Course or Subject Guides
Librarians create Research Guides for SUNY Oneonta disciplines and subjects to provide selected best resources and tips for doing effective research and discovering articles, books, and more. We can work with faculty to develop customized Course Guides.
Library Resources as Course Materials
Library resources are another option for course materials that are freely available to students and faculty. These can include eBooks, streaming video and journal articles. Explore the links in this guide and contact your librarian for more information.
Database Content for Course Materials
These research databases can be used for alternative/ affordable course content — free or low-cost alternatives to high-cost educational resources. This includes course modules, textbooks, videos, tests, journal articles, assessment tools, and any other materials used to support learning.
Looking for a specific book, article, or other item? Try Simple Search
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of streaming video, covering history, anthropology, education, art, diversity studies, business, music, literature, performing arts, psychology, counseling, science, world languages and more.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Database provides access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. It covers all regions of the world, with in-depth content from pre-history to the present day.
- Ebook Central Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 150,000 multidisciplinary ebooks.
- Academic Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 full-text ebooks in categories including adult fiction and non-fiction, art, biography, business, economics, computer science, education, medicine, history, literature, philosophy, political science, psychology, and reference. Downloadable to portable devices.
Can be used for course content: eBooks from academic publishers in all subject disciplines. - Everyday Life & Women in America, c. 1800-1920 This link opens in a new window
Database contains unique primary source materials for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Explore documents from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University and The New York Public Library.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Database contains thousands of full-length programs and streaming video segments in the humanities, social sciences, business, economics, medicine, mathematics, and sciences from producers including Cambridge Educational, BBC, CNBC, National Geographic, TEDTalks, and PBS.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Database contains indexing and abstracts for about 300,000 records related to the impact of humans on the environment from about 1915 to the present. Some full-text.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Database containing more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents with more than 2,400 law-related periodicals. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and more.
- History Commons This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of historical American newspapers, books, and journals, covering American History, African American Studies, Women’s History, the Civil War, and Genealogy. Formerly known as Accessible Archives, this database provides vast quantities of primary source materials reflecting broad views across 18th and 19th-century America.
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Database contains a collection of documents related to United States homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is part of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA.
- Making of America
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subjects include education, psychology, history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
- Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Database of evidence and knowledge-based nutrition information for dietitians from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
- Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Digital resource includes the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Race Relations Department at Fisk University from 1943-1970, including Charles S. Johnson and Thurgood Marshall, that document three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights,
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Comprehensive legal research database on slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world. It includes colonial and state statutes, federal laws, and court cases—some extending into the 20th century. Ideal for students of history, law, and social justice, it explores slavery’s legal framework and lasting impact.
- Springer Nature Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly e-books across science, medicine, technology, humanities, and social science disciplines, including over 20,000 full-text titles.
Can be used for course content: eBooks from academic publishers in STEM disciplines. - Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Search over 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries representing leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Can be used for course content: Excellent drama and theatre streaming video. - Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition)
Contains books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities and social movements from 1600-2000.
Can be used for course content: Excellent primary source collections.
E-Books for Course Content
Begin discovering eBooks using eBooks Search Everything. eBook collections can be browsed through various subscription databases, linked below.
- Ebook Central Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 150,000 multidisciplinary ebooks.
- Academic Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 full-text ebooks in categories including adult fiction and non-fiction, art, biography, business, economics, computer science, education, medicine, history, literature, philosophy, political science, psychology, and reference. Downloadable to portable devices.
Can be used for course content: eBooks from academic publishers in all subject disciplines.
- Springer Ebook CollectionsEbook collection covering many subjects but primarily science. Over 20,000 titles. Fully integrated in the Oneonta "Search Everything" interface. Chapters are downloadable to computers, tablets, and other portable devices.
- Ebooks at MilneHow to access and download ebooks from Milne ebook collections.
- Internet Archive Ebook and Texts Archive"Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books. The collection is open to the community for the contribution of any type of text, many licensed using Creative Commons licenses."
Streaming Video for Course Content
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of streaming video, covering history, anthropology, education, art, diversity studies, business, music, literature, performing arts, psychology, counseling, science, world languages and more.
- Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
A subset of VAST Academic Video Online. Provides about five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ is a digital streaming platform that provides access to over 400 productions, including dramatic texts, poetry, and performance.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Database contains thousands of full-length programs and streaming video segments in the humanities, social sciences, business, economics, medicine, mathematics, and sciences from producers including Cambridge Educational, BBC, CNBC, National Geographic, TEDTalks, and PBS.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public and academic libraries that offers films, TV shows and documentaries.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Search over 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries representing leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Can be used for course content: Excellent drama and theatre streaming video.
Use library-licensed resources
Information about using Library-licensed Resources in Courses
The Milne Library purchases and subscribes to electronic resources including online journals, eBooks, and research databases. These resources are governed by license agreements, most of which allow the licensed material to be used for educational purposes by "authorized users." Authorized users are typically defined as Oneonta students, faculty, staff, and and walk-in users of the library.
Most license agreements allow authorized users to:
- Download, print, and save single copies of items for their personal use
- Incorporate links to items in electronic course packs, reserves and course management systems, and instructor websites
- Provide single print or electronic copies of individual items to other authorized users for noncommercial educational purposes (including to each student in a class at Oneonta).
- Provide single print or electronic copies of individual items to third-party colleagues for scholarly, educational, or research use
Using library-licensed resources for online courses avoids the need to perform fair use analysis or to seek permission from rightsholders.
When using library-licensed resources, be sure to:
- Use the link to the resource provided in Milne Library Search, located below. This will ensure that students who are off-campus can access the material.
- Alternatively, consider submitting your materials to the library's electronic Course Reserves and we'll double check your links and make all your digital course materials available in one place!
- Use the materials for courses offered through SUNY Oneonta only.
- Milne Library SearchDiscover books, videos, online resources and more available through Milne Library.