Ask a Librarian
Attribution
This guide was created by EK Lee for Milne Library.
- In 2021, it was updated by Jennifer Jensen and the faculty of the Foreign Languages & Literature department. We gratefully acknowledge that elements were inspired by guides by Milne Librarians Michelle Hendley, Heather Statler, and Sarah Rhodes.
Welcome to the Languages and Literatures Research Guide! Use the tabs at left to navigate. This guide contains general information about research resources for foreign languages and literatures. The library also has research guides specifically for French and Spanish students.
(Image: Hello Bonjour Hi from pixabay)
Research process
The Research Process
This library guide is designed to help you along each step of the research process as you prepare and write papers for your language classes. For general Research Paper Help, try this guide, too.
Each section of the guide connects with one step of the research process:
- Pick a topic with ideas from the news, library databases, and more.
- Find Research Sources by searching for reference items, articles, books, and other library resources to help you learn about your topic.
- When you are ready to get writing, the Write & Cite page has helpful links to citation and writing/revising resources.
Pick a topic
Pick a Topic
Looking for ideas? Here are a few ways to generate ideas for a research paper topic:
- Consider adapting a topic you are studying for another class -- get a new perspective on it, and use your research twice
- Browse chapter titles in your textbook or unit titles in your class syllabus
- Scan newspaper headlines (see "News and Topic Databases" below) or search topics in Ethnic NewsWatch (make sure to use the language filter) for contemporary issues
- Check out what's trending in social media sites you like
- Use the "Browse Issues" section in the library's Opposing Viewpoints database
- Watch a film or documentary and explore the film's ideas further with your research paper
News & Topic Databases
- Newspaper Source PlusIncludes over 850 full-text U.S. and international newspapers as well as over 800,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFeatures full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with titles dating from 1990. Contains about 2 million articles from more than 300 publications with both national and regional coverage.
- Google Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new windowProvides free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web. It contains more than 2,000 scanned newspapers, including The Afro American (1902-1992), The Pittsburgh Press (1819-1992), and The Village Voice (1955-2004).
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Search and discover overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.