Services

Course Reserves

E-Reserves information

Faculty must fill out a Reserve Request Form for each item you wish to have placed on reserve. Forms are available at the Circulation/Reserve Desk. All forms should be completed as fully and accurately as possible to ensure that reserve materials will be easily accessible to your students.

Reserve materials are listed in the Course Reserve Catalog

They are searchable by Title, Instructor's Last Name and Course Number. Please note that all reserve materials will be entered into the online catalog by TITLE. Therefore, it is essential for reserves to be listed by title in your syllabus. It is very important that both the Instructor's Last Name and the full Course Number (i.e. PSYC100, BIOL228) be listed on the form because they each provide a point of access to reserve materials in the online catalog. Reserve materials are not always accessible by author. Reserve materials may be listed under more than one instructor and/or under more than one course number. All pertinent information should be indicated on the Reserve Request Form.

• Library Materials: All Milne Library materials may be placed on reserve EXCEPT materials from the Reference, Periodicals (photocopies of articles may be placed on reserve) or SCC collections. Materials owned by other libraries cannot be placed on reserve. You should locate and bring the library materials to the Circulation/Reserve Desk to expedite processing. If an item is not on the shelf, we will either recall it or initiate a search for it immediately. The item will be processed as soon as it is located. Library materials will be returned to the stacks at the end of each semester unless an instructor requests that the item be placed on long-term reserve.
• Personal Copies of Books or Journals: Faculty may place a personal copy of a book , textbook or periodical on reserve, however, the library cannot guarantee the safety of these items (either by loss or mutilation). We recommend that personal copy materials be placed in the "restricted" category which allows only a 2 hour use within the library.
• Course Syllabus, Lecture Notes, Exams: Faculty may place a copy of their course syllabus, lecture notes or exams on reserve.

 

Individual Research Consultations

Reference librarians are available by appointment for up to 1 hour to help students and faculty complete difficult research projects.

Faculty can request the services of a librarian to teach students library and Internet research strategies. The instructional sessions are adapted to the needs of a paper, report, or other project assigned in the course. The library's electronic classroom is equipped to provide students with a supervised hands-on experience using relevant electronic resources. Please allow a two week advance notice before the time you would like the class scheduled, although we can often accommodate classes with a shorter notice.

Please contact Sarah Rhodes, Sarah.Rhodes@oneonta.edu, x2728, to discuss your request and to schedule the class. You may also contact any of the other Reference/Instruction Librarians directly.

 

ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan

The ILLiad system enables current Oneonta students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries. Once logged into your ILLiad account using your Oneonta username and password, you will be able to:

• make online requests for books, periodical articles, and other material from other libraries
• review the status of your requests
• check due dates of outstanding loans and ask for renewals

 

Renew Library Materials

To renew books, videos, CDs, DVDs, and other materials you have checked out from Milne Library, follow these steps

Login to your library circulation account

Login with your Oneonta username and password to access your account. Click on the number of Loans for a list of items charged out to you. The number of items loaned to you is the link (not the word "Loans"). Click on the Renew All to renew all your loans or select specific loans to renew and click Renew Selected above the list of items. You will receive verification of the items that were renewed. Click End Session when you are finished.

You should keep the item requested for renewal in your possession until you learn of the new due date OR you are asked to return the item by the staff of the IDS Office because it cannot be renewed. If the item cannot be renewed, you will have 24 hours to return the item to the library or fines may be assessed. Items that are overdue may not be renewed. Journal articles that are photocopied do not have a due date and are yours to keep.

 

Renewing an Interlibrary Loan Request via ILLiad

To request a renewal:

Log into your myOneonta and click the Interlibrary Loan icon OR connect to your ILLiad account under Services on the Library home page Select "Checked Out Items" from the side menu Click the transaction number beside the item to renew Click the red "Renew Request" link at the top of the page. This will transmit your renewal request to the interlibrary loan staff who will then contact the lending library. You will see a statement that indicates “Renewals are no longer allowed for this item”; this indicates that you cannot renew it a second time.

• Click on the number of Loans for a list of items charged out to you. The number of items loaned to you is the link (not the word "Loans").
• Click on the Renew All to renew all your loans or select specific loans to renew and click Renew Selected above the list of items. You will receive verification of the items that were renewed.
• Click End Session when you are finished.

OR

Connect to the Library website from the campus website or from MyOneonta Click on the "My account" link under the "Search Everything" search box. Login with your Oneonta username and password to access your account.

 

Departmental Library Acquisitions

Having quality information resources including books, journals, and other educational materials that meet the research needs and interests of the SUNY Oneonta community is part of Milne Library's mission. Every member of the SUNY Oneonta community is invited and encouraged to participate in collection development.

The role of faculty in selecting materials for the library's collection is especially important, as 70% of the library's budget for books and media is distributed to the academic departments. Based on a formula that is approved by the SUNY Oneonta Library Committee each spring, the allocations for each department are determined by a base percentage shared equally by all departments (15%), each department's FTEs (30%), the number of courses taught (15%), and monograph use (40%).

Each department has:

• A representative from the department who serves on the SUNY Oneonta Library Committee.
• A liaison from the department who handles the department's budget and forwards orders to the Acquisitions Team. For a number of departments, the liaison and representative are the same person.
• A library liaison, who is the main contact between the department and the library. Milne librarians serve as liaisons to SUNY Oneonta’s academic departments and are available to help faculty members become acquainted with the library facility, its collections and services. Library bibliographers work with departmental liaisons throughout the year.

All requests for books and media must go through your departmental liaison, who coordinates the orders for your department and sends them to Acquisitions.

To assist with identifying potential new acquisitions the Milne Library maintains a subscription to Choice Reviews. This recommended reviewing source includes reviews of academic books, media, and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Users need to set up an account and must log out when exiting the system in order to make the database available to others because only four simultaneous users are permitted at one time.

Journals, databases, and standing orders are managed by the library.

Requests for new journals, databases, and streaming content may be placed through the Request for New Library Resources form which will initiate the library's review and evaluation process.

For further information, please contact:

Lori Wienke, Acquisitions & Electronic Resources Librarian, Lori.Wienke@oneonta.edu

 

Faculty Carrels

Locked Study Carrels

Guidelines for Locked Study Carrels

Faculty study carrels (locked) may be requested for a semester or full year. The linked page includes the description, policies, and request form for faculty.

Library study carrels are available to faculty based upon an agreement with the library and the Library Committee. ASSIGNMENTS ARE BASED ON THE FOLLOWING PRIORITY GROUPS:

First: Untenured, but tenure-track faculty member*, or faculty member on sabbatical, whose research benefits from ready access to library collections
Second: Tenured faculty member, whose research benefits from ready access to library collections
Third: Any faculty member requiring study space for one semester, or the academic year, who has not previously been able to obtain a carrel

*Faculty member can be teaching or non-teaching

 

Institutional Repository: SOAR

Visit the SUNY Open Access Repository (SOAR).

Learn more about our campus's collections and see FAQs about the institutional repository at the SUNY Oneonta SOAR Guide.

Forms for Oneonta's SOAR collections are linked here:

• Submit your article to SOAR
• Waiver/opt out form (one per article).

Questions about SOAR and the campus Open Access Policy can be directed to openaccess@oneonta.edu.

 

Ebooks

How to access and download ebooks from Milne ebook collections.