New Reference Books

The tension between personal liberties and national security, always ready to erupt in the political fights played out in Washington, D.C., became a daily concern for all U.S. citizens in the wake of the attacks on September 11, 2001. Readers will find that each article provides a thorough commentary and analysis of documents. The primary source document, often reproduced in its entirety, includes sections that provide Summary Overview, the Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes.

The definitive one-volume guide to all sub-Saharan African countries, providing invaluable economic, political, statistical and directory data. General Survey. Thoroughly revised and updated analytical articles written by experts on the region and covering both continent-wide and sub-regional issues. Country Surveys. Individual chapters on every country incorporating: essays on the physical and social geography, recent history and economies an extensive statistical survey of economic indicators a full directory containing names, addresses and contact details for key areas such as the government, diplomatic representation, the media, finance, trade and industry, and defense a useful bibliography, providing sources for further research. Regional Information. Detailed information on regional organizations; commodities; research institutes; and select bibliographies of books and periodicals.

This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive overview of the evolution of Hispanic American engagement in U.S. politics, from their increased visibility as governors and other lawmakers at the local, state, and federal levels to their growing importance as a voting constituency. Features two dozen primary documents, including illuminating sources provided both in the original Spanish and in English translations. Contains approximately 300 encyclopedia entries. Gives special attention to the significant diversity of the Latino population in the United States, with a focus on growing communities of Central American and Dominican origin as well as groups of Mexican, Puerto Rican, and Cuban origin. Provides context in historical overview essays that focus specifically on Latino population in their roles as voters and citizens, candidates, and lawmakers in American life. Includes a chronology of events concerning the evolution of Latino American involvement in U.S. politics.

This volume examines both the speeches and writings of Martin Luther King, Jr., highlighting a variety of interpretive approaches, including rhetorical analysis, close reading, and explorations setting. King's work in social, cultural, historical, and political contexts. Critical analyses offer an overview of important previous work on King's writings and speeches while also making new contributions to the study of his written and spoken works. Race, class, and gender are closely examined, along with a discussion of the skill of King's writing.

South America is a vast, relatively isolated, landmass that includes 12 independent countries and one region (Guyane Fran aise) with diverse ethnic groups speaking hundreds of different languages and dialects, and extraordinary creativity. Indigenous people have occupied its different habitats while transforming the landscape and themselves, with extraordinary dedication and success. This dictionary opens a window to these peoples through many entries, in an integrated approach that allows to connect the multiple facets of indigenous life before 1492. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Ancient South America contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and the culture of ancient South America. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about ancient South America.

As a formal field of study, the psychology of women has pushed the boundaries of traditional theory, produced breakthroughs in methodology, and built links to some of the most challenging problems of our time. It remains an intellectually vibrant and socially relevant area, including initiatives that not only have changed the epistemology of knowledge but also have expanded our understanding of ourselves and of the world. Across this two-volume set, chapter authors provide scholarly reviews and in-depth analyses of subjects within their areas of expertise. Themes of status and power inform many chapters. Volume 1 begins by outlining the emergence of the psychology of women and its connections with the women's movement. This is followed by feminist critiques of theory, descriptions of innovative methodologies, and discussions of difference and similarity, both between women and men and between gender and sexuality. The social and economic contexts surrounding these issues are reviewed, as are dichotomies sustained by sexism, stereotypes, and prejudice. Volume 1 concludes with chapters that address the uniquely intersecting components of individual experience. Volume 2 focuses on applied subjects. It begins with a section on psychological well-being, including therapeutic models of gender, feminist goals of empowerment, multicultural feminism, and the borderlands of gender identity. Following is a discussion of close relationships, including issues of intimacy, equity, and changing models of family. Victimization and narratives of victimhood are described next, as are leadership, community, politics, and women in the workplace. The volume concludes with a discussion of women's roles and agency throughout the world, with special attention given to human rights and reproductive justice.

