New Reference Books

It's another new year celebrating everything under the Sun, including the Moon, with The Old Farmer's Almanac, America's oldest continuously published periodical! Always timely, topical, and distinctively "useful, with a pleasant degree of humor," the Almanac has been beloved for centuries by people from all walks of life. As the nation's iconic calendar, the 2020 edition will forecast cultural, culinary, and other life-changing trends; preview notable astronomical events; provide time- and money-saving tips for gardeners of all varieties; set the hook for best fishing days; forecast traditionally 80 percent-accurate weather; and cover a range of related topics, including anniversaries, folklore, husbandry, home remedies, recipes, amusement, contests, and more too much more to mention all in the inimitable way it has done since 1792.

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions. Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials. Dedicated chapter for new users of APA. Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers.
New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style. New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality. More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources. More than 40 new sample tables and figures. Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options.

The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism offers an extensive survey of the history, doctrine, practices, and global circumstances of Roman Catholicism, written by a range of distinguished and experienced Catholic writers. Engages its readers in an informed and informative conversation about Roman Catholic life and thought. Embraces the local and the global, the past and the present,life and the afterlife, and a broad range of institutions and activities. Considers both what is distinctive about Catholic life and thought, and how Catholicism overlaps with and transforms other ways of thinking and living. Topics covered include: peacemaking, violence and wars; money, the vow of poverty and socio-economic life; art by and about Catholics; and men, women and sex.

State Profiles 2018: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State provides a wealth of current, authoritative, and comprehensive data on key demographic and economic indicators for each U.S. state and the District of Columbia. Each state is covered by a compact standardized chapter that allows for easy comparisons and timely analysis between the states. A ten-page profile for each U.S. state plus the District of Columbia provides reliable, up-to-date information on a wide range of topics, including: population, labor force, income and poverty, government finances, crime, education, health insurance coverage, voting, marital status, migration, and more. If you want a single source of key demographic and economic data on each of the U.S. states, there is no other book like State Profiles. This book provides an overview of the U.S. economy which provides a framework for understanding the state information. This book is primarily useful for public, school, and college and university libraries, as well as for economic and sociology departments. However, anyone needing state-level information-students, state officials, investors, economic analysts, concerned citizens-will find State Profiles wealth of data and analysis absolutely essential. A LOOK AT THE STATES: South Carolina once again had the highest rate of traffic fatalities in the U.S. in 2016, with 1.88 deaths per 100 million vehicle miles driven. In 2016, 16.6 of Texans did not have health insurance, making it the state with the highest percent of uninsured residents. At more than twice the national average, West Virginia had the highest rate of drug overdose deaths in 2016 (52.0 deaths per 100,000 residents). Of all the states, Utah had the highest percent of children in 2017, with 29.9 percent of its population under age 18. Maryland's 2016 median household income of $78,945 was the highest in the country, and its poverty rate of 9.7 percent was the 3rd lowest among the states.

The New York State Directory, published annually since 1983, is a comprehensive and easy-to-use guide to accessing public officials and private sector organizations and individuals who influence public policy in the state of New York.

Grey House Publishing is proud to announce the publication of the twelfth edition of Profiles of New York; History, Statistics, Demographics for all 2,574 populated places in New York. This volume in Grey House Publishing's Profiles of Series provides data on all populated communities and counties in the State of New York. This edition also includes profiles of 446 unincorporated places based on US Census Data by zip code, as well as communities that span multiple zip codes. This premier reference work includes seven major sections that cover everything from Education to Ethnic Backgrounds to Climate. All sections include Comparative Statistics or Rankings, allowing users to quickly and easily compare locations within the state. Section I, About New York, gives researchers a real sense of the state and its history. This section includes a Photo Gallery, Demographic Maps, a State Energy Profile, and comprehensive sections on New York''s Government and Land/Natural Resources. With four-color charts and maps, these 41 pages help to fully illustrate the state to the researcher, both physically and politically. Section II contains the detailed Profiles of 2,574 places plus 62 counties, based on the 2010 Census and data from the American Community Survey. Also included are current government statistics and original research, guaranteeing that these profiles pull together statistical and descriptive information on every Census-recognized place in the state. Major fields of information include: Geography, Ancestry, Economy, Housing, Transportation, Industry, Education, Population, Health, Region, and Climate. New categories to this edition include: public and private health insurance, language spoken at home, people with disabilities, and veterans. In addition, this section includes an Alphabetical Place Index. Section III, Comparative Statistics, includes tables that compare New York''s 100 largest communities by dozens of data points. Section IV, Community Rankings, is a new section featuring tables that use dozens of categories to rank the top 150 and bottom 150 communities with populations over 10,000 people. Section V, Education, begins with an Educational State Profile, summarizing the number of schools, students, diplomas granted, and educational dollars spent. School District Rankings follow and cover 16 topics, ranging from Teacher/Student Ratios to High School Drop-Out Rates. Following these rankings are statewide National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) results and information about school and district performance from the New York Department of Education. Section VI, Ancestry and Ethnicity, provides a detailed look at the ancestral, Hispanic, and racial makeup of New York''s 200+ ethnic categories. Profiles are included for the state, for all counties, and for all places with 50,000 or more residents. In the ranking section, data is displayed: by number, based on all places regardless of population; by percent, based on all places regardless of population; and by percent, based on all places with populations of 50,000 or more. Section VII, Climate, includes a State Summary, three colorful maps, and profiles of both National and Cooperative Weather Stations. In addition, Weather Station Rankings with hundreds of statistical details are included. This section also includes Significant Storm Event data from January 2000 through December 2009. Finally, an extensive User Guide is also included and segmented into four sections. This User Guide examines each data field in the individual profiles and comparative sections for all chapters, providing sources for all data points and statistical definitions. Buyers of the twelfth edition of Profiles of New York receive FREE ONLINE ACCESS to Profiles of New York Online . Online users can access customized Ranking Tables that make sorting and comparing all places across the whole state of New York quick and easy. Profiles of New York goes beyond Census statistics, beyond metro area coverage, and beyond the 100 Best Places to Live. This comprehensive resource is a remarkable compilation that offers overviews and insights into every corner of the state.

