General Databases
These databases are general sources useful for many diverse research questions, they might be helpful in doing research for your upcoming assignments. The following databases look slightly different but at their core are searchable in the same way the library catalog is. If you should have any questions about using any of the following databases, please do not hesitate to contact your library.
Note: For a complete list of Databases available to you from the Milne Library, visit the Databases page of the library's homepage.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
-
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Search reference sources across disciplines. Includes historical timelines, multimedia, selected magazine articles, notable quotations, and a dictionary and thesaurus.
-
Cambridge Core Ebooks & Journals This link opens in a new window
Search for e-books, e-journals, and articles across many subjects. Includes some open access content.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an online searchable reference collection of over 690 sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and almanacs, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers in context. Reference sources also include images, sound files, animations, charts, maps, and other materials.
-
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new windowDOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.
-
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of peer-reviewed, open access journals from around the world. Articles are freely available and cover a wide range of subjects—ideal for finding credible sources for essays, research papers, and projects.
-
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
-
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Search and discover overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
-
Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.
-
Oxford Academic Ebooks & Journals This link opens in a new window
Search for ebooks, e-journals, and articles across many subject areas. Some content is open access.
