New Reference Books

For nearly a century, Richard John Cunliffe's Lexicon of the Homeric Dialect has served as an invaluable resource for students and scholars of Homer's Iliad and Odyssey. As both an English-Homeric dictionary and a concordance, the Lexicon lists and defines in English all instances of Greek words that appear in the two epics. Now, with the inclusion of Cunliffe's "Homeric Proper and Place Names" a forty-two-page supplement to the Lexicon this expanded edition will be even more useful to readers of Homer. In his original preface to the supplement, Cunliffe explained that proper and place names had to be excluded from the Lexicon "chiefly on the ground of expense." Although the Lexicon has enjoyed perennial popularity, scholars have long lamented the absence of "capitalized" name-forms in the Lexicon. By consolidating the two works into one handy single-volume format, this expanded edition fills the only gap in Cunliffe's indispensable reference. In his preface to the expanded edition, James H. Dee explains the benefits of uniting the two dictionaries. In addition, Dee provides a brief list of errata and a helpful key to Cunliffe's system of referencing the poems according to Greek letter.

The field of psychology encompasses research, clinical practice, and education. One of psychology's most unique and important characteristics is its coupling of science and practice. Job opportunities within the broad field of psychology are many, depending on one's level of education, with a variety of options at all levels in clinical and private settings. Job seekers will find real-world information in this volume covering: -Clinical Psychology -Cognitive Psychology -Sport Psychology -Developmental Psychology -Evolutionary Psychology -Forensic Psychology -Environmental Psychology Neuropsychology In addition to need-to-know data on the specifics of these careers, each chapter includes charts, tables, and valuable sections like "A Day in the Life of..." and Conversations with Real Professionals.

The third edition covers topics of recent interest to readers in the twenty-first century, such as Heroic medicine, Gender identity, Wealth inequality, LGBTQ issues, Female genital mutilation, Informed consent, and Transgender care. This encyclopedic work includes more than 1,000 essays organized by broad categories related to ethics issues: animal rights, arts and censorship, bioethics, business and labor, children's rights, civil rights, environmental issues, human rights, international relations, legal and judicial issues, the media, the military, personal and social ethics, political and economic ethics, psychological ethics, race and ethnicity, religion, science and technology, sex and gender, theory, and wealth.

This volume offers students a broad examination of the impact of religion on the lives of women around the world, focusing on differences among women, indigenous religions, the impact of religion in colonization, and resistance to religious oppression. Sexism, pervasive in religion, limits access to high leadership positions; dictates gender-related religious practices and roles; portrays women in limited ways in sacred texts; excludes or condemns them if they are lesbian, bisexual, or transgender; and makes them subject to violence by people of other faiths as well as their own. This volume is organized into eight chapters, each focusing on a different region of the world--North America, Latin America and the Caribbean, Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, Sub-Saharan Africa, Central and East Asia, South and Southeast Asia, and Oceania. Chapters cover women's status and experiences in the religions of each region, including indigenous religions and such major world religions as Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, and Hinduism. Additionally, they cover issues of religion for women, such as women in religious leadership, women in sacred texts, LGBTQ issues in religion, the intersections of religion and politics for women, the legacy of Christian missionaries on the colonial project, religious violence against women, and women's resistance to religious oppression. Offers readers an overview of women's experiences in many religions across the various regions of the world Highlights intersectionality and understanding how gender shapes and is shaped by race, sexuality, social class, age, ability, nation of origin, and religion within structures of institutional power Analyzes key issues affecting women in religion around the world, ranging from religious leadership to religious violence and clergy sex abuse Offers examples of how women resist sexist oppression in religion and find sources of liberation within religion Presents sidebars throughout the text to provide insightful information that enhances the reader's experience Features an at-a-glance chronological timeline of women and world religions throughout history, from ancient times to the present.

An overview essay and approximately 50 alphabetically arranged reference entries explore the background and significance of atheism and agnosticism in modern society. This is the age of atheism and agnosticism. The number of people living without religious belief and practice is quickly and dramatically rising. Some experts call nonreligion, after Christianity and Islam, the third largest "religion" in the world today. Understanding the origins, history, variations, and impact of atheism and agnosticism is crucial to getting a grasp of the meaning of the present and gaining a glimpse of the future. Exploring some of the most extraordinary people, events, and ideas of all time, this book provides a fair, comprehensive, and engaging survey of all aspects of contemporary atheism and agnosticism. An overview essay discusses the background and social and political contexts of unbelief, while a timeline highlights key events. Some 50 alphabetically arranged reference entries follow, with each providing fundamental, objective information about particular topics along with cross-references and suggestions for further reading. The volume closes with an annotated bibliography of the most important resources on atheism and agnosticism. An overview essay surveys the background and significance of atheism and agnosticism in today's world A timeline highlights key events in the history of atheism and agnosticism Some 50 alphabetically arranged reference entries provide essential information about important topics related to atheism and agnosticism An annotated bibliography cites and assesses the most important broad resources on atheism and agnosticism

Using the Nation of Islam as a vehicle, but largely through his own dedication, energy, and intelligence, Malcolm X became an indefatigable Black leader during the 1960s. This encyclopedic volume examines one of the most controversial and heroic leaders of the 20th century. Over 500 essays discuss how Malcolm X affected the world in which he lived and how the influence of people, issues, and events shaped his development as an international figure. With more than 70 contributors from black studies, history, political science, sociology, philosophy, education, journalism, and psychology, the encyclopedia combines the knowledge of a precise group of writers. Addressing a major social, religious, and political figure through their own disciplines, these authors flesh out both the diversity and the complexity of the world that defined Malcolm X.

