Research & Course Guides: COMP 1011 The College Research Essay (Moller) Summer 2023: How to Find Articles

Locating Online Resources

You can find electronic magazine, newspaper, and journal articles by using the library's databases. Some databases are general and cover many topics, such as Academic Search Complete. Others are more focused on a particular subject, such as science or literature. To access the databases, click on the database tab on the library homepage. You can then browse through them alphabetically, or browse by discipline (i.e., gender studies, history, etc.).

Academic Search Complete is a great place to start! For controversial topics, Opposing Viewpoints or Points of View Reference Center are worth checking out. For news articles, you can try Newspaper Source Plus, New York Times, or Wall Street Journal. A good website for news is allsides.com.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains a variety of media rich content, including over 20,000 pro/con viewpoints, approximately 19,000 reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues. National Debate Topics category provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Educator Resources include a research toolkit with tips on analyzing issues with opposing viewpoints, distinguishing fact from opinion, evaluating information sources, and recognizing deceptive arguments.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text essays representing multiple sides of about 250 topics; in addition, the database includes political magazines, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books. Designed to provide a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes over 850 full-text U.S. and international newspapers as well as over 800,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
All students and faculty have unlimited access to The New York Times digital platforms, including personalized user experience, live coverage of breaking news, access to NYT articles between 1851-current, access to the International edition and Canadian, Chinese, and Spanish editions, full access to the NYT Learning Network, and access to the InEducation resource that helps faculty bring current events into the classroom. This resource includes access to archival content and replaces Historical New York Times and New York Times Archive.
Once activated, a faculty/staff pass is valid for 1460 days. A student pass is valid up to the graduation year they enter when they sign up for a pass. After the pass expires, faculty and staff can easily renew their access by re-entering their email address at http://accessnyt.com.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, international daily newspaper published six days a week. WSJ Digital provides personalized access to all WSJ digital products, including WSJ tablet app, full WSJ.com access, WSJ smartphone app, and a WSJ+ membership for all students, faculty, and staff.
First time access for users requires sign up at: WSJ.com/SUNYOneonta