Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections

Welcome to the Archives and Special Collections

The Archives and Special Collections are special treasures of Milne Library and are available by appointment for browsing and research.  Housed in the Alden Room, located on the third floor of the library, these collections are comprised of the Archives, Lantern Slide Collection, and Book Collections.

View of the Alden Room with chairs and tables

 

Archival Collections

The Archives document the history of the College and student life going back to the College's foundation as the Oneonta Normal School in 1889.  These materials include:

  • Photographs
  • Student publications such as newspapers, yearbooks, and notebooks
  • Faculty publications such as catalogs, brochures, and official documents
  • Memorabilia such as scrapbooks and freshman beanies
  • Faculty papers
  • Biographical material

 

Book Collections

Special Book Collections include:

  • Educational Theory Collection
  • Early American Textbooks
  • Faculty Publications
  • O'Mara Native American Collection
  • New York State History Collection
  • New York State Verse
  • Cornell-Gladstone-Hanlon-Kaufmann Collection of nature writing
  • Popular Fiction Collection
  • Private Press Publications
  • SCC Miscellanies