This title covers important historical documents from influential figures in Native American history. Readers will find in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, including speeches, letters, legislation, court cases, and other sources about Native Americans. The set provides detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: Iroquois Thanksgiving Address Tecumseh: Speech to Governor Willian Henry Harrison Indians of All Tribes Occupation of Alcatraz: Proclamation Andrew Jackson on Indian Removal Zitkala-Sa: Old Indian Legends Each in-depth chapter guides readers with historical insight and comprehension. Written by historians and teachers, several elements explain the document's historical impact and provide thoughtful critical analysis, including a Summary Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes. Plus, an historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events covered. From the first meetings between Native Americans and European settlers to twentieth-century events, this set provides thoughtful analysis of documents and speeches allowing readers to gain a better understanding of this crucial topic in American history. An important resource for the history collections of high schools, undergraduate libraries and public libraries.

This book is an essential resource for anyone who wants to understand race in America, drawing on research from a variety of fields to answer frequently asked questions regarding race relations, systemic racism, and racial inequality. This work is part of a series that uses evidence-based documentation to examine the veracity of claims and beliefs about high-profile issues in American culture and politics. This particular volume examines the true state of race relations and racial inequality in the United States, drawing on empirical research in the hard sciences and social sciences to answer frequently asked questions regarding race and inequality. The book refutes falsehoods, misunderstandings, and exaggerations surrounding these topics and confirms the validity of other assertions. Assembling this empirical research into one accessible place allows readers to better understand the scholarly evidence on such high-interest topics as white privilege, racial bias in criminal justice, media bias, housing segregation, educational inequality, disparities in employment, racial stereotypes, and personal attitudes about race and ethnicity in America. The authors draw from scholarly research in biology, genetics, medicine, sociology, psychology, anthropology, and economics (among many other fields) to answer these questions, and in doing so they provide readers with the information to enter any conversation about American race relations in the 21st century as informed citizens. Addresses beliefs and claims regarding race and ethnicity in America in an easy-to-navigate question-and-answer format Draws from empirical research in a variety of scholarly fields and presents those findings in a single, lay-friendly location to aid understanding of complex issues Provides readers with leads to conduct further research in extensive Further Reading sections for each entry Examines claims made by individuals and groups of all political backgrounds and ideologies

Providing chronologies of important events, historical narratives from the first settlement to the present, and biographies of major figures, this work offers readers an unseen look at the history of racism from the perspective of individual states. From the initial impact of European settlement on indigenous populations to the racial divides caused by immigration and police shootings in the 21st century, each American state has imposed some form of racial restriction on its residents. The United States proclaims a belief in freedom and justice for all, but members of various minority racial groups have often faced a different reality, as seen in such examples as the forcible dispossession of indigenous peoples during the Trail of Tears, Jim Crow laws' crushing discrimination of blacks, and the manifest unfairness of the Chinese Exclusion Act. Including the District of Columbia, the 51 entries in these two volumes cover the state-specific histories of all of the major minority and immigrant groups in the United States, including African Americans, Hispanics, Asian Americans, and Native Americans. Every state has had a unique experience in attempting to build a community comprising multiple racial groups, and the chronologies, narratives, and biographies that compose the entries in this collection explore the consequences of racism from states' perspectives, revealing distinct new insights into their respective racial histories. Comprises detailed narratives encompassing the first European contact to the present day of the unique racial history of all 50 states and the District of Columbia Provides a chronology of important racial events, achievements, and milestones for the states, plus the District of Columbia Offers biographies of individuals who successfully confronted racism in America and removed obstacles to social achievement Includes sidebars highlighting interesting events, individuals, and accomplishments relevant to the racial history of particular states

An illuminating historical biography for students and scholars alike, this book gives readers insight into the life and times of Booker T. Washington. Booker T. Washington was an integral figure in mid-19th to early-20th century America who successfully transitioned from a life in slavery and poverty to a position among the Black elite. This book highlights Washington's often overlooked contributions to the African and African American experience, particularly his support of higher education for Black students through fundraising for Fisk and Howard universities, where he served as a trustee. A vocal advocate of vocational and liberal arts alike, Washington eventually founded his own school, the Tuskegee Institute, with a well-rounded curriculum to expand opportunities and encourage free thinking for Black students. While Washington was sometimes viewed as a "great accommodator" by his critics for working alongside wealthy, white elites, he quietly advocated for Black teachers and students as well as for desegregation. This book will offer readers a clearly written, fully realized overview of Booker T. Washington and his legacy. Presents a renewed profile of Booker T. Washington as a man who did all that he could to improve the lives of African Americans through self-determination and institution building Includes 15 images of Washington and his contemporaries to provide visual support for the text Includes 23 sidebars with interesting facts to enhance the main text Includes 8 primary source documents to bring Washington's words to life for readers

Rosa Parks's crucial decision proved more than one to remain seated. This book uses historical analysis and Parks's own words to paint a complete picture of her life as a courageous and defiant civil rights activist. Rosa Parks: A Life in American History explores the life of this important civil rights activist in the context of the cultural and social history of her time. The book focuses heavily on the influence of her mother and grandparents in her civil rights activism and emphasizes the fact that Rosa Parks was always active and engaged in the struggle for civil rights. Analyses of speeches she delivered provide a picture that broadens her influence and importance far beyond the Montgomery Bus Boycott. Chapters are organized chronologically, beginning with Rosa Parks' family history and ending with her death and legacy, and a culminating chapter explores her extensive impact on American history. The work also includes a timeline of key events in her life and a bibliography to aid additional research. Readers will benefit from a holistic approach that explores Parks' life well beyond her refusal to give up her seat on the Montgomery bus line. Of note, this book connects Parks' lifelong activism to the spirit of justice and resistance she learned at a young age. Offers a clear and concise biography of Rosa Parks Examines the entirety of her life and activism beyond the Montgomery Bus Boycott Highlights how Parks's own words best tell her story Shows the complexity of the Montgomery Bus Boycott and the resilience of Montgomery's Black population.

Designing Better Maps: A Guide for GIS Users, second edition, is a comprehensive guide to creating maps that communicate effectively. In Designing Better Maps, renowned cartographer Cynthia A. Brewer guides readers through the basics of good cartography, including layout design, scales, projections, color selection, font choices, and symbol placement. Designing Better Maps also describes the author's ColorBrewer application, an online color selection tool. The second edition includes a new chapter on map publishing.

