Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Milne Library Fall 2021 Guide

We're looking forward to seeing you in the James M. Milne Library for Fall Semester 2021!  The library staff are committed to providing library services, resources and research spaces to our students, faculty and staff.  All guests are expected to adhere to College guidelines and policies. Protecting the health and safety of library visitors and staff is chief among our guiding principles.  Regular access into the library will be for all SUNY Oneonta students, faculty, and staff.  Visitors who have registered as "Sponsored Guests" are also welcome (see details below).

Library operations and services will remain aligned to College protocols, which are subject to change.  Changes to regular library services and operations are done in the scope of creating a healthy environment that minimizes risks of COVID-19 exposure and transmission. For details on what the Library is doing to help keep you safe visit https://libguides.oneonta.edu/continuity/health-and-safety

Menu

 

Getting Help

Do you want to check out a book? Get help with an assignment or research? Meet with a librarian? Learn about library hours or services?  

In the Library

Visit our friendly experts at the Library's Reference and Circulation desks, both located on the first floor of the library.

Online

Library Help chat service provides live, real-time online help and expertise.  Whether you are in the library or online, Library Help is a best bet for getting immediate support with any library question. After hours and anytime, the ever-expanding Library Help FAQ knowledge base has answers to a broad array of questions plus the opportunity to submit your own question.  Visit Library Help at https://oneonta.libanswers.com/.

Phone

For reference and general questions, call the Library Reference Desk at 607.436.2722.

 

Fall 2021 Hours

Student Arrival & Orientation --- Wednesday, August 18 – Saturday August 21

  • Wednesday, August 18 – Friday, August 20                        7:30 AM – 4:30 PM
  • Saturday, August 21 – Sunday, August 22                          Noon – 6:00 PM

Classes begin Monday, August 23

REGULAR SEMESTER HOURS

  • Monday – Thursday                                                            7:30 AM – 12:00 AM
  • Friday                                                                                  7:30 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Saturday                                                                              10:00 AM – 7:00 PM
  • Sunday                                                                                Noon – 12:00 AM

Labor Day Weekend --- Friday, September 3 – Monday, September 6

  • Friday, September 3                                                            7:30 AM – 4:30 PM
  • Saturday, September 4 – Monday, September 6                 CLOSED
  • Tuesday, September 7                                                         Resume Regular Hours

Fall Weekend --- Friday, October 8 – Tuesday, October 12

  • Friday, October 8                                                               7:30 AM – 4:30 PM
  • Saturday, October 9 – Monday, October 11                      CLOSED
  • Tuesday, October 12                                                          Resume Regular Hours

November Recess --- Tuesday, November 23 – Monday, November 29

  • Tuesday, November 23                                                        7:30 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wednesday, November 24                                                   7:30 AM – 4:30 PM
  • Thursday, November 25 – Saturday, November 27            CLOSED
  • Sunday, November 28                                                         6:00 PM – 12:00 AM
  • Monday, November 29                                                        Resume Regular Hours

For more details visit https://suny.oneonta.edu/milne-library/about/hours.

 

Visiting the Library

We look forward to seeing you in the library!  Access into the library will be by card-access only using campus ID for all SUNY Oneonta students, faculty, and staff.  Sponsored guests (those that have completed the established College sponsored guests procedures) are welcome.

While in the Library, you will wear a face covering or mask that covers both nose and mouth at all times, and comply with library staff requests to adhere to all College guidelines and policies. 

Food and drink  With some noted exceptions, food and drink are permitted in the library.  Masks are to be worn when not actively eating or drinking.

Meetings, appointments and events We offer meetings, appointments and events in all modalities.   For details visit https://suny.oneonta.edu/milne-library/contact. 

Sponsored Guests For information about sponsored guests please email Head of Reference & Instruction Mary Lynn Bensen MaryL.Bensen@oneonta.edu.

 

Study Spaces

A variety of comfortable study zones and spaces are available throughout the Library.

Study rooms rooms of varying sizes serving 4 to 8 students. To reserve a room visit https://oneonta.libcal.com/reserve/group-study-rooms.  

Faculty Carrels for single occupants; to learn more and submit your application visit https://libguides.oneonta.edu/carrels.  Applications will be accepted beginning August 23, 2021.

