Use reference sources as a starting point
Reference sources provide an overview or summary of your topic and are ideal to use when starting a research project. Reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases. etc.
Print Reference Sources
Print reference resources are currently located on the sub-basement and the 2nd floor in the Milne Library.
Most used reference books are listed in the next column for your information. You can find more on the library website. The step-by-step reference collection search instruction is available to download below.
Online Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of GeographyComprehensive online encyclopedia
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Search reference sources across disciplines. Includes historical timelines, multimedia, selected magazine articles, notable quotations, and a dictionary and thesaurus.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
Most Used Print Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Exploration by Call Number: REF G80 .W33 2004ISBN: 0816046786Publication Date: 2004-12-31
The Geography of Southeast Asia by Call Number: REF Z3221 .R86 2010ISBN: 0761850090Publication Date: 2010-04-07
National Geographic Almanac of Geography by Call Number: REF G123 .N37 2005ISBN: 079223877XPublication Date: 2005-09-01
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by Call Number: REF G63 .W67 2007ISBN: 9781414410890Publication Date: 2006-11-06
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Call Number: REF GT2850 .E53 2003ISBN: 0684805685Publication Date: 2002-12-17
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts by Call Number: REF GN496 E56 2016ISBN: 9781610695527Publication Date: 2015-12-01
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures by Call Number: REF GN307 .E53 1991ISBN: 0816118124Publication Date: 1992-05-15
Feet and Footwear by Call Number: REF GT2130 .D45 2009ISBN: 9780313357145Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Marriage Customs of the World by Call Number: REF GT2690 .M65 2004ISBN: 1576079872Publication Date: 2004-11-23
Peoples, Nations and Cultures by Call Number: REF GN316 .P384 2005ISBN: 0304365505Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Call Number: REF GN333 .W67 1998ISBN: 0787605522Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Encyclopedia of American Environmental History by Call Number: REF GE150 .E53 2011ISBN: 9780816067930Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Encyclopedia of Environmental Change by Call Number: REF GE149 E442 2014ISBN: 9781446247112Publication Date: 2014-02-21
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy by Call Number: REF GE42 .E533 2009ISBN: 9780028661377Publication Date: 2008-10-15
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues by Call Number: EBookISBN: 9781587657351Publication Date: 2011-05-20
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by Call Number: REF QC981.8.G56 E47 2012ISBN: 9781412992619Publication Date: 2012-07-10
Encyclopedia of the Environment by Call Number: REF GE10 .E53 1994ISBN: 0395550416Publication Date: 1994-08-09
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History by Call Number: REF GF10 .E63 2004ISBN: 0415937329Publication Date: 2003-10-31
Environmental Encyclopedia by Call Number: REF GE10 .E38 2003ISBN: 0787654868Publication Date: 2002-11-01
Atlas of ExplorationCall Number: REF ATLAS CASE G1036.S12 G4 2008ISBN: 9780195343182Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Connecticut, Rhode Island atlas & gazetteer by Call Number: REF G1240 .D4 1999ISBN: 0899332072Publication Date: 1999
Historical Atlas of Islam by Call Number: REF G1786.S1 R9 2004ISBN: 0674013859Publication Date: 2004-05-28
National Geographic Historical Atlas of the United States by Call Number: REF G1201.S1 F5 2004ISBN: 0792261313Publication Date: 2004-12-01
New Hampshire Atlas and Gazetteer by Call Number: G1220 .D34 2005ISBN: 0899332420Publication Date: 2005-01-01
New Jersey Atlas and Gazetteer by Call Number: REF G1255 .D4 1999ISBN: 0899333249Publication Date: 1999
