Sport and Exercise Science Specific Databases
Please see below for a curated list of databases that could help you with finding sources on your upcoming assignments. A note here that if you are not finding the sources you are looking for within these databases, please consult the A-Z Database page for a wider list of the databases available to you in the Milne Library!
-
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Covers complementary and holistic approaches to health and wellness, including full-text articles from about 180 journals and reports. Coverage is from 1984 to the present.
-
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE) This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline’s Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE) is designed to assist researchers in locating sources relevant to the many issues surrounding these critically important subject areas, both of which have now attained global prominence. Organized into sixteen tabs, each covering a distinct type of material, the database builds upon HeinOnline’s historical strengths in legal periodical literature, case law, and U. S. federal and state materials by providing a unique topical arrangement for the documents within each tab while also adding many important new resources not previously available in HeinOnline.
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexing for over 750 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health sciences with coverage back to 1937. Some full text articles are included.
-
Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.
-
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
-
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Contains nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. Coverage is from about 1984 to the present.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides about 550 scholarly full text medical/nursing journals. Also includes 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets. Coverage is from about 1952 to the present.
-
Leadership & Management (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more. Updated daily.
-
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text for about 1450 publications. Coverage is from about 1800 to the present, with some full-text from about 1935 to the present.
-
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Search academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProvides access to literature in fields of psychology, psychiatry, social work and related disciplines from 1887 to the present. Partial full-text / links to articles in other databases.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.