This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook. Jobs in the sports industry are growing at a pace more than double that of the national average. Students with an interest in the sports field have a wide variety of options in professional sports, sport equipment, and the sports management industries. Careers in Sports is designed to provide need-to-know information on the wide variety of careers in this multi-billion dollar industry that students can choose from. Careers in Sports provides detailed information on 25 different career paths, including: Athletic Trainer Branding Expert Facility Manager Marketing Manager Professional Athlete Promoter Referee Sales Manager Talent Scout Sports Agent . Detailed and accessible chapters provide real-world information about these in-demand professionas including: A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Conversations with Real Professionals.

In the late twentieth century, nothing united union members, progressive students, Black and Chicano activists, Native Americans, feminists, and members of the LGBTQ+ community quite as well as Coors beer. They came together not in praise of the ice cold beverage but rather to fight a common enemy: the Colorado-based Coors Brewing Company. Wielding the consumer boycott as their weapon of choice, activists targeted Coors for allegations of antiunionism, discrimination, and conservative political ties. Over decades of organizing and coalition-building from the 1950s to the 1990s, anti-Coors activists molded the boycott into a powerful means of political protest. In this first narrative history of one of the longest boycott campaigns in U.S. history, Allyson P. Brantley draws from a broad archive as well as oral history interviews with long-time boycotters to offer a compelling, grassroots view of anti-corporate organizing and the unlikely coalitions that formed in opposition to the iconic Rocky Mountain brew. The story highlights the vibrancy of activism in the final decades of the twentieth century and the enduring legacy of that organizing for communities, consumer activists, and corporations today.

Gaming has become a legitimate career path at last. Gaming is generally recognized as interactive, skill-based play that relies upon specific indicators of progression and success (like moving to the next level or unlocking a new facet of the game). Today's gamers are finding exciting and rewarding career options that were not available two or three decades ago. A passion and talent for gaming opens up career paths that range from professional player and coach, to game developer and brand ambassador. Specific careers include: - Animators & Artists - Audio Engineer - eSports Coaches & Players - Game Development - Professional Gamer - Recruitment & Talent Sourcing - User Experience Specialist - Game Designers & Programmers - Writers. Careers in Gaming provides detailed information and need-to-know information on various careers available as a gamer, helpful information about working in the gig economy, education or skill-set requirements for careers in gaming. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Conversations with Real Professionals.

This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook. As positions in communications and social media continue to evolve, students can look forward to working in a dynamic industry that allows them to pursue a career in the areas of e-commerce, entertainment, colleges and universities, government, media, journalism, and non-profit. In fact, opportunities in social media are continuing to grow as established platforms are joined by new outlets. This volume provides need-to-know information on various careers in this ever-expanding area including: Blogger Product Reviewer Social Media Officer Advertising Marketing/Branding Reporter/Journalist Photographer Videographer Critic/Reviewer Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Coversations with Real Professionals.

This authoritative reference work explores the factors driving the much-debated increase in economic inequality in U.S. society, as well as the impact that this divide is having on U.S. culture, politics, families, communities, and institutions. This reference work provides an authoritative and comprehensive resource for both students and scholars who are interested in learning more about the rich-poor divide in the United States--a divide regarded by many lawmakers, researchers, pundits, and concerned citizens as one of the nation's most serious problems. The book provides important historical background for understanding how the nation has grappled with (or ignored) this issue in the past, examines specific causes of inequality identified by observers across the political spectrum, and summarizes the potential consequences (both present and future) of economic inequality. This book examines more than 25 issues frequently cited as factors contributing to the rapidly widening gap between socioeconomic classes in the U.S., ranging from such demographic factors as race and gender to tax code provisions and differences in access to quality education and health care. The book also provides both a retrospective and prospective look at government policies aimed at addressing inequality or assisting the poor. Finally, the book looks ahead to survey the future of inequality in America. Coverage of more than 25 distinct factors contributing to the widening rich-poor divide in the U.S. Evenhanded presentation of both progressive and conservative perspectives on key economic issues Authoritative but accessible entries that provide illumination and insights for academics and students alike

This contextual narrative of the 70-year history of the woman suffrage movement in the United States demonstrates how an important mass political and social movement coalesced into a political force despite class, racial, ethnic, religious, and regional barriers. Votes for Women! provides an updated consideration of the questions raised by the mass movement to gain equality and access to power in our democracy. It interprets the campaigns for woman suffrage from the 1830s until 1920, analyzes the impact of the Nineteenth Amendment, and presents primary documents to allow a glimpse into the minds of those who campaigned for and against woman suffrage. The book's examination of the 70-year woman suffrage campaign shows how the movement faced enormous barriers, was perceived as threatening the very core of accepted beliefs, and was a struggle that showcased the efforts of strong protagonists and brilliant organizers who were intellectually innovative and yet were reflective of the great divides of race, ethnicity, religion, economics, and region existing across the nation. Included within the narrative section are biographies of significant personalities in the movement, such as militant Alice Paul and anti-suffragist Ida Tarbell as well as more commonly known leaders Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony. Documents how suffragists managed to create large, politically sophisticated organizations that conducted massive campaigns without the benefit of modern technology, eventually triumphing over deeply held social conventions, religious beliefs, and strong anti-suffrage opposition Includes primary documents that enable readers to hear the voices of the men and women fighting for and against woman suffrage Puts the woman suffrage movement in the context of a wider struggle for universal suffrage and democracy, which was fought from the time of the American Revolution through the 20th century Provides a readable analysis of the suffrage movement that extends far beyond the traditional focus on a handful of familiar figures, widening the scope to include the Western campaigns; addressing internal conflict over race, class, ethnic, and religious differences; and presents a more balanced interpretation of the militant suffragists Supplies a chronology of major events, bibliography, and listing of online resources that add to understanding of the long battle and guide further exploration of the subject

