Finding Articles in the Library Databases
The following databases all look slightly different but at their core are searchable the same way that the Library Catalog is. If you need help searching any of these databases, please do not hesitate to contact your library!
Note: Be careful with what types of sources you are citing, as these resources may include scholarly, professional, or popular sources. When in doubt, as your professor if the source is appropriate for your assignment!
Suggested Databases
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers criminology, criminal justice, corrections and prisons, police and policing, forensic sciences and investigation, history of crime, substance abuse, probation, and parole. Contains over 200,000 records. Coverage is from 1910 to the present.
- Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Search comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.
News Sources
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
All students and faculty have unlimited access to The New York Times digital platforms, including personalized user experience, live coverage of breaking news, access to NYT articles between 1851-current, access to the International edition and Canadian, Chinese, and Spanish editions, full access to the NYT Learning Network, and access to the InEducation resource that helps faculty bring current events into the classroom. This resource includes access to archival content and replaces Historical New York Times and New York Times Archive.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, international daily newspaper published six days a week. WSJ Digital provides personalized access to all WSJ digital products, including WSJ tablet app, full WSJ.com access, WSJ smartphone app, and a WSJ+ membership for all students, faculty, and staff.
First time access for users requires sign up at: WSJ.com/SUNYOneonta
Additional Information for New York Times and the Wall Street Journal:
- Directions for the first time you access the New York Times, can be found at: How to Activate your New York Times Digital Subscription?
- The first time you access the Wall Street Journal, you will need to sign up at: WSJ.com/SUNYOneonta