We're looking forward to seeing you in the James M. Milne Library for Spring Semester 2024! The library staff are committed to providing library collections, services, resources and research spaces to our students, faculty, staff and community members.
Menu
Do you want to check out a book? Get help with an assignment or research? Meet with a librarian? Learn about library hours or services?
In the Library
Visit our friendly experts at the Library's Reference and Circulation desks, both located on the first floor of the library.
Online
Library Help chat service provides live, real-time online help and expertise. Whether you are in the library or online, Library Help is a best bet for getting immediate support with any library question. After hours and anytime, the ever-expanding Library Help FAQ knowledge base has answers to a broad array of questions plus the opportunity to submit your own question. Visit Library Help at https://oneonta.libanswers.com/.
Phone
For reference and general questions, call the Library Reference Desk at 607.436.2722.
Classes begin Wednesday, January 24
REGULAR SEMESTER HOURS
Student Arrival & Orientation --- Sunday, January 21 – Tuesday, January 23
Sunday, January 21 CLOSED
Monday, January 22 & Tuesday, January 23 7:30 AM – 8 PM
March Recess --- Friday, March 8 – Sunday, March 17 (Dorms Close at 9 am on Saturday, March 9)
Friday, March 8 7:30 AM – 4:30 PM
Saturday, March 9 & Sunday, March 10 CLOSED
Monday, March 11 – Friday, March 15 7:30 AM – 4:30 PM
Saturday, March 16 CLOSED
Sunday, March 17 (Dorms reopen at 1 PM) 6 PM – 12 AM
Monday, March 18 (Classes resume) Regular hours
Admitted Student Open House, Sat., April 6 8 AM – 9 PM
Extended Hours for Final Exams --- Monday, May 8 – Wednesday, May 17
Wednesday, May 8 is Study Day; Finals begin Thursday, May 9 and end Wednesday, May 15
Monday, May 6 – Thursday, May 9 7:00 AM – 1AM
Friday, May 10 7:00 AM – 7 PM
Saturday, May 11 Noon – 10 PM
Sunday, May 12 Noon – 1 AM
Monday, May 13 & Tuesday, May 14 7:00 AM – 1 AM
Wednesday, May 15 7:00 AM – 6 PM
Thursday, May 16 & Friday, May 17 7:30 AM – 4:30 PM
Saturday, May 18 (Commencement) CLOSED
For more details visit https://suny.oneonta.edu/milne-library/about/hours.
We look forward to seeing you in the library!
Food and drink With some noted exceptions (including study rooms and library classrooms), drinks in covered containers are permitted in the library. Except for the first floor, food is discouraged. Argo Tea is located on the first floor of the library.
Meetings, appointments and events We offer meetings, appointments and events in all modalities. For details visit https://suny.oneonta.edu/milne-library/contact.
Study rooms of varying sizes serving 2 to 8 students. To reserve a room visit https://oneonta.libcal.com/reserve/group-study-rooms. Note: while single student use of study rooms is permitted, individuals may be asked to leave a large study room in order to accommodate a group reservation.
Faculty Carrels for two occupants; to learn more and submit your application visit https://libguides.oneonta.edu/carrels.
Library Discovery Service The Library has extensive online, book, and other material collections to support teaching, learning and research. Featured on the Library homepage, our Library Discovery Service is a single-search box featured on the library homepage that provides a dynamic search and discovery experience of the Library’s online and print collections. To connect with our collections, visit https://bit.ly/library-discovery.
Virtual Browsing The serendipity and discovery of books while browsing is a valuable research activity. Even while the stacks are open, virtual browsing and discovery is available. For details on virtual browsing visit https://oneonta.libanswers.com/faq/319961.
Open Stacks Book shelving stacks on the first, second, and third floors are open. Note: the sub-basement level of the library will be open limited hours. See ‘Borrowing’ below or visit https://oneonta.libanswers.com/faq/291467.
Borrowing Library Materials
Faculty, students and staff may select books from the stacks and bring them to the circulation desk for checkout. Library items can be returned at any time through the book drops located at the Circulation Desk or on the exterior of the Milne Library building (to the right of the main front entrance, central to the rear entrance).
Reference Collections Books in our first floor Reference Collection are available for in-house use. Reference books in the subbasement are available for 10 day circulation.
Periodicals Collection Journals and newspapers in our periodical collection are available for use in the library.
Course reserves are course materials that instructors have asked the Library to make easily accessible to students online or in the library.
Electronic Reserves (e-Reserves) For online course readings and educational resources, our online collections include myriad eBooks, databases, online journals, streaming video and other resources.
For students: Go to Library E-Reserves at https://libguides.oneonta.edu/er.php?b=c. Also, some instructors make their e-Reserves available in Brightspace.
For Faculty: Instructors make requests online at https://libguides.oneonta.edu/er_request.php.
Learn more and see e-Reserves policy and guidelines
Print and Physical Reserves Faculty must fill out a Reserve Request Form for each item you wish to have placed on reserve. Forms are available at the Circulation/Reserve Desk. All forms should be completed as fully and accurately as possible to ensure that reserve materials will be easily accessible to your students.
Do you need a book or article that we don't have? Get it using Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan services expand the range of research materials available for research, instruction and scholarship. Materials which are not owned by the Library may be obtained from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. To request print and electronic materials via our Interlibrary Loan service, login to Illiad.
Reference Service Librarians provide reference and research assistance mask-to-mask in the library, and virtually via chat, email or phone at https://oneonta.libanswers.com/. For details of mask-to-mask reference service in the library, visit https://suny.oneonta.edu/milne-library/services/reference-and-instruction-services.
Library Instruction The Library's instruction program is informed by the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) Information Literacy Framework, and supports the teaching mission by educating students for academic success and lifelong learning. Librarians work with instructors to provide information literacy and library research instruction -- see our Information Literacy Guide: https://libguides.oneonta.edu/information-literacy. Library instruction will be delivered in the library classroom, synchronously online, dual modality, or by asynchronous instruction utilizing online course guides and resources. Email Sarah Rhodes at Sarah.Rhodes@oneonta.edu.
Research Consultation Reference librarians are available for personal research consultations regarding specialized resources, specific assignments or other research needs. Consultations will be conducted in-person, or online via Teams or Ask-A-Librarian email at https://bit.ly/milne-ask or, for walk-in sessions, mask-to-mask in the library. Request a research consultation using this form https://bit.ly/milne-research-consult.
Research and Course Guides are online library pathfinders that bring together the best research databases, scholarly journals, and more, plus tips for doing effective research in the discipline, subject or topic, and contact information for getting help from a subject librarian. Access Library Research and Course Guides https://libguides.oneonta.edu/.
Online Research Tutorials Our Research Paper Help guide provides research instruction, demonstration and best practices that will help you successfully navigate the Library's collections. Visit https://libguides.oneonta.edu/helpwithresearch.
Milne Library’s Special Collections and Archives collects, organizes, interprets, preserves, and provides access to unique and rare materials that enhance and encourage research and learning.
For more information please see the Alden Room guide at https://libguides.oneonta.edu/spec or email Sophia Dunne at Sophia.Dunne@oneonta.edu.