From Beatniks to Sputnik and from Princess Grace to Peyton Place, this book illuminates the female half of the U.S. population as they entered a "brave new world" that revolutionized women's lives. After World War II, the United States was the strongest, most powerful nation in the world. Life was safe and secure--but many women were unhappy with their lives. What was going on behind the closed doors of America's "picture-perfect" houses? This volume includes chapters on the domestic, economic, intellectual, material, political, recreational, and religious lives of the average American woman after World War II. Chapters examine topics such as the entertainment industry's evolving concept of womanhood; Supreme Court decisions; the shifting idea of women and careers; advertising; rural, urban, and suburban life; issues women of color faced; and child rearing and other domestic responsibilities. A timeline of important events and glossary help to round out the text, along with further readings and a bibliography to point readers to additional resources for their research. Ideal for students in high school and college, this volume provides an important look at the revolutionary transformation of women's lives in the decades following World War II. Spotlights individuals of diverse backgrounds throughout Includes a helpful introductory overview for each section that places it in historical context Presents cultural and historical highlights impacting women in an easy-to-follow timeline Underscores terms familiar to postwar American women nationwide in a glossary Leads readers toward other sources to broaden their understanding in bibliographical entries Contains academic references and suggestions for further reading

It is clear that national attitudes about drug use, from tobacco and alcohol to heroin, have never been easy to resolve. Some argue for strict control, some for taxation and regulation, and some for legalization. This set takes a close look at the history of this country's drug policies, treatment options, and epidemics-alcohol, opium, morphine, heroin, marijuana, crack cocaine, and the opioid crisis-and includes documents related to contemporary issues such as corporate accountability, controversial treatment, sentencing, racial and economic factors, and organized crime. The two-volume set includes in-depth chapters that provide a thorough commentary of significant primary source documents.

Genocide is the deliberate destruction of a national, ethnic, or religious group. While this has occurred throughout history, one of the most well-known genocides is the holocaust of WW II -- Nazi efforts to eliminate millions of Jews, while also persecuting Poles, Rom (Gypsies), and other groups. Before them, the Armenians suffered a similar fate under Turkey. More recent examples of genocidal action are the "ethnic cleansing" that took place under the Serbs in Bosnia and Kosovo; the Hutu slaughter of the Tutsi minority in Rwanda in 1994; the attempt by the Islamic State in Iraq to eliminate the Yazidis; and the mass killing and expulsion of the Rohingya in Myanmar. China's attempt to erase the culture of the Uighurs is a case of ethnocide -- a genocide component that exterminates national cultures. In the America's, too, genocidal campaigns were waged against Native American peoples. Ancient and modern documents are examined in-depth throughout these two volumes, including: Holocaust testimonies The Evian Conference World Jewish Conference Bosnian War Cables Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide Excerpts from the Genocide Archive of Rwanda Collection Trial transcripts Political speeches In-depth chapters provide a thorough commentary and analysis of each primary source document, often reprinted in its entirety. Commentary includes a Summary, Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, detailed Document Analysis, and discussion of Essential Themes. Designed for high school and college students, the goal of these volumes is to carefully study genocide throughout world history, to give students a frame of reference on how to understand and comprehend what has happened in our past, and what to be aware of in the future.

While there are many definitions of domestic terrorism, it is largely characterized as terrorism in which the perpetrator targets his/her own country. Also called homegrown terrorism, domestic terrorism is defined by the U.S. State Department as "premeditated, politically motivated violence perpetrated against noncombatant targets by subnational groups or clandestine agents, usually intended to influence an audience." The two largest categories of domestic terrorism (DT) or domestic violent extremism (DVE) are: racially or ethnically motivated violent extremism; and anti-government or anti-authority extremism.

This authoritative set provides a one-stop resource for understanding specific FBI controversies as well as for those looking to understand the full history, law enforcement authority, and inner workings of the nation's most famous and important federal law enforcement agency. This authoritative two-volume reference resource uses a combination of encyclopedia entries and primary sources to provide a comprehensive overview of the FBI, detailing its history, most famous leaders and agents, institutional structure and authority, law enforcement responsibilities, reporting relationships to other parts of government, and major events and controversies. Today the FBI sits squarely at the intersection of major controversies surrounding the presidential campaign and administration of Donald Trump, foreign interference in U.S. elections, and politicization of law enforcement. But the FBI has always been in the political spotlight--its history is dotted with episodes that have come under heavy scrutiny, from its surveillance of civil rights leaders during the 1960s to the methods it employs to combat domestic terrorism in the post-9/11 era. And all the while, FBI agents and offices across the country continue to investigate a wide range of lawbreaking, from organized crime (in all its facets) to white-collar crime and corruption by public officials. Scholarly introduction that places the FBI and its operations in broad law enforcement context Authoritative entries that cover all aspects of FBI operations and history Informative primary sources that illuminate important FBI policies, cases, and controversies Chronology of events highlighting important dates in FBI history

Prisoners have been part of the population in the Americas since the first settlers arrived from Europe. Since then, there have been efforts to reform and improve the prison system in this country. This volume gathers together and analyzes documents that discuss the fierce debates and legislation related to prison reform, the privatization of prisons, the efforts to end practices like solitary confinement, and the improvement of mental health care in prisons. Documents analyzed in these volumes include: Remarks on Prisons and Prison Systems in the United States by Dorothea Dix; the Declaration of Principles by the National Congress of Penitentiary and Reformatory Discipline; Fifty Years of Prison Service: An Autobiography, by Zebulon Reed Brockway; Changing Lenses-A New Focus for Crime and Justice by Howard Zehr, "Privatizing Correctional Institutions: An Organizational Perspective," by David Shichor and the FIRST STEP Act.

