HIST 4690: Research Seminar (Ashbaugh) Fall 2022

A thorough update of the standard bibliography of American foreign relations literature from colonial times to the present day. * Nearly 20,000 fully annotated bibliographical entries on topics such as the Mexican Revolution, pan-Americanism, wartime diplomacy, the German threat, and more Includes three analytical indexes to guide users to entry information, contributors, and significant individuals Also includes biographical studies on individuals such as John Barrett, William Jennings Bryan, and Theodore Roosevelt.

Produced in collaboration with the Council on Foreign Relations, this comprehensive four-volume reference work examines the political, economic, military, and cultural interactions of the federal government and the American people with nations and peoples abroad. It includes more than 1,000 signed, alphabetically arranged entries, ranging from brief biographical sketches to major essays on critical issues of U.S. foreign policy.

Looking at American foreign policy from a historical viewpoint, Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy details U.S. foreign affairs from the American Revolution up through the present day, with concise yet insightful information on important people, groups and organizations, events, legislation, and foreign policy-related topics.

At no time in American history has an understanding of the role and the art of diplomacy in international relations been more essential than it is today. Both the history of U.S. diplomatic relations and the current U.S. foreign policy in the twenty-first century are major topics of study and interest across the nation and around the world. Spanning the entire history of American diplomacy--from the First Continental Congress to the war on terrorism to the foreign policy goals of the twenty-first century--Guide to U.S. Foreign Policy traces not only the growth and development of diplomatic policies and traditions but also the shifts in public opinion that shape diplomatic trends. This comprehensive, two-volume reference shows how the United States gained "the strength of a giant" and also analyzes key world events that have determined the United States' changing relations with other nations. The two volumes' structure makes the key concepts and issues accessible to researchers: The set is broken up into seven parts that feature 40 topical and historical chapters in which expert writers cover the diplomatic initiatives of the United States from colonial times through the present day. Volume II's appendix showcases an A-to-Z handbook of diplomatic terms and concepts, organizations, events, and issues in American foreign policy. The appendix also includes a master bibliography and a list of presidents; secretaries of state, war, and defense; and national security advisers and their terms of service. This unique reference highlights the changes in U.S. diplomatic policy as government administrations and world events influenced national decisions. Topics include imperialism, economic diplomacy, environmental diplomacy, foreign aid, wartime negotiations, presidential influence, NATO and its role in the twenty-first century, and the response to terrorism. Additional featured topics include the influence of the American two-party system, the impact of U.S. elections, and the role of the United States in international organizations. Guide to U.S. Foreign Policy is the first comprehensive reference work in this field that is both historical and thematic. This work is of immense value for researchers, students, and others studying foreign policy, international relations, and U.S history. ABOUT THE EDITORS Robert J. McMahon is the Ralph D. Mershon Professor of History in the Mershon Center for International Security Studies at The Ohio State University. He is a leading historian of American diplomatic history and is author of several books on U.S. foreign relations.   Thomas W. Zeiler is professor of history and international affairs at the University of Colorado at Boulder and is the executive editor of the journal Diplomatic History.

This two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more. Each article, specially commissioned for this book, goes beyond basic facts to provide readers with crucial context, expert analysis, and informed perspectives on the evolution of American politics. Written by more than 170 leading historians and social scientists, The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History gives students, scholars, and researchers authoritative introductions to the subject's most important topics and a first step to further research.