Earth and Atmospheric Sciences-Specific Databases
These databases contain specialized sources that might be useful in researching for Earth and Atmospheric Sciences courses. These databases all look slightly different but at their core are searchable in the same way the library catalog is. If you should have any questions about using any of the following databases, please do not hesitate to contact your library.
- Agricola This link opens in a new window
Search bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, which includes millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
- Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Access current and authoritative periodical content covering agriculture and its related fields.
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for thousands of journals related to technology, applied science, and computer science. Full-text is available for about 1200 journals. Coverage is from 1912 to the present.
- Energy & Power Source This link opens in a new window
A full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. Coverage of coal, electric power, natural gas, hydrofracking, nuclear power, petroleum, and renewable energy (hydroelectric, wind, solar, alternative fuels, etc.)
- Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
Search for information about environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present.
- Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
Search information about the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowAvailable through GeoScienceWorld. Contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes access to millions of indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature. Coverage is from 1669 to the present.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Addresses human impacts on the environment. Offers indexing and abstracts for about 300,000 records. Some full-text. Coverage is from about 1915 to the present.
Can be used for course content: Extensive full-text content. - Maps of New York: Paul Baumann Archive260 maps --USGS (United States Geological Survey) 15 Minute Quadrangle series of New York State. Over the years many of the maps in this series have deteriorated due to usage and time and other maps have just disappeared. These maps were produced between 1895 and 1955 and predate the current 7 ½ Minute Quadrangle series. They represent a great geographical and historical resource for understanding the nature of the state and its many communities. Open access
- Salem Science This link opens in a new window
Reference sources currently available: Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society, Environmental Issues, Encyclopedia of Global Resources, Encyclopedia of Global Warming.
- Science
Full-text access to Science, 1997-current issue and Tables of Contents of current issues and back issues.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.
- Sustainability Ebook Collection This link opens in a new windowSustainability e-books is the first comprehensive collection focused on key aspects of education for sustainable development into every degree program. Mapped to the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), this new collection enables students and researchers to explore global issues from multiple avenues to prepare the next generation of leaders for the sustainability challenges and opportunities of tomorrow.
