Scholarly Communications & Open Access

Bioline International is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries.

A repository of more than 30,000 full-text articles, papers, books, photographs, audio recordings, and other multimedia materials published by the CLACSO network. Subject areas are focused on social sciences. (Primarily in Spanish)

Discover and access millions of artworks, artifacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.

An open access database of scholarly journals, established by the Ministry of National Education of France. (Primarily in French)

A database of open access research journals from 500 institutions representing 22 Ibero-American countries. (Primarily in Spanish)

Best practices document on the use of images in educational contexts. Provides six situations in which the visual resources community believes the use of images constitutes fair use. For each, suggestions are offered to strengthen educators' fair use claims.

From the Visual Resources Association, "The Digital Image Rights Computator is intended to assist the user in assessing the intellectual property status of a specific image documenting a work of art, a designed object, or a portion of the built environment. Understanding the presence or absence of rights in the various aspects of a given image will allow the user to make informed decisions regarding the intended educational uses of that image."

Wikimedia Commons is a database of millions of freely usable media files. Some files are in the public domain, while others are licensed with Creative Commons licenses.

Allows a search of Creative Commons-licensed content on Flickr.

Usage rights can be specified in the search criteria, allowing results to be limited to a variety of open licenses.

Find government photos and images by topic. Some photos are in the public domain or are U.S. government works which may be used without permission or fee. Other images images may be protected by license or copyright.

The DPLA serves as a portal to the openly available, digitized contents of America’s libraries, archives, and museums. It indexes materials in all formats.

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Most material is not protected by copyright.

Open access to images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more. Rights status is not provided for every item; images may be protected by copyright.

Digital archive of over two million images, texts, sounds, and videos from libraries, museums, and archives across Europe.

Google Arts and Culture is an online platform through which users can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums.

This issue brief from the Library Copyright Alliance examines the permissibility of the streaming of entire films to a remote, non-classroom location.

Statement of principles from the University of California Los Angeles faculty on the use of streaming technologies for instruction.

Online library of free movies, films, and videos. Contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users. These include classic full-length films, news broadcasts, cultural and academic films, commercials, cartoons, and concerts. These videos are in the public domain or are available with Creative Commons reuse rights.

The DPLA serves as a portal to the openly available, digitized contents of America’s libraries, archives, and museums. It indexes materials in all formats.

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Most material is not protected by copyright.

Digital archive of over two million images, texts, sounds, and videos from libraries, museums, and archives across Europe.

List created by IMDB.com user olicool10 of "films that certain cited sources believe are in the public domain in the United States." An addition to the list is available at http://www.imdb.com/list/i7iwnmMTuLQ/.

Wikimedia Commons is a database of millions of freely usable media files. Some files are in the public domain, while others are licensed with Creative Commons licenses.

The official YouTube channel of the U.S. Government, linking to videos across government. Most content produced by the government falls in the public domain.

After performing a search for video content, you can "filter" by Creative Commons license to find content with reuse rights.

The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities. "The Open Video repository provides video clips from a variety of sources, especially various video programs obtained from U.S. government agencies such as the U.S. Records and Archives Administration and NASA. Although the government agency videos were produced with public funds and are freely available from the Archives, no copyright clearance has been obtained for audio or video elements in these productions. We encourage researchers to use the data under fair use for research purposes."