This is the first world history of empire, reaching from the third millennium BCE to the present. By combining synthetic surveys, thematic comparative essays, and numerous chapters on specific empires, its two volumes provide unparalleled coverage of imperialism throughout history and across continents, from Asia to Europe and from Africa to the Americas. Only a few decades ago empire was believed to be a thing of the past; now it is clear that it has been and remains one of the most enduring forms of political organization and power. We cannot understand the dynamics and resilience of empire without moving decisively beyond the study of individual cases or particular periods, such as the relatively short age of European colonialism. The history of empire, as these volumes amply demonstrate, needs to be drawn on the much broader canvas of global history. Volume I: The Imperial Experience is dedicated to synthesis and comparison. Following a comprehensive theoretical survey and bold world history synthesis, fifteen chapters analyze and explore the multifaceted experience of empire across cultures and through the ages. The broad range of perspectives includes: scale, world systems and geopolitics, military organization, political economy and elite formation, monumental display, law, mapping and registering, religion, literature, the politics of difference, resistance, energy transfers, ecology, memories, and the decline of empires. This broad set of topics is united by the central theme of power, examined under four headings: systems of power, cultures of power, disparities of power, and memory and decline. Taken together, these chapters offer a comprehensive and unique view of the imperial experience in world history. Volume II: The History of Empires tracks the protean history of political domination from the very beginnings of state formation in the Bronze Age up to the present. Case studies deal with the full range of the historical experience of empire, from the realms of the Achaemenids and Asoka to the empires of Mali and Songhay, and from ancient Rome and China to the Mughals, American settler colonialism, and the Soviet Union. Forty-five chapters detailing the history of individual empires are tied together by a set of global synthesizing surveys that structure the world history of empire into eight chronological phases.

Focusing on copyright topics that arise frequently, including the right of first sale, fair use, and copying for preservation, this book will help library workers provide quick guidance for common situations. Faculty, students, and colleagues come to you with copyright questions, both simple and complex. And they all want reliable answers--as fast as you can get them. With this guide, designed for ready access, you'll be prepared to deliver. Lawyer, copyright librarian, and iSchool instructor Benson presents succinct explanations ideal for both on-the-fly reference and staff training. Copyright specialists will appreciate excerpts from the law itself alongside tools and resources for digging deeper. Practical discussions of key legal concepts, illustrated using 52 scenarios, will lead you to fast, accurate answers on a range of topics, such as barriers to using the TEACH Act provisions in content for online teaching; showing a full-length movie in a university class; public domain and the 1998 Sonny Bono Copyright Term Extension Act; your legal options when receiving a DMCA take-down notice; court interpretations of fair use in three key recent cases; Creative Commons licenses, complete with a quick reference chart; library rights to license photographs in a digital collection; using letters under copyright in a special collections display case; a grad student's right to use in a thesis writing published in their professor's journal article; applying the implied license option to post historical student dissertations in institutional repositories; the Marrakesh Treaty provision supporting transfer of accessible works internationally; and limiting factors for interlibrary loan.

Beginning with the drafting of the Constitution itself up to the present day, there have been intense arguments made both for and against the rights of citizens to form a "well-regulated militia" as set forth in the Second Amendment. The arguments have become more impassioned in recent years due to the rising number of incidents of school and mass shootings. This volume analyzes documents that have played a significant role in the attempt to balance the long tradition of gun culture in this country with calls for gun control, including: The Second Amendment; St. George Tucker, Blackstone's Commentaries; No Treason by Lysander Spooner; U.S. v. Miller; District of Columbia v. Heller and Firearms in America:Personal Liberty versus Collective Responsibility.

This set, Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ (1923-2017) offers in-depth analysis of 35 primary source documents drawn from the ongoing movement to achieve recognition and equality for members of the LGBTQ community, beginning with Emma Goldman's "On the Unjust Treatment of Homosexuals," written in 1923, through to Danica Roem's speech in 2017 celebrating her election as the first openly transgender elected official in United States History. The material is organised under three historical groupings: 1. Early Developments, marking a time when the first homophile organisations began to encourage gays and lesbians to come out in the open. 2. Coming Out, an era that included such significant events as the Stonewall Riots and "The Hope Speech," by Harvey Milk, the first openly gay elected city official in the nation. 3. Growing Ever Stronger, including Larry Kramer's passionate activism on the frontline of the AIDS epidemic, the decision in United States v. Windsor that declared DOMA unconstitutional, and a presidential proclamation in 2009 declaring June as LGBTQ Pride Month. These documents provide a compelling view of the many important aspects of LGBTQ history, including the American Psychological Association's 1973 statement that homosexuality is not a mental disorder, changes to the Boys Scouts of America membership policy, and excerpts from Obergefell v. Hodges, the Supreme Court decision guaranteeing the right to marry same-sex couples under both the Due Process Clause and the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution. Each document is supported by a critical essay, written by historians and teachers, that includes a summary overview, defining moment, author biography, document analysis, essential themes, and additional appendixes. Designed for high school and college students, the aim of the series is to advance historical document studies as an important activity in learning about history.

This annotated document collection surveys the history and evolution of laws and attitudes regarding free speech and censorship in the United States, with a special emphasis on contemporary events and controversies related to the First Amendment. The United States' collective understanding of First Amendment freedoms was formed by more than 200 years of tensions between the power of word and the power of the government. During that time, major laws and legal decisions defined the circumstances and degree to which personal expression could be rightfully expressed--and rightfully limited. This struggle to define the parameters of free speech continues today. Vibrant and passionate debates about First Amendment limitations once inspired by the dissemination of birth control information now address such issues as kneeling during the national anthem, removing controversial books from public libraries, attempts by the Trump administration to discredit the press, and disseminating false or hateful information through social media platforms. By exploring diverse examples of censorship victories and triumphs of free expression, readers will better understand the enormous impact of First Amendment freedoms on American society. Chronological history of important milestones, documents, and events that have shaped the nation's understanding of freedom of speech/press and censorship, as well as the limitations of each Primary source selection that illuminates the importance of First Amendment freedoms as critical elements of democracy in the United States Informative, authoritative, and balanced introductory headnotes for each primary source to help readers understand the context in which they were created Readers Guide to Related Documents and sidebars

This book introduces readers to the most significant technological developments in music making and listening, including such topics as metronomes and the development of music notation as well as synthesizers, the latest music collaboration apps, and other 21st-century technologies. Rather than focusing on technical and mechanical details, Music and Technology: A Historical Encyclopedia features the sociological role of technological developments by highlighting the roles they have played in society throughout time. Students and music fans alike will gain valuable insight from this alphabetized encyclopedia of the most significant examples of technological changes that have impacted the creation, production, dissemination, recording, and/or consumption of music. The book also contains a chronology of milestone events in the history of music and technology as well as sidebars that focus on several key individual musicians and inventors. Includes 100 entries on the most important technological achievements related to music making, sharing, and listening Traces the evolution of music and technology from antiquity to the 21st century, including information on how the COVID-19 pandemic has reshaped the way music is created and disseminated Approaches the content through a historical and sociological lens rather than a purely technical one Offers bibliographic sources and a glossary of terms for readers new to this field of study

This volume contains detailed information about every musical that opened on Broadway from 2010 through the end of 2019. This book discusses the decade's major successes, notorious failures, and musicals that closed during their pre-Broadway tryouts. In addition to including every hit and flop that debuted during the decade, this book highlights revivals and personal-appearance revues.

