Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EHIS 234 (HISE 4534) The British Imperial Experience (Hendley) Spring 2022 234-01

Librarian: Mary Lynn Bensen

Finding Copies of Periodical Articles

Locating the full text of an article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, the full text of the article might be available in another database.  Try searching for the journal title in the Journals tab on the library web site.  Follow link(s) to listed database(s).  If the article is unavailable in any database, request the article through the Interlibrary Loan link either in the database record of on the library’s web site. 

Locating the full text in print or microform:

            Note specific issues available in Milne Library.  Periodicals are located in the library’s sub-basement, which is open until 6:00               p.m. Sunday through Thursday, until 5:00 p.m. on Friday, and until 7:00 p.m. on Saturday.  When the sub-basement is closed,               you need to request the particular title and issue at the Circulation Desk. 

  • Use the Journals tab at the top of the library home page.
    • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Past and Present in thesearch box.  The title of the periodical, if available, will appear at the top of the results list.  Click on the title of the periodical.
    • If the title is available in a database, link to the appropriate database where you can search for the article needed.  Check dates of coverage to determine if full text for the needed article is available. 
    • If the title is available in print or microfilm, see above for directions.