Finding Scholarly Periodical Articles in General Databases
- Look for a check box on the search screen or the results screen to limit a search to Peer-Reviewed, Academic, or Scholarly articles.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 1400 core scholarly journals and e-books across most subject areas.
Can be used for course content: Titles from many university presses and other academic publishers. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text database of over 100 scholarly journals and books from university presses in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics. Includes books from many university presses and scholarly journals
Finding an Article from a Citation
If you have the citation for a periodical article
- use the journals tab on the library home page
- type in the title of the journal or magazine
- look for that title in the list and follow the link to the database(s)
- follow the links to the correct issue of the periodical OR
- locate a "search" box to type in the title of the article
- If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, this will be indicated as well. Follow the link(s) to see what years the library subscribes to.
Periodicals Defined
-
Periodicals are publications issued at regular intervals (daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly) such as newspapers, magazines, and journals.
-
Many periodicals are originally published in print form (available at newsstands and through subscription). The library subscribes to databases that offer an electronic version of the text of selected articles from many periodicals.
-
Use periodicals for current information, for latest trends and research, for hard to find information, and for briefer coverage than books.
Finding Mass Circulation & Industry Periodical Articles
- All of the following databases can be found under the "Databases" tab on the library home page. For best results use the Advanced Search features of any database.
Selected Indexes to Articles in Popular Periodicals and Trade Journals
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFeatures full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with titles dating from 1990. Contains about 2 million articles from more than 300 publications with both national and regional coverage.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowOffers authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Coverage is from 1970 to the present.
- Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search and discover general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Search and discover overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Finding Scholarly Periodical Articles in Subject-Specific Databases
Look for a check box on the search screen or the results screen to limit a search to Peer-Reviewed, Academic, or Scholarly articles.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFeatures full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with titles dating from 1990. Contains about 2 million articles from more than 300 publications with both national and regional coverage.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowOffers authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Coverage is from 1970 to the present.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Contains about 8000 full-length programs and 90,000 streaming video segments in the humanities, social sciences, business, economics, medicine, mathematics, and sciences from producers including Cambridge Educational, BBC, CNBC, National Geographic, TEDTalks, and PBS. For additional videos, see VAST (Academic Videos Online).
Can be used for course content: Streaming video collections. - Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.