US

A comprehensive, communicative, and practical guide to using Japanese, Kodansha's Furigana Japanese Dictionary is an invaluable tool for anyone with an interest in the Japanese language. It has been edited with the needs of English-speaking users in mind, whether students, teachers, business people, or casual linguists, and special care has been taken at each stage of its compilation including the selection of entry words and their equivalents, the wording of the detailed explanations of Japanese words, the choice of example sentences, and even its functional page design to maximize its usefulness. What is furigana and why is it so important? Furigana refers to the small kana that are printed above or alongside kanji to show their pronunciation. With furigana superscripts, the beginner who is familiar with hiragana and katakana is able to read even the most difficult and obscure kanji at a glance. Other dictionaries either provide little or no guide to kanji readings or romanize some or all of the Japanese words and sentences. In the past, romanized dictionaries were of some value to students using textbooks that contained no Japanese script. Now, however, an increasing number of influential curricula around the world are based on a rationale and methodology that demands the introduction of hiragana and katakana from the earliest stages. Learners and their teachers using such curricula will inevitably feel more comfortable with a dictionary such as Kodansha Furigana Japanese Dictionary, one that shows the pronunciation of kanji with a familiar and authentic kana script. Combining Kodansha's Furigana Japanese-English Dictionary (1995) and Kodansha's Furigana English-Japanese Dictionary (1996) in one portable. affordable, and user-friendly volume, this dictionary has the following unique features. A basic vocabulary of 30,000 entries covers the most frequently used English and Japanese words. Special treatment has been given to hundreds of words, names, and phrases of special relevance to English-speaking students of Japanese. Semantic and usage differences between Japanese words and expressions are explained in clear English. Thousands of example sentences and phrases illustrate how Japanese words are used in context. Special information is provided on verb conjugations, formality, and other aspects of Japanese grammar and usage.

International development is now a major global activity and the focus of the rapidly growing academic discipline of development studies. The Encyclopedia of International Development provides definitions and discussions of the key concepts, controversies and actors associated with international development for a readership of development workers, teachers and students. With 600 entries, ranging in length from shorter factual studies to more in-depth essays, a comprehensive system of cross references and a full index, it is the most definitive guide to international development yet published. Development is more than a simple increase in a country's wealth and living conditions. It also implies increasing people's choices and freedoms; it is change that is inclusive and empowering. Development theory and practice has important applications to questions of economic growth, trade, governance, education, healthcare, gender rights and environmental protection, and it involves issues such as international aid, peacekeeping, famine relief and strategies against HIV/AIDS. The Encyclopedia treats these topics and many more, and provides critical analyses of important actors within development such as the United Nations and World Bank, non-governmental organizations and corporations. Contributors to this volume reflect the multidisciplinary and international nature of the subject. They come from social science disciplines such as economics, international studies, political science and anthropology, and from specialities such as medicine. This Encyclopedia provides crucial information for universities, students and professional organizations involved with international development, and those interested in related topics such as international studies or other studies of social and economic change today.

