Finding Articles using the Library's Databases
Databases provide access to articles and other information; sometimes the full text is available but sometimes only the abstract and citation information are available (in which case you can request the item through interlibrary loan). Databases can include access to peer-reviewed articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, etc. Some are specialized by topic, and some are interdisciplinary. Milne Library subscribes to hundreds of databases. Those listed below can be a good place to start for your work in this class:
- Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Search information about hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and the history of education. Indexing and abstracts for about 1800 journals; full-text for about 350 journals. Coverage is from 1955 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 1400 core scholarly journals and e-books across most subject areas.
Can be used for course content: Titles from many university presses and other academic publishers. - The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Search over 200 years of The Times (London), an invaluable historical source widely considered to be the world's ‘newspaper of record.’
