Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EHIS 234 (HISE 4534) The British Imperial Experience (Hendley) Spring 2022 234-01

Librarian: Mary Lynn Bensen

Finding Background Information on British History

Africa:  An Encyclopedia of Culture & Society Ref DT 14 A3415 2016          

Ashgate:  Companion to the History of

   Textile Workers, 1660-2000

Ref HD 039 C6 A74 2010
Australia:  The Complete Encyclopedia Ref DU 90 A815 2001
Canada Ref F 1026 T46 2020-2022
Colonia America Ref E 162 C68 2006
East and Southeast Asia Ref DS 502 H531 2020-2022

1890’s:  An Encyclopedia of British Literature,

   Art and Culture                                                 

Ref DA 560 A18 1993
Encyclopedia of African History Ref DT 20 E53 2005
Encyclopedia of China Ref DS 735 A2 B47 2009
Encyclopedia of European History, 1350-2000 Ref HN 373 E63 2001
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies Ref PN 849 U43 E535 2016
Encyclopedia of War Ref U 27 E48 2012
Historical Dictionary of the British Empire Ref DA 16 P315 2016
Historical Dictionary on the Northern Ireland Conflict Ref DA 990 V46 G545 2017
History of Canada Ref F 1026 S44 2010
Latin America   Ref F 1408 D25 2020-2022
Middle East and East and South Asia Ref DS 44 C55 2020-2022
New Encyclopedia of Africa Ref DT 2 N48 2008
Oxford Companion to Black British History Ref DA 125 N 4094 2007  SB
Oxford Companion to British History Ref DA 34 O93 1997
Oxford Companion to Canadian Military History Ref F 1028 G729 2011
Oxford Companion to Irish History Ref DA 9112 N485 1991   SB
Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought Ref DT 14 174 2010 and online
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures     Ref F 1218.6 O95 2001
Oxford Illustrated History of the British Army       Ref DA 50 O94 1994

Cambridge Histories Online

This database includes the complete text of over 300 scholarly books in the Cambridge History Series.  Each title is also listed individually in the library’s online catalog.  These titles provide excellent bibliographies for further research.  Use the alphabetical title list under Databases on the library web site to Cambridge Histories Online.