This is a comprehensive medical and scientific dictionary for the 21st century. New vocabulary is constantly being introduced into fast moving medico-scientific disciplines such as genomics, clinical trials, medico-legal, health economics and pharmacovigilance. This new terminology is included in this dictionary, clearly defined and accurately translated into Spanish. The dictionary contains more than 28,000 main entries and many subentries: (a) medical terms used outside the medical community, including colloquial usage; (b) technical medical terms in current use in clinical practice and research; (c) new technical terms in the fields of medicine, medical research and basic scientific research applied to medicine, defined in recent years. The breadth of subjects covered and the accessibility of the definitions make it user-friendly for the educated general public, while the level of detail and state-of-the-art coverage of recent terminology make it a unique tool for professionals.

H.W. Wilson's Graphic Novels Core Collection (2nd Edition, 2018) provides expert recommendations, developed by H.W. Wilson's team of library and media specialists. Whether for collection development, collection maintenance, readers' advisory, or curriculum support, Graphic Novels Core Collection provides the sound guidance that librarians need so they can rest assured that they are selecting materials that will best serve their collection and their patrons.

Praise for the previous edition: "The scope is impressive...The information is well-written and accurate...[a] valuable reference...Recommended." Library Media Connection "This book belongs in every high school library." American Reference Books Annual "...useful...a good addition to any school or public library that does not already have a concise overview of African American scientists in its collection." Booklist: "In research labs, university classrooms, NASA training facilities, and the administrative boardrooms of major institutions, African Americans have been important innovators, from early times to the present day." African Americans in Science, Math, and Invention, Revised Edition explores the many astronauts, physicists, chemists, biologists, agriculture specialists, and others who have dedicated their lives to improving humankind's knowledge and understanding of the universe. Each entry provides a biographical profile, surveying significant events in that person's life related to his or her accomplishments in these fields, followed by an up-to-date further reading list on that individual. A general introduction presents an overview of African-American contributions, subject indexes list individuals by year of birth and by fields of activity, and a general bibliography lists resources relevant to the topic. New and revised profiles include: Patricia Era Bath, James Forten, Bernard A. Harris, Joan Higginbottom William B. Purvis, John Brooks Slaughter, Valerie Thomas, Madame C.J. Walker.

This book provides a comprehensive introduction to one of the most controversial issues in modern society steroid abuse among athletes as well as to the ongoing debate over the use and misuse of illegal substances in amateur and professional sporting events. Now in its second edition, this book provides readers, with updated critical and objective information about steroids and doping in sports. The first two chapters deal with the history and background of steroids and doping in sports in addition to current problems, controversies, and possible solutions. Additionally, they provide readers with the background to understand the nature of the problems involving steroid use and doping in sports in the United States and worldwide. New to this edition is the Perspectives chapter. Composed of diverse voices, this chapter allows readers to gain insight from scholars, athletes, journalists, and others who have a stake in the issues. Remaining chapters provide a variety of research tools, such as primary documents and biographical profiles, for readers to use in continuing their research. Other resources include a chronology, a glossary, and an extensive annotated bibliography. Helps readers towards an understanding of the nature of anabolic steroids and their effects on the human body, both beneficial and harmful. Comprises an extensive array of tools that permits students to continue their own research on the topic. Includes a glossary of terms that will aid readers in better understanding the technical language used in discussions of steroids and doping in sports. Introduces readers to the complex issue of testing for illegal drugs in both amateur and professional sports, and to methods of testing and problems involved with mediating the validity and reliability of tests. Introduces students to important individuals and organizations involved in steroid abuse and doping in sports, both historically and currently.

A column by Glenn Garvin on Dec. 20 stated that the National Science Foundation funded a study on Jell-O wrestling at the South Pole. That is incorrect. The event took place during off-duty hours without NSF permission and did not involve taxpayer funds. Corrections such as this one from the Miami Herald have become a familiar sight for readers, especially as news cycles demand faster and faster publication. While some factual errors can be humorous, they nonetheless erode the credibility of the writer and the organization. And the pressure for accuracy and accountability is increasing at the same time as in-house resources for fact-checking are dwindling. Anyone who needs or wants to learn how to verify names, numbers, quotations, and facts is largely on their own. Enter The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking, an accessible, one-stop guide to the why, what, and how of contemporary fact-checking. Brooke Borel, an experienced fact-checker, draws on the expertise of more than 200 writers, editors, and fellow checkers representing the New Yorker, Popular Science, This American Life, Vogue, and many other outlets. She covers best practices for fact-checking in a variety of media from magazine articles, both print and online, to books and documentaries and from the perspective of both in-house and freelance checkers. She also offers advice on navigating relationships with writers, editors, and sources; considers the realities of fact-checking on a budget and checking one's own work; and reflects on the place of fact-checking in today's media landscape. "If journalism is a cornerstone of democracy, then fact-checking is its building inspector," Borel writes. The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking is the practical and thoroughly vetted guide that writers, editors, and publishers need to maintain their credibility and solidify their readers' trust.