Selecting a Database
Subject-Specific Databases:
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Features full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with titles dating from 1990. Contains about 2 million articles from more than 300 publications with both national and regional coverage.
- Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Search periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- African Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search open access African-published scholarly journals.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Selective indexing of about 1700 journals from 1955 to the present. Offers full-text for about 200 journals.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Contains about 300,000 journal article citations concerning Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
- Fuente Académica Plus This link opens in a new window
This full-text database offers Spanish- and Portuguese-language academic content for researchers studying a broad range of disciplines. The extensive collection of scholarly journals and quality titles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain are readily available in PDF format.
- Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Search and discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowOffers authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Coverage is from 1970 to the present.
Multi-disciplinary Databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database provide full-text access to thousands of academic journals, e-books, and images across most subject areas.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Database includes full-text access to hundreds of journals and e-books from university presses and scholarly journals.
- Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.
Primary Sources and Archival Materials:
- Archives Unbound: African Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of African Studies.
- Archives Unbound: Latin American & Caribbean Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Archives of Latin American & Caribbean History, 16th-20th Century This link opens in a new window
Search and analyze the history of Latin America and the Caribbean from the sixteenth through twentieth century through primary source documents.
- Archives Unbound: African American Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of African American Studies.
- Archives Unbound: Cultural Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of Cultural Studies.
- Archives Unbound: Latin American & Caribbean Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Archives Unbound: Law, Politics & Radical Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of Law, Politics and Radical Studies.
- American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography This link opens in a new window
Ebook series includes written transcriptions of interviews with over 2000 former slaves from seventeen states, including those collected by the Federal Writers' Project. Many of the interviews occurred in the 1930s and 1940s.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Comprehensive legal research database on slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world. It includes colonial and state statutes, federal laws, and court cases—some extending into the 20th century. Ideal for students of history, law, and social justice, it explores slavery’s legal framework and lasting impact.
- Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Digital resource includes the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Race Relations Department at Fisk University from 1943-1970, including Charles S. Johnson and Thurgood Marshall, that document three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights,