Each of the following video databases allow you to search or filter videos by language (see instructions below). Check out our Streaming Video Guide for additional searching ideas.
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming video, covering history, anthropology, education, art, diversity studies, business, music, literature, performing arts, psychology, counseling, science, world languages and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Contains about 8000 full-length programs and 90,000 streaming video segments in the humanities, social sciences, business, economics, medicine, mathematics, and sciences from producers including Cambridge Educational, BBC, CNBC, National Geographic, TEDTalks, and PBS. For additional videos, see VAST (Academic Videos Online).
Can be used for course content: Streaming video collections. - Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public and academic libraries that offers films, TV shows and documentaries.
Examples: Spanish language films in our collections
Watch a Spanish-language Film from our Library Collection
My Kingdom Come
From Academic Video Online database
Description: My KINGDOM COME is the story of SIMÓN GONZÁLEZ, thirteen times world champion Spanish kickboxer who is now facing his 14th match: to walk again.
The Breadmaker: On the Frontline of Venezuela's Bakery Wars
From Films on Demand database
Description: In the midst of Venezuela’s spiraling economic crisis, Natalia and fellow members of a socialist Chavista collective have stepped in to take over production at a local bakery, La Minka. Authorities had suspended operations when the owners were accused of overpricing their loaves and hoarding flour. In March 2017, with the tacit support of the government, the collective began selling affordable bread. This is the story of their fight to safeguard the bakery's future and keep the Chavista dream alive.
When Two Worlds Collide
From Kanopy database
Description: In this tense and immersive tour de force, audiences are taken directly into the line of fire between powerful, opposing Peruvian leaders who will stop at nothing to keep their respective goals intact. On the one side is President Alan Garcia, who, eager to enter the world stage, begins aggressively extracting oil, minerals, and gas from untouched indigenous Amazonian land. He is quickly met with fierce opposition from indigenous leader Alberto Pizango, whose impassioned speeches against Garcia's destructive actions prove a powerful rallying cry to throngs of his supporters. When Garcia continues to ignore their pleas, a tense war of words erupts into deadly violence.
How to search video databases by language
To search for language-specific videos, follow the advice below for each of our documentary-focused streaming video services.
Academic Video Online
In the AVON database, click on the button with the filter icon at the top right of the screen (see image below). Scroll down to the Languages option to filter for videos featuring the language of your choice.
Films on Demand
In FOD, click on the "Advanced search" option at the top of the screen. On the advanced search screen, scroll down to "Filters" and select your language of choice in the Language dropdown option.
If you hit "Search" with no keyword, all the language-tagged films will be listed in your search results. If you are looking for something specific, type in a keyword in the search box to search for language-specific films with that keyword.
Kanopy
In Kanopy, type a keyword or leave the "Search videos, subjects..." box blank and click on the search icon (see image below). When the search results display, you will see a Language option on the left side of the screen. Click on the language you want and Kanopy will update your search list to reflect that choice.
