Databases
Databases provide access to articles and other information; sometimes the full text is available but sometimes only the abstract and citation information are available (in which case you can request the item through interlibrary loan). Databases can include access to peer-reviewed articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, etc. Some are specialized by topic, and some are interdisciplinary. Milne Library subscribes to hundreds of databases. Those listed below are a good start for your work in this class, but you can also see the full listing by clicking on the Databases tab from the library's website.
In order to search the databases that the library subscribes to, you must access them through the library's website. If you are accessing them remotely, you will be asked to log in. Please contact me if you have any problems accessing any of the databases.
Video Tutorial
For a quick overview of Academic Search Complete, watch the short and information-packed video below. Many of the tips and tricks you'll learn in this video can be applied to other databases, including those below!
General Databases
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Search and discover overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
- Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search and discover general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
Communication Databases
- Gale OneFile: Communications & Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
Newspaper Databases
- Newspaper Source PlusIncludes over 850 full-text U.S. and international newspapers as well as over 800,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Seaarch major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.