Self-Guided Tour of the James M. Milne Library

Dittmar, R. (2022). Milne Library [Photograph]. https://oneonta.smugmug.com/Campus-Scenes/Milne-Library/i-jTB8Sxn/A

Welcome to the James M. Milne Library, the library at the heart of the SUNY Oneonta campus! This virtual tour has been prepared to help you learn your way around the library and become familiar with the spaces and resources available to you. Use the tabs on the left hand side of this guide for detailed step-by-step information for each of the five floors, or continue reading this page for a quick summary of the library must-knows for each floor. Enjoy the tour!

The first floor of the library holds the Library Public Services Department, the Circulation Desk, Accessibility Resources, the Information Literacy and Academic Engagement Department, and the Reference Desk. Additionally, on the first floor you will find the reading room 102A, classroom Milne 102, the current print periodicals and newspapers, printers and a scanner, public computers, bookable and open study spaces, staff offices, and the Argo Tea Cafe. This floor holds group study zones, which allows for conversation, but cell phones must be on silent.

The second floor of the library holds the Student Learning Center: Tutoring & Writing Center, the Dean of the Library's Office, conference room 209, the children's collection, the young adult collection, the graphic novels and manga collection, the circulating collection (LC call numbers M-P), various audiovisual (AV) equipment, a microfilm reader, as well as bookable and open study spaces. This floor holds quiet study zones, which allows for quiet conversation, but cell phones must be on silent. 

The third floor of the library holds the Alden Room, SUNY Oneonta's University Archives and Special Collections, the Geography & Environmental Sustainability Department, classroom 305, conference room 318, the circulating collections (LC call numbers A-L), the oversize collection, and many diverse study spaces with beautiful views of the SUNY Oneonta campus. This floor holds silent study zones, which allow for no noise, and cell phones must be on silent.

Additionally, in room 326 (oversize collection) there is an absolute silent study zone, where there is no noise permitted, and cell phones should be set to silent or turned off.

The basement of the library holds the Library's Collection Development, Resource Management & Sharing Department (CDRMS), SUNY Oneonta's Faculty Center, and SUNY Oneonta's Information Technology Services (ITS) Department. As well, the basement holds group study spaces, computer labs, printers (including the library's color printer), and vending machines. Group study zones can be found on this floor, which allow for conversation, but cell phones must be on silent.

The sub-basement of the library holds the circulating collections (LC call numbers Q-Z), the educational materials collection (EMC), the microfilm collection and readers, the New York State collection, the back issues of the print periodicals, and much of the reference collection. This floor holds quiet study zones, which allow for quiet conversations, but cell phones must be on silent.

Please note: There is no cell phone reception on the sub-basement floor of the library.