It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English Language & Literature: A Guide to Research: Databases & Journals
Welcome to the Research Guide for English Language & Literature. Here you will find a selection of resources to help you get started.
Black Drama, Second Edition contains approximately 1,462 plays from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Some 600 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of James V. Hatch, co-author with Errol G. Hill of A History of African American Theatre and a leading expert in this area.
Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit research organization focused on study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes bibliographies, indexes, and a few full-text journals.
Contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, and about 250,000 author biographies. Covers about 460 literary journals. Also includes book reviews, poems, short stories, more than and more than 8,000 classic texts.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines. Includes critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies. Covers about 120,000 authors, their works, and literary movements.
Cross-platform search for literature resources, including coverage of authors, literary works and movements, book reviews, and more. Includes Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors, and Gale Literature: LitFinder.
Contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. Includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Coverage is from about 1920.
Provides about 250 full-text plays by 48 of the most important American Indian, First Nation, and Pacific Islander playwrights of the twentieth century. Groups represented include Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, and Hawaiian/Samoan. More than half the plays are previously unpublished.
A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies.
Reference sources currently available: Critical Insights: Authors, Gabriel García Marquez, Kurt Vonnegut; Critical Insights: Works, House on Mango Street, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, One Hundred Years of Solitude, Poetry of Poe; Critical Surveys, Graphic Novels: Heroes & Superheroes, Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: Heroes & Heroines; Graphic Novels: Independents & Underground Classics, Love, Sexuality, and Desire; Manga, History, Theme, and Technique; World Mythology.
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries representing leading playwrights, actors and directors. Can be used for course content: Excellent drama and theatre streaming video.
Contains books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities and social movements from 1600-2000. Can be used for course content: Excellent primary source collections.