Subject Librarian
Philosophy-specific Databases
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowDatabase for theology and philosophy research that includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
- Gale OneFile: Religion & Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Search and discover the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.
- Philosopher's IndexProvides indexing and author-written abstracts for about 680 scholarly international philosophy journals. Also offers coverage of anthologies and book reviews. Includes journals from about 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages. Coverage is from 1940 to the present. Links to some full-text.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Search the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Articles can be browsed alphabetically or by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full text entries can be searched by keyword, contributor, or bibliography.
- Archives Unbound: Religious Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of Religious Studies.
Online Resources
The following online resources contain more background information about philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An excellent resource for undergraduate students. Entries have extensive bibliographies.
The Galileo Project
A resource from Rice University about the life and work of Galileo.
Project Gutenberg
This resource has free texts from philosophers such as Plato and Aristotle.
General Databases
This list of databases are general databases that include resources from across most disciplines and subjects. They may be a good starting point for your research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Search reference sources across disciplines. Includes historical timelines, multimedia, selected magazine articles, notable quotations, and a dictionary and thesaurus.
- Ebook Central Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 150,000 multidisciplinary ebooks.
- Academic Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 full-text e-books in categories including adult fiction and non-fiction, art, biography, business, economics, computer science, education, medicine, history, literature, philosophy, political science, psychology, and reference. Downloadable to portable devices.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database provide full-text access to thousands of academic journals and e-books across most subject areas.