Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EHIS 234 (HISE 4534) The British Imperial Experience (Hendley) Spring 2022 234-01

Librarian: Mary Lynn Bensen

Finding Secondary and Primary Sources by Using Print Bibliographies

Bibliography of Imperial, Colonial and Commonwealth

  History Since 1600 (see “Printed Primary Sources” under

  each section in the Table of Contents)

Ref DA 16 B53 2002

Bibliography of British History

The 18th Century: 1714-1789         

              1789-1851      

              1851-1914    

              1914-1989             

 

Ref DA 498 P37     SB

Ref DA 520 B93 B5 1977     SB

Ref DA 530 H35 1971     SB

Ref DA 566 R63 1996     SB

Bibliography of British & Irish Municipal History Ref Z 2023 M26     SB
Cumulative Bibliography of Victorian Studies

Z 2019 A637 (Circulating Coll.)

Guide to Historical Literature Ref D 20 A55 1995     SB
Guide to the Printed Materials for English Social History

Ref Z 7165 G8 W7 1966     SB

Finding Primary Sources (Selected list)

Some titles only list sources, whereas others include the text of sources.

Times Digital Archive

              Full text of The Times (London) 1785-2014

Online under Databases

Nexis Uni

              Full text of The Times (London) 1985- 

Online under Databases
19th-Century British Pamphlets (in JSTOR) Online under Databases
Victorian Popular Culture Online under Databases
Annals of America 1493—1754 REF E 173 A795 v. 1
Readings in English History DA 32 C54 (Circulating Coll.)

Latin America and the Caribbean:

  A Critical Guide to Research Sources

REF F 1408 L3225 1992
Source-Book of English History DA 32.5 L5 (Circulating Coll.)

English Historical Documents, 1783-1832

English Historical Documents, 1833-1874

English Historical Documents, 1874-1914

DA 26 E55 (Circulating Coll.)

British Documents on Foreign Affairs

Part 1 

Series A From the Mid-nineteenth Century to the

  First World War

Series G From the Mid-nineteenth Century to the

  First World War

 

 

Oversize JX 632 B72 1983 

(Circulating Coll.)

Oversize JZ 632 B747 1995

(Circulating Coll.)

Milestone Documents in World History Ref D 5 M55 2009
Voices of Victorian England Ref DA 550 V65 2014

Defining Documents in World History: 

   Women’s Rights (1429-2017)

Ref HQ 1236 W664 2018

When searching print and online access tools, use search terms such as SOURCES, CORRESPONDENCE, PERSONAL NARRATIVES, DIARIES, RECORDS AND CORRESPONDENCE, SERMONS, SPEECHES, PAPERS.

Look for titles of primary sources in secondary sources and in lists included in bibliographies of secondary sources.  Use text, class, and library bibliographies for recommended titles or listings of primary sources.