 

Collections

Library Discovery Service The Library has extensive online, book, and other material collections to support teaching, learning and research. Featured on the Library homepage, our Library Discovery Service is a single-search box featured on the library homepage that provides a dynamic search and discovery experience of the Library’s online and print collections. To connect with our collections, visit https://bit.ly/library-discovery

Virtual Browsing The serendipity and discovery of books while browsing is a valuable research activity.  Even while the stacks are open, virtual browsing and discovery is available. For details on virtual browsing visit https://oneonta.libanswers.com/faq/319961

Open Stacks Book shelving stacks on the first, second, and third floors are open. Note: the sub-basement level of the library will be open limited hours. See ‘Borrowing’ below or visit https://oneonta.libanswers.com/faq/291467.  

Borrowing Library Materials 

Faculty, students and staff may select books from the stacks and bring them to the circulation desk for checkout as usual, or  use Remote Check Out to request books and other library materials to be retrieved by library staff and held at the circulation desk for pick up.

How does borrowing work? 

  1. Find an item using the library discovery service (make sure it says Available at Milne Library….). 

  1. Go to Get It! and select Request Item for Remote Check Out. 

  1. The item will be collected for you and you will be notified by email when it is available for pick up. Pick up location is the Main Circulation Desk. 

  1. Library items can be returned at any time through the book drops located at the Circulation Desk or on the exterior of the Milne Library building (to the right of the main front entrance, central to the rear entrance).  

Reference Collections  Books in our first floor Reference Collection are available for in-house use. Reference books in the subbasement are available for 10 day circulation.

Periodicals Collection Journals and newspapers in our periodical collection are available for use in the library.  

 

Course Reserves

Course reserves are course materials that instructors have asked the Library to make easily accessible to students online or in the library.  

Electronic Reserves (e-Reserves) For online course readings and educational resources, our online collections include myriad eBooks, databases, online journals, streaming video and other resources.   

For students: Go to Library E-Reserves at https://libguides.oneonta.edu/er.php?b=c.  Also, some instructors make their e-Reserves available in Blackboard. 

For Faculty: Instructors make requests online at https://libguides.oneonta.edu/er_request.php.  

Learn more and see e-Reserves policy and guidelines at https://libguides.oneonta.edu/e-reserves

Print and Physical Reserves Faculty must fill out a Reserve Request Form for each item you wish to have placed on reserve. Forms are available at the Circulation/Reserve Desk. All forms should be completed as fully and accurately as possible to ensure that reserve materials will be easily accessible to your students.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Do you need a book or article that we don't have?  Get it using Interlibrary Loan.  Interlibrary Loan services expand the range of research materials available for research, instruction and scholarship. Materials which are not owned by the Library may be obtained from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. To request print and electronic materials via our Interlibrary Loan service, login to ILLiad at https://illiad.oneonta.edu/illiad/

 

Reference and Instructional Services

Reference Service Librarians provide reference and research assistance mask-to-mask in the library, and virtually via chat, email or phone at https://oneonta.libanswers.com/. For details of mask-to-mask reference service in the library, visit https://suny.oneonta.edu/milne-library/services/reference-and-instruction-services.  

Library Instruction The Library's instruction program supports the teaching mission by educating students for academic success and lifelong learning. Librarians work with instructors to provide information literacy and library research instruction. Library instruction will be delivered in the library classroom, synchronously online, dual modality, or by asynchronous instruction utilizing online course guides and resources. Email Michelle Hendley at  Michelle.Hendley@oneonta.edu.   

Research Consultation Reference librarians are available for personal research consultations regarding specialized resources, specific assignments or other research needs. Consultations will be conducted in-person, or online via Teams or Ask-A-Librarian email at https://bit.ly/milne-ask or, for walk-in sessions, mask-to-mask in the library. Request a research consultation using this form https://bit.ly/milne-research-consult.  

Research and Course Guides are online library pathfinders that bring together the best research databases, scholarly journals, and more, plus tips for doing effective research in the discipline, subject or topic, and contact information for getting help from a subject librarian.  Access Library Research and Course Guides https://libguides.oneonta.edu/

Online Research Tutorials Our Research Paper Help guide provides research instruction, demonstration and best practices that will help you successfully navigate the Library's collections. Visit https://libguides.oneonta.edu/helpwithresearch

 

Special Collections & Archives

Milne Library’s Special Collections and Archives collects, organizes, interprets, preserves, and provides access to unique and rare materials that enhance and encourage research and learning.  

For more information please see the Alden Room’s Fall 2021 guide at https://libguides.oneonta.edu/spec or email Heather Stalter at Heather.Stalter@oneonta.edu.