Alayna Vander Veer
Subject-specific databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexing for over 750 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health sciences with coverage back to 1937. Some full text articles are included.
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Covers complementary and holistic approaches to health and wellness, including full-text articles from about 180 journals and reports. Coverage is from 1984 to the present.
- Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
Scholarly Journals
Search Strategies
A Database is an online searchable record. Think of it as an Excel Spreadsheet. You need to use Key Words and Boolean Operators to find relevant results.
AND: Narrows search results. For example: Cat AND Dog will result in sources that have both of these words contained in them.
OR: Broadens search results. For example: Cat OR Dog will result in any source that has either of these words contained in them.
NOT: Excludes certain keywords from search results. For example: Cat NOT Dog will result in only sources that have the word cat contained in them.
Boolean Operators:
