HDFS 3100: Family Policy (Rombo) Spring 2024

Hein Online

HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,400 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

Finding Supreme Court Cases in HeinOnline

• Go to the HeinOnline main page.
• Enter search terms.  
• Click on the drop down menu  All Databases which will take you to the page, SELECT DATABASES TO SEARCH.
• Then select U.S. Supreme Court Library.
• Click on the Submit button.
• Click on the magnifying glass.
• Your results will be displayed.
• Results may be refined by a range of options including date, document type or title.

Finding Law Journals in HeinOnline

• Go to the HeinOnline main page.
• Enter search terms.
• Click on the drop down menu  All Databases which will take you to the page, SELECT DATABASES TO SEARCH.
• Then select Journals and Periodicals.
• Click on the Submit button.
• Click on the magnifying glass.
• Your results will be displayed.
• Results may be refined by a range of options including date, document type or title.

Nexis Uni

Contains several United States and international legal sources. These include a legal dictionary and legal encyclopedia.  For example,  American Jurisprudence 2d  is an encyclopedic text of both procedural and substantive American law, state, federal, criminal, civil and procedural. Consisting of over 430 topic headings (titles), Am Jur 2d articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases, related annotations, forms, proofs, and trial techniques (note: Nexis Uni is no longer updating this resource).  Nexis Uni also contains federal and state cases; Canadian, European Union, Australian, Hong Kong and other nations’ cases; US federal and state statutes and regulations; US law reviews; and US landmark cases. In addition,  The Wolters Kluwer Bouvier Law Dictionary Desk Edition contains over  definitions to over 11,200 legal words and phrases. 

Finding U.S. federal and state cases

• From the main Nexis Uni page, click on the drop down menu All Content Types
• Select Legal.
• Under the heading Cases, click on US.  
• On the Cases page, select the relevant court (e.g. United States Supreme Court), circuit, or state. 
• Enter search terms.
• Specify dates if applicable using the date drop down menu. 
• Click on the magnifying glass.
• Your results will be displayed.
• Results may be narrowed by a range of options on the left side of the results page .

Finding law review and law journal articles

• From the main Nexis Uni page, click on the drop down menu All Content Types
• Select Legal.
• Click on the Law Reviews and Journals link.  
• Enter search terms.
• Specify dates if applicable using the date drop down menu. 
• Click on the magnifying glass.
• Your results will be displayed.
• Results may be narrowed by a range of options on the left side of the results page.

Finding U.S. federal and state legislation in Nexis Uni

• From the main Nexis Uni page, click on the drop down menu All Content Types
• Select Legal.
• Under the heading Legislation, click on the US link.  
• Select the applicable jurisdiction. 
• Enter search terms.
• Specify dates if applicable using the date drop down menu. 
• Click on the magnifying glass.
• Your results will be displayed.
• Results may be narrowed by a range of options on the left side of the results page.