For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is Policy Studies. An example of a popular magazine is Time. Many peer-reviewed journals will include book reviews.
The following databases are listed on the library website in the alphabetical list under Databases. After clicking on Databases, you can find lists of databases by subject by dropping down the menu at All Subjects in the A-Z list.
When searching databases, enter the title of the book and add the word “review” to the search box(es). Some databases will have a special filter for book reviews.
Book Review Databases
Includes reviews for current books.
Includes book reviews for titles published from 1903 to 1982.
A standard book review source for academic libraries.
Databases Covering Journals with Book Reviews
Provides full text for selected scholarly journals and popular magazines across the disciplines.
Features selected full text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic and minority press.
Indexes scholarly journals and popular magazines across the disciplines.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Includes reviews of books concerning Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Selected text is in Spanish.
Provides access to the full text of journals in many subject areas. There is no full text for the last 3-5 years.
Provides full text of scholarly journal articles in the social sciences and humanities.
Databases Covering Specific Subjects
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Covers all aspects of communication and mass media. Includes some full-text articles.
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles.
Gender, Sexuality, and Sexuality Studies in Archives Unbound
A collection within the Archives Unbound collection that includes historical documents.
Includes coverage of important magazines, journals, newspapers, and books in the field.
Cites sources in books and journals for all aspects of psychology. Selected full text is available.
Broad coverage of core social science journals.
Indexes the scholarly literature in sociology.