Google Scholar Search
Locating Online Resources
Electronic articles can be searched through our databases. There are some general databases and some subject specific databases. To access the databases, click on the database tab on the library homepage. You can then browse through them alphabetically, or browse by discipline (i.e., gender studies, history, etc.).
Search Everything
The library has a search feature called "Search Everything". This is the default search on the library's homepage. Using this tool can be difficult and overwhelming because it searches nearly everything the library has access to, including items in the physical collection as well as resources in our databases.
To effectively search with this feature, use the limiters on the left hand side to narrow down your search results. You can also use the advanced search feature.
If the library does not have access to a particular article, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Geography Databases
Specialized subject databases sometimes contain articles not found in Search Everything or General Databases.
- Encyclopedia of GeographyComprehensive online encyclopedia
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present.
- Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
Search for information about environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.
- Agricola This link opens in a new window
Search bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, which includes millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowFull-text cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Organized into cultures and ethnic groups.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Database contains indexing and abstracts for about 300,000 records related to the impact of humans on the environment from about 1915 to the present. Some full-text.
- Maps of New York: Paul Baumann Archive260 maps --USGS (United States Geological Survey) 15 Minute Quadrangle series of New York State. Over the years many of the maps in this series have deteriorated due to usage and time and other maps have just disappeared. These maps were produced between 1895 and 1955 and predate the current 7 ½ Minute Quadrangle series. They represent a great geographical and historical resource for understanding the nature of the state and its many communities. Open access.