Robots in Popular Culture: Androids and Cyborgs in the American Imagination seeks to provide one go-to reference for the study of the most popular and iconic robots in American popular culture. In the last 10 years, technology and artificial intelligence (AI) have become not only a daily but a minute-by-minute part of American life--more integrated into our lives than anyone would have believed even a generation before. Americans have long known the adorable and helpful R2-D2 and the terrible possibilities of Skynet and its army of Terminators. Throughout, we have seen machines as valuable allies and horrifying enemies. Today, Americans cling to their mobile phones with the same affection that Luke Skywalker felt for the squat R2-D2. Meanwhile, our phones, personal computers, and cars have attained the ability to know and learn everything about us. This volume opens with essays about robots in popular culture, followed by 100 A-Z entries on the most famous AIs in film, comics, and more. Sidebars highlight ancillary points of interest, such as authors, creators, and tropes that illuminate the motives of various robots. The volume closes with a glossary of key terms and a bibliography providing students with resources to continue their study of what robots tell us about ourselves. Provides readers with detailed information on popular examples of robots/AI in American popular culture Provides readers with considerable Further Reading suggestions, including scholarly, pop culture, and scientific readings on each topic Places popular examples of robots/AI in pop culture in proper historical perspective Provides scholarly material that gives readers additional important historical context in five essays Gives equal coverage to a diverse array of robots, from the well-known to the obscure

The Cambridge Greek Lexicon is based upon principles differing from those of existing Greek lexica. Entries are organised according to meaning, with a view to showing the developing senses of words and the relationships between those senses. Other contextual and explanatory information, all expressed in contemporary English, is included, such as the typical circumstances in which a word may be used, thus giving fresh insights into aspects of Greek language and culture. The editors have systematically re-examined the source material (including that which has been discovered since the end of the nineteenth century) and have made use of the most recent textual and philological scholarship. The Lexicon, which has been twenty years in the making, is written by an editorial team based in the Faculty of Classics in Cambridge, consisting of Professor James Diggle (Editor-in-Chief), Dr Bruce Fraser, Dr Patrick James, Dr Oliver Simkin, Dr Anne Thompson, and Mr Simon Westripp.

Engage more. Achieve more. A Writer's Reference helps you engage in and meet the challenges of your writing course. Clear How-to boxes help you complete common writing assignments like argument and analysis. Guidance about paraphrasing and fact-checking sources help you become a more responsible writer and reader. And Notes-to-self help you reflect on your progress and plan your revision. If your instructor has assigned Achieve, you have new ways to engage with course material and with your instructor and peers. Revision planning tools and individualized study plans help you become a better writer, and a built-in e-book puts your problem and your solution side by side.

Unparalleled in its thoroughness, its accessibility, and its relevance to all areas of Latin American studies, this volume is a dictionary of 21,000 terms related to race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality used in the region over the past five centuries. It includes the languages of Spanish, Portuguese, French, and their Creoles, and encompasses an interdisciplinary range of sources that highlight the intersectional nature of identity. The words and phrases in this dictionary are accompanied by detailed English definitions, literal translations, and notes on etymology and usage, including the region and time period in which the terms have occurred. Cross-references assist readers looking for synonyms, antonyms, or alternate spellings. The volume contains equivalent terms from the Francophone Indian Ocean islands, due to the history of colonialism they share with the Antilles, as well as terms from Africa that are connected to the Americas via the slave trade. Terms and definitions are taken from humanities and social science scholarship, literary works, personal interviews, colonial documents, and internet discourse. The dictionary also features a historical, cultural, and theoretical introduction, as well as an extensive bibliography. Addressing the reality that categories for identity are highly fluid, contentious, and contextually bound, Dictionary of Latin American Identities is a helpful guide to such nuances and complexities for researchers who are not fluent in the languages of a given country or area. It will serve as an invaluable reference for understanding and correctly using the myriad words that describe and classify identities in Latin America.

Each year, Magill's Literary Annual critically evaluates 200 major examples of serious literature published during the previous calendar year. the philosophy behind our selection process is to cover works that are likely to be of interest to general readers, that are written by authors being taught in literature programs, and that will stand the test of time. By filtering the thousands of books published every year down to 200 notable titles, the editors have provided the busy librarian with an excellent reader's advisory tool and patrons with fodder for book discussion groups and a guide for choosing worthwhile reading material.

