent the diversity of ideas and contexts that defined social, political, and cultural subjects throughout this period in American history. Defining Documents consists of a collection of essays on important historical documents by a diverse range of writers on a broad range of subjects in American history. The series offers a broad range of historical documents on important authors and subjects in American history, with primary source documents, in-depth analysis, and comprehensive lesson plans that represent the diversity of ideas and contexts that define social, political and cultural subjects throughout American history. The Defining Documents series is perfect for students, those researching a particular era, or anyone interested in American History since 1492.

A completely new reference from Salem Press, Applied Science covers major fields and technologies in all areas, from agriculture to computers to engineering to medical to space sciences. Applied Science contains over 300 alphabetically arranged articles on a broad range of applied-science fields ranging from long-established engineering fields to cutting-edge fields such as micro and nanotechnologies, addressing applied sciences in areas as diverse as aerospace, communications, energy, information, medical, military, transportation, forensic, and even food technologies. SCOPE AND COVERAGE: Articles examine the relationship between science and technology, providing insight into the many ways in which science affects daily life. Understanding the interconnectedness of the different and varied branches of science and technology is important for anyone preparing for a career or endeavour in science or technology. To that end, essays look beyond basic principles to examine a wide range of topics, including industrial and business applications, historical and social contexts, and the impact a particular field of science or technology will have on future jobs and careers. Especially targeted toward high-school students, this excellent reference work is edited to tie into the high-school curriculum, making the content readily accessible as well to patrons of public, academic, and university libraries.

"Framing Information Literacy: Teaching Grounded in Theory, Pedagogy, and Practice is a collection of lesson plans grounded in theory and the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. 52 chapters over six volumes provide approachable explanations of the ACRL Frames, various learning theory, pedagogy, and instructional strategies, and how they are used to inform the development of information literacy lesson plans and learning activities. Each volume explores one frame, in which chapters are grouped by broad disciplinary focus: social sciences, arts and humanities, science and engineering, and multidisciplinary. Every chapter starts with a discussion about how the author(s) created the lesson, any partnerships they nurtured, and an explanation of the frame and methodology and how it relates to the development of the lesson, and provides information about technology needs, pre-instruction work, learning outcomes, essential and optional learning activities, how the lesson can be modified to accommodate different classroom setups and time frames, and assessment".