This two-volume set provides an authoritative overview of rape and other forms of sexual violence, containing the latest information about victims and perpetrators; events, laws, and trends related to sexual violence; and attitudes toward it. Explains the many types of rape and sexual violence. Discusses what organizations and nations are doing to help victims and survivors and to convict perpetrators, and provides insights into what has worked and what has failed and why. Covers sexual violence committed globally against people of all genders and ages and in a variety of conditions, including prisons, nursing homes, over the internet, and in wartime, so that readers may understand the universality of the issue. Covers both U.S. and international topics in primary documents including testimonies from rape victims given before the US Senate in relation to violence in the military, scandals in gymnastics, and human trafficking; documents concerning corrective hate in South Africa and those forced into sexual slavery by ISIS; and legislation such as the Clery Act and Title IX.

When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.

Through a comprehensive collection of articles, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Climate Change Communication explores the origin and evolution of our understanding of climate change as it is presented in communication and media. Taking a multifaceted approach, the encyclopedia offers a scholarly examination of the effects of climate change, communication on public opinion, and policy decisions, journalistic coverage and media portrayals of climate change, communication strategies and campaigns, and the implications for effective communication, including those of outreach and advocacy efforts. Additionally, the encyclopedia reviews climate change communication research methods and approaches. Global in breadth and deeply resourced, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Climate Change Communication serves as an essential source of perspective on all aspects of this important area of scholarship. It is led by Editor in Chief Dr. Matthew C. Nisbet, along with Associate Editors Dr. Shirley S. Ho, Dr. Ezra Markowitz, Dr. Saffron O'Neill, Dr. Mike S. Schafer, and Dr. Jagadish Thaker.

Charles Darwin: A Reference Guide to His Life and Works provides an important new compendium presenting a detailed chronology of all aspects Darwin's life. The extensive encyclopedia section includes many hundreds of entries of various kinds related to Darwin: people, places, institutions, concepts, and his publications. The bibliography provides a comprehensive listing of the vast majority of Darwin's works published during and after his lifetime. It also provides a more selective list of publications concerning his life and work. Includes a nearly year by year chronology detailing Charles Darwin's life, family, and work. The A to Z section includes many entries on concepts and people important in Charles Darwin's life and his work, emphasizing during his lifetime but extending somewhat backwards and forwards from there. The bibliography includes all of Charles Darwin's articles and books published in his lifetime in English and other languages, as well as a selective list of works about him and his work. The index thoroughly cross-references the chronological and encyclopedic entries.

Since its first publication in 1964, Walker's Mammals of the World has become a favorite guide to the natural world for general readers and professionals alike. This new Walker's volume is a completely revised and updated compendium of information on five of the earliest clades to diverge from ancient mammal stock. Uniquely comprehensive in inimitable Walker's style, it incorporates a full account of every genus that has lived in the past 5,000 years. Every named species of each genus is listed in systematic order and accompanied by detailed descriptions of past and present range. This new edition includes, 500+ full-color images throughout, citations to more than 2,200 new references, extensive bioconservation data, with discussion of every species in an IUCN Red List threatened category. This volume's thorough updates reflect 20 years of advances in our knowledge of taxonomy, ecology, behavior, life history, and conservation. Substantive changes to 100% of previously existing generic accounts, plus the addition of 17 entirely new generic accounts, double the information in the last edition on the 19 orders covered. The black-and-white illustrations of earlier editions have been replaced by over 500 superb new color images. Remaining true to Ernest P. Walker's vision, the text smoothly combines in-depth scholarship with a popular, readable style to preserve and enhance what the Washington Post called a "landmark of zoological literature."

An indispensable resource for readers interested in eating disorders, this book summarizes their history in human civilization, assesses the current status of eating disorders in American society, and describes efforts for establishing effective prevention and treatment programs. Provides an introduction to the history of eating disorders in society, a topic less well known and discussed than others in the social sciences. Offers comprehensive discussion of the whole range of eating disorders, rather than the two most commonly covered (bulimia and anorexia), along with a review of the risk factors, causes, prevention, and treatment of each. Outlines the ongoing debate concerning the possible causes of eating disorders and how they guide prevention and treatment. Includes a chapter on individual perspectives about specific cases of, experiences with, and attitudes toward eating disorders in today's world.

Due to the growing popularity of the Young Adult fiction genre and the ever increasing availability of new titles, librarians need more guidance than ever to select the best that YA fiction has to offer. Young Adult Fiction Core Collection (2nd Edition, 2017) highlights more than 2,500 recommended titles for young adult readers.