Providing an indispensable resource for academics as well as readers interested in the evolution of horror fiction in the 20th century, this book provides a readable yet critical guide to global horror fiction and authors. Horror Fiction in the 20th Century encompasses the world of 20th-century horror literature and explores it in a critical but balanced fashion. Readers will be exposed to the world of horror literature, a truly global phenomenon during the 20th century. Beginning with the modern genre's roots in the 19th century, the book proceeds to cover 20th-century horror literature in all of its manifestations, whether in comics, pulps, paperbacks, hardcover novels, or mainstream magazines, and from every country that produced it. The major horror authors of the century receive their due, but the works of many authors who are less well-known or who have been forgotten are also described and analyzed. In addition to providing critical assessments and judgments of individual authors and works, the book describes the evolution of the genre and the major movements within it. Horror Fiction in the 20th Century stands out from its competitors and will be of interest to its readers because of its informed critical analysis, its unprecedented coverage of female authors and writers of color, and its concise historical overview. Covers both the best-known authors of horror literature and a large number of lesser-known or forgotten authors whose work would reward searching out by modern readers Is unprecedented in its coverage of international horror literature and includes dozens of authors whose horror fiction has never before been translated into English Covers the major 20th century developments and movements within horror literature in one volume, in a linear and chronological manner Is a corrective to decades of sexist, racist, colonialist, and provincial horror criticism

A career in writing and editing offers opportunities far beyond the classic paths of novelists, poets, and reporters. In fact, there is a wide array of options for those with a desire to work in this field, even as traditional print publications, like newspapers and magazines, evolve into online platforms. This volume considers the changing landscape of work opportunities for writers and editors, including freelance, remote, and contract work for writers and editors; photo and video editing; copyediting and proofreading; scriptwriting; assessment writing; grant writing; indexing; and more.

This edited collection explores LGBTQ+ literature for young readers around the world, and connects this literature to greater societal, political, linguistic, historical, and cultural concerns. It brings together contributions from across the academic and activist spectra, looking at picture books, middle-grade books and young adult novels to explore what is at stake when we write (or do not write) about LGBTQ+ topics for young readers. The topics include the representation of sexualities and gender identities; depictions of queer families; censorship; links between culture, language and sexuality/gender; translation of LGBTQ+ literature for young readers; and self-publishing. It is the first collection to expand the study of LGBTQ+ literature for young readers beyond the English-speaking world and to draw cross-cultural comparisons.

This two-volume encyclopedia explores representations of people of color in American television. It includes overview essays on early, classic, and contemporary television and the challenges for, developments related to, and participation of minorities on and behind the screen. Covering five decades, this encyclopedia highlights how race has shaped television and how television has shaped society. Offering critical analysis of moments and themes throughout television history, Race in American Television shines a spotlight on key artists of color, prominent shows, and the debates that have defined television since the civil rights movement. This book also examines the ways in which television has been a site for both reproduction of stereotypes and resistance to them, providing a basis for discussion about racial issues in the United States. This set provides a significant resource for students and fans of television alike, not only educating but also empowering readers with the necessary tools to consume and watch the small screen and explore its impact on the evolution of racial and ethnic stereotypes in U.S. culture and beyond. Understanding the history of American television contributes to deeper knowledge and potentially helps us to better apprehend the plethora of diverse shows and programs on Netflix, Hulu, YouTube, and other platforms today. Offers accessible yet critical discussions of television culture Provides historic understanding of the contributions of significant artists of color to the history of American television Discusses a diversity of shows as well as debates and themes central to the history of American television

Revised for the first time in a decade, the completely updated third edition of The Handy Physics Answer Book makes physics and its impact on us, the world, and the universe fun and easy to understand. It disposes with the mathematical explanations and scientific jargon often associated with physics and instead takes a more conceptual approach - all written in everyday English.

This book provides a holistic consideration of climate change that goes beyond pure science, fleshing out the discussion by considering cultural, historical, and policy-driven aspects of this important issue. Climate change is a controversial topic that promises to reframe rudimentary ideas about our world and how we will live in it. The articles in Climate Change: An Encyclopedia of Science and History are designed to inform readers' decision making through the insight of scholars from around the world, each of whom brings a unique approach to this topic. The work goes beyond pure science to consider other important factors, weighing the cultural, historical, and policy-driven contributors to this issue. In addition, the book explores the ideas that have converged and evolved in order to clarify our current predicament. By considering climate change in this holistic fashion, this reference collection will prepare readers to consider the issue from every angle. Each article in the work is suitable for general readers, particularly students in high school and college, and is intended to inform and educate anyone about climate change, providing valuable information regarding the stages of mitigation and adaptation that are occurring all around us. Contributions from more than 100 experts Excerpts from reports from international organizations such as the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Transcripts of speeches from world leaders on the climate change issue Sidebars on the "climate-history connection" explore the possible links between climate and key events through history, such as the Classical Maya collapse Essential, annotated primary sources Quotes from policy makers, scientists, eyewitnesses to climate change, and social and cultural leaders

Heritable human genome editing making changes to the genetic material of eggs, sperm, or any cells that lead to their development, including the cells of early embryos, and establishing a pregnancy. This process raises not only scientific and medical considerations, but also a host of ethical, moral, and societal issues. Human embryos whose genomes have been edited should not be used to create a pregnancy until it is established that precise genomic changes can be made reliably and without introducing undesired changes - criteria that have not yet been met, says Heritable Human Genome Editing. From an international commission of the U.S. National Academy of Medicine, U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and the U.K.'s Royal Society, the report considers potential benefits, harms, and uncertainties associated with genome editing technologies and defines a translational pathway from rigorous preclinical research to initial clinical uses, should a country decide to permit such uses. The report specifies stringent preclinical and clinical requirements for establishing safety and efficacy, and for undertaking long-term monitoring of outcomes. Extensive national and international dialogue is needed before any country decides whether to permit clinical use of this technology, according to the report, which identifies essential elements of national and international scientific governance and oversight.

Ecology considers how organisms of the same species interact with each other, how organisms of different species in the same space interact, and how multiple communities interact to make up an ecosystem, information crucial in understanding how biodiversity affects ecological function. In over 120 articles, Principles of Ecology addresses topics including: Morphology, Human ecology, Resilience, Social ecology, Co-evolution, Traits, Biome and Biosphere.

