Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access & Scholarly Communication

How do you access and share research? 

Scholarly Publication Cycle: create, evaluate, publish, disseminate, preserve, reuseThe formal and informal ways that scholars create, review, and disseminate scholarship is the heart of scholarly communication (ACRL). 

There are many services at SUNY Oneonta and James M. Milne Library to support our faculty throughout the scholarly communication process -- see the table of options below.

Do you want to discuss your own publishing needs? Contact our Scholarly Communications Librarian at Jennifer.Jensen@oneonta.edu for a consultation.

 

Scholarly Communication Services @ SUNY Oneonta

CREATE  PUBLISH DISSEMINATE & PRESERVE REUSE & APPLY

Get faculty grant support at the

Grants Development Office

Learn to avoid 

predatory journals

Deposit articles in our 

SUNY Open Access Repository (SOAR)

Connect to our 

OER Initiative 

Access research compliance and
survey support at: 

Office of Sponsored Programs

Office of Institutional Research

Consider your 

Open Access options

Share your research on campus via

Life of the Mind

Faculty Convivium

Faculty Center events

Access journals & databases through

Milne Library

Fund student projects with 

Student research grants 

Retain your

Author rights

Celebrate your students' work at 

SRCA Day

Search for Open Access articles at

UnPaywall

Directory of Open Access Journals

Ask a librarian for

research support

   

Use Open Access 

images, audio, & video

 

Open Access or OA 

Open Access is an umbrella term for a variety of publishing models that allow published works (typically scholarly journal articles and conference proceedings) to be made freely available online (libre and gratis). Often the open lock symbol Orange Open Lock Symbol for Open Access indicates that a work is published under an OA model.

Green, Gold, and Platinum

Green OA is a model that allows an author to deposit a pre- or post-print in an institutional repository (IR).  IR content is indexed by search engines like Google Scholar and discoverable to a worldwide audience.

Gold OA is a model from publisher's that requires the author(s) pay the cost of publishing and allows the Version of Record to be distributed online in a free (Gratis) manner through journal websites, library subscription databases, or online search engines. 

Platinum OA is a model like Gold OA where the Version of Record can be distributed online in a free/Gratis manner, but the cost of publishing is passed along to a third party, like a sponsoring university or corporation.

Additional Terms

Pre-print (a submitted Manuscript that is under review): This is the version of the article you submitted to the journal i.e. prior to peer review.

Post-print (aka the author's Accepted Manuscript): This is the version of the article accepted for publication i.e. after peer review. This is your copy, not the final publisher version.

Version of Record: The final, published version of your article, often in PDF format with the journal's style and branding.

Libre vs. Gratis - Gratis OA is a term that means for free (removal of price barriers), while Libre OA means free (removal of price barriers) and free of most copyright restrictions (removal of permissions barriers). 

Led by academic libraries and information activists, the Open Access (OA) movement provides an alternative: a bridge to to open scholarship, no matter your institutional ties. OA expands the content that is available across access barriers, and is gaining ground in the scholarly community.

OA resources will be available to you after you leave SUNY Oneonta. For more information on open access at SUNY Oneonta, see the Open Access website.

As you engage in your research, explore the following OA repositories:

BASE Logo

BASE is a vast cross-disciplinary international metasearch for OA content.

DOAJ

The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals and aims to cover all subjects and all languages.

OpenDOAR Logo

OpenDoar is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. From University of Nottingham, UK.

ROAR Logo

ROAR provides up-to-date visual access to a huge database of open access repositories.