Library Databases and Milne Search
Milne Library subscribes to hundreds of databases which provide access to electronic articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals across all disciplines.
Milne Search, the default search on the library's homepage, will search many but not all of the databases. When using Milne Search, it is best to utilize the Advanced Search option,
Sometimes starting with Milne Search can be very helpful; at other times it is best to use specialized databases, such as those listed below.
Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 1400 core scholarly journals and e-books across most subject areas.
Can be used for course content: Titles from many university presses and other academic publishers. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
- Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
Search for information about environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present.
- BioMedCentral (BMC) This link opens in a new windowAbout 280 open access biology journals available full-text. Users must register (free) to get access.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowAddresses human impacts on the environment. Offers indexing and abstracts for about 300,000 records. Some full-text. Coverage is from about 1915 to the present.
Can be used for course content: Extensive full-text content. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Video Tutorial
For a quick overview of Academic Search Complete, watch the short and information-packed video below. Many of the tips and tricks you'll learn in this video can be applied to other databases, including those below!