Reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, chronologies) are valuable sources of information.
Selected Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks
Cambridge Histories Online Under Databases on library website
Complete text of over 350 scholarly texts in the Cambridge History Series. Each title is also listed individually in the library's online catalog. Dates vary. Some titles are available in print.
| American Civil War | Ref E 456 E47 1996 SB |
| Library of Congress Civil War Desk Reference |
Ref E 468 L58 2002 |
| Civil War Naval Encyclopedia | Ref E 591 C53 2011 |
| Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery | Ref E 441 D53 1988 SB |
| Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895 v.3 | Ref E 185 E545 2006 |
| Encyclopedia of the American Civil War | Ref E 468 E53 2000 |
| Encyclopedia of the Confederacy | Ref E 487 E55 1993 SB |
| Historical Dictionary of the Civil War | Ref E 468 J777 2002 SB |
| Historical Times Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Civil War |
Ref E 468 H57 1986 SB |
| New York Times Complete Civil War | Ref E 464 N49 2010 |
| Political Lincoln: An Encyclopedia | Ref E 457.2 P65 2009 |
| Women during the Civil War |
Ref E 628 H37 2007 |
Biographies
|
American National Biography Includes entries on major national figures in American history. |
Ref CT 213 A68 1999 |
|
Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy Includes biographical sketches and chronology of events. |
Ref E 467 W2 SB |
|
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Provides citations to short entries in biographical resources. |
Under Databases on library website |
Statistics
|
Historical Statistics of the United States Covers from 1600 to the present. |
Under Databases on library website |
Chronology
| Every Day of the Civil War | Ref E 468.3 H35 2010 |