Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles in the Library Databases
The following databases all look slightly different but at their core are searchable the same way that the Library Catalog is. We have access to over 300 different databases, below are just a select few that I have chosen to show your class. If you need help searching any of these databases, please do not hesitate to contact your library!
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- Agricola This link opens in a new window
Search bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, which includes millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for thousands of journals related to technology, applied science, and computer science. Full-text is available for about 1200 journals. Coverage is from 1912 to the present.
- BioMedCentral (BMC) This link opens in a new windowAbout 280 open access biology journals available full-text. Users must register (free) to get access.
- Cell Press Journal This link opens in a new windowThe Cell Press Collection includes the following journals: The American Journal of Human Genetics • Biophysical Journal • Cancer Cell • Cell • Cell Host & Microbe • Cell Metabolism • Cell Reports • Chemistry & Biology • Current Biology • Developmental Cell • Immunity • Molecular Cell • Neuron • Stem Cell Reports • Structure
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
- Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Access current and authoritative periodical content covering agriculture and its related fields.
- Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
- Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
Search information about the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text for about 1450 publications. Coverage is from about 1800 to the present, with some full-text from about 1935 to the present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Science
Full-text access to Science, 1997-current issue and Tables of Contents of current issues and back issues.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.