For academic research, it is often important to use peer reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer-review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is Past and Present. An example of a popular magazine is People.
All of the following databases are listed on the web site alphabetically by title under the tab Databases. Databases are categorized under All Subjects.
Database Covering History
America: History and Life
Indexes publications on Canadian and American history with selected full text.
Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History
Academic OneFile
Indexes about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas from 1980 to the present.
Provides full text for selected scholarly journals and popular magazines across the disciplines.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Full text of journals available from publishers supporting open access.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals in the ethnic and minority press.
Provides access to the full text of scholarly journals in many subject areas, but excludes coverage for the last 3-5 years.
Periodicals Archive Online
Includes full text of journals that span 200 years in the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse
Provides full text of journal articles in the social sciences and humanities and updates coverage of selected journals included in JSTOR.
Databases Covering Women’s and Gender Studies
Gender Studies Collection (Gale)
Includes full text of popular and scholarly sources in the area of gender studies.
GenderWatch
Provides selected full text of journals, newsletters and research reports on studies of women and gender.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Offers a record of women’s reform and social movements in books, images, documents, scholarly essays, and bibliographies.