Beyond their impact on public health, epidemics shape and are shaped by political, economic, and social forces. This book examines these connections, exploring key topics in the study of disease outbreaks and delving deep into specific historical and contemporary examples. From the Black Death that ravaged Europe in the 14th century to the influenza pandemic following World War I and the novel strain of coronavirus that made "social distancing" the new normal, wide-scale disease outbreaks have played an important role throughout human history. In addition to the toll they take on human lives, epidemics have spurred medical innovations, toppled governments, crippled economies, and led to cultural revolutions. Epidemics and Pandemics: From Ancient Plagues to Modern-Day Threats provides readers with a holistic view of the terrifying--and fascinating--topic of epidemics and pandemics. In Volume 1, readers will discover what an epidemic is, how it emerges and spreads, what diseases are most likely to become epidemics, and how disease outbreaks are tracked, prevented, and combatted. They will learn about the impacts of such modern factors as global air travel and antibiotic resistance, as well as the roles played by public health agencies and the media. Volume 2 offers detailed case studies that explore the course and lasting significance of individual epidemics and pandemics throughout history. Examines the topic from a number of angles, offering readers a holistic view of how epidemics and pandemics have affected and continue to affect the world Explains the science behind the emergence and spread of disease in easy-to-understand, jargon-free language Considers issues relevant to today's readers, including the impact of the anti-vaccination movement, climate change, global travel, and antibiotic resistance Offers a detailed look at the most famous examples of epidemics and pandemics throughout history, using a standardized format that makes finding information quick and easy

Plagues and pandemics are a part of global history, from the biblical "plague of locusts" to today's COVID-19 pandemic. Dealing with unchecked diseases and disasters has given rise to great human suffering and loss of life, but it has also played a significant role in shaping our societies. Advances in public health, medicine, scientific research, and even the arts have often been inspired by or required of those who have survived. This two-volume set includes content on the Black Death , smallpox, the plague, malaria, typhoid, polio, SARS, AIDS, Covid-19 and others.

Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In addition to completely new essays in this edition, all entries from the previous edition have been evaluated and updated by a panel of Medical Editors to ensure their currency and accuracy.

The set contains 650 essays on all aspects of infectious diseases, including pathogens and pathogenicity, transmission, the immune system, vaccines, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and social concerns such as bioterrorism. These essays will interest science and premedical students, students of epidemiology and public health, public library patrons, and librarians building collections in science and medicine.

Understanding the wide scope of jobs for those interested in sports medicine and training is important for anyone preparing for a career that involves both traditional careers in medicine, therapy, and training like cardiologist, podiatrist, and surgeon; massage therapist, personal trainer; rehabilitation counselors; and acupuncturists and massage therapists. This title includes lengthy chapters on a broad range of occupations, including Cardiologist, Chiropractor, Exercise Physiologist, Health Coach, Neuropsychologist, and Sport Psychologist. Careers in Sports Medicine & Training is enhanced with numerous charts and tables, including projections from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, and median annual salaries or wages for those occupations profiled. Interesting enhancements, like Fun Facts, Famous Firsts, and dozens of photos, add depth to the discussion. Additional highlights in the book include Conversation With - a two-page interview with a professional working in a related job - that offer insight into specific areas of sports medicine and training.

This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook.

To date, war history has focused predominantly on the efforts of and impact of war on male participants. However, this limited focus disregards the complexity of gendered experiences with war and the military. The Oxford Handbook of Gender, War, and the Western World since 1600 investigateshow conceptions of gender have contributed to the shaping of military culture, examining the varied ideals and practices that have socially differentiated men and women's wartime experiences. Covering the major periods in warfare since the seventeenth century, The Handbook explores culturalrepresentations of war and the interconnectedness of the military with civil society and its transformations.While principally focusing on the Western world, essays also examine European colonization and its aftermath in Asia, Africa, and Australia. Leading scholars from across the US and Europe here address experiences on the home and battle fronts, attempts to tame warfare through peace movements, andthe consequences of participation in the military for citizenship. They also consider postwar cultures, the memories of war, and the challenges faced by female, gay and lesbian soldiers who posed a threat to dominant ideals of military masculinity. The Oxford Handbook of Gender, War, and the WesternWorld since 1600 offers an authoritative account of the intricate relationships between gender, warfare, and military culture across time and space.

Strauss's Handbook of Business Information serves a primary source for finding and understanding business information. It contains explanation and instruction on the key facets of business information and provides detailed descriptions of key resources within both broad and specific categories. It can be used as a guide to further understanding the what, how, and why of business information research. The changing arena of business information requires regular updating and awareness. This new edition has been thoroughly updated and expanded with four new chapters: Entrepreneurship, Competitive Intelligence, Corporate Social Responsibility, and Non-Profit Organizations. Other additions of note include subsections on internet and mobile marketing, tax havens and related issues, coverage of new legislations (e.g., Dodd-Frank), subsections on index funds, investment communities, regulatory bodies and laws, hedge funds, venture capital companies, assessing risks, robo-advisors, and more. The Handbook is for students, faculty, librarians, and information professionals looking to gain a broader and deeper understanding of business information. Anyone needing to gain quick exposure to specific business information needs, and possible information resources for solutions, will benefit from the volume as well.

Despite the plethora of primary sources that libraries have made available to their communities, the published literature thus far is largely limited to the pedagogical significance of special collections and archives. To leverage the wealth of primary sources and to explore the full potential of primary sources in the undergraduate classroom, it is imperative that the conversation include faculty members as well as librarians outside special collections and archives. The ten case studies included in Engaging Undergraduates in Primary Source Research represent the exciting work of faculty members and their librarian partners from various areas of library operations. They offer examples, strategies, and innovative ways to incorporate a wide range of primary materials into undergraduates' diet of secondary source research, including both local archival and non-archival materials, as well as digital and physical materials and non-English language materials. Co-authored by faculty and their librarian partners, these case studies focus on how students develop and practice skills related to finding and identifying primary information, analyzing and interrogating it, confronting interpretations, and constructing and presenting arguments using primary sources. The emphasis on transferrable skills, as well as the diversity of primary sources and teaching areas they represent, makes it easy for anyone interested to find examples from which they can draw guidance and inspiration to form partnerships and to (re)invigorate students' learning experiences involving primary sources. Furthermore, the collaborative process and the methods to engage students in primary source research that are highlighted in these stories are not unique to primary sources. They can be easily applied in other collaborative teaching efforts involving different types of information, to create skilled student researchers, adept information producers, and informed citizens.