Databases & Journals
Specialized subject databases sometimes contain articles not found in Search Everything or General Databases.
- Asian American Drama This link opens in a new windowSearch 252 plays by 42 Asian American playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
- Biography & Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Search more than 20 million biographical citations on more than 6 millions persons, living and deceased, from all fields of activity, covering more than 2,000 years of human history.
- Black Drama This link opens in a new windowSearch plays from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
- Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
Search the biographies and bibliographies of thousands of U.S. and international authors. Continuously updated.
- Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Master index to 40 Gale literary publications including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Resource Center.Updated twice/year. - Humanities SourceIncludes both Humanities Full Text and Humanities International. Contains over 1400 full text journals with citations to over 3,500,000 articles.
- Iter Bibliography: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit research organization focused on study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes bibliographies, indexes, and a few full-text journals.
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and FictionProvides over 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry representing Chicano culture and the various ethnicities of Latin American writers working in the United States, together with over 450 plays.
- Literary Reference Center
Contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, and about 250,000 author biographies. Covers about 460 literary journals. Also includes book reviews, poems, short stories, more than and more than 8,000 classic texts.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Search the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Search up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search across literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres.
- Gale Literature: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowContains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. Includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Coverage is from about 1920.
- North American Indian DramaProvides about 250 full-text plays by 48 of the most important American Indian, First Nation, and Pacific Islander playwrights of the twentieth century. Groups represented include Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, and Hawaiian/Samoan. More than half the plays are previously unpublished.
- North American Theatre Online: Resource and Reference TextA comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies.
- North American Women's DramaProvides over 1,500 full-text plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, and production companies.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new windowA guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to back files of over 550 complete full-image journals spanning 200 years in the arts, humanities, and social sciences
- Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. This resource offers researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century. Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 includes all the information from 44 Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature annuals, as well as access to over three million articles from approximately 550 leading magazines.
- Salem Literature This link opens in a new windowReference sources currently available: Critical Insights: Authors, Gabriel García Marquez, Kurt Vonnegut; Critical Insights: Works, House on Mango Street, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, One Hundred Years of Solitude, Poetry of Poe; Critical Surveys, Graphic Novels: Heroes & Superheroes, Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: Heroes & Heroines; Graphic Novels: Independents & Underground Classics, Love, Sexuality, and Desire; Manga, History, Theme, and Technique; World Mythology.
- Short Story Index Retro 1915-1983 This link opens in a new windowIndex to over 140,000 English language short stories published from the 1830s to the 1980s that have appeared in selected collections and periodicals.
- Gale Literature: Something About the Author
Search information about the lives and works of children and young adult authors and illustrators.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowSearch over 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries representing leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Can be used for course content: Excellent drama and theatre streaming video. - Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition)Contains books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities and social movements from 1600-2000.
Can be used for course content: Excellent primary source collections.
- World Shakespeare BibliographyProvides annotated entries for books, articles, theatrical productions, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials from 1961 to the present.