WGS 1000: Gender, Power and Difference (Walsh-Russo) Spring 2023

2009 RUSA Outstanding ReferenceCHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009"Given both the interdisciplinarity of the field of gender scholarship and the immense significance of gender to both indviduals and societies, it is probably impossible to produce such a compendium. The editor, advisory team, and contributors are to be credited for tackling a project of such immense scope...O′Brien′s commitment to the possibility of a more-informed discourse on the highly complex and nuanced topic of gender and society promises to benefit a broad readership...Highly recommended for academic libraries of all sizes and for large public libraries."--Booklist STARRED Review "All topics in this wide-ranging resource are addressed in an unbiased and unprejudiced manner, and facts are stated clearly and coherently. The coverage of changing topics is kept current. A valuable addition to any library." --Library JournalFor decades,scholars of gender have been documenting and analyzing the various ways in which gender shapes individual lives,cultural beliefs and practices, and social and economic organization.Including contributions by experts in the field, the Encyclopedia of Gender and Society covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world. Key Features: · Provides users with a "gender lens" on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research · Offers "framing" essays that summarize commonly used concepts and directions of research and provide an overview of each area (e.g., Media and Gender Socialization; Religion, Gender Roles in; Sexuality and Reproduction; Women′s Social Movements, History of) · Examines basic aspects of social life from the most individual (self and identity) to the most global (transnational economics and politics). · Contains new information on well-known subjects, including surprising facts that may counter common assumptions and research in areas of study where the impact of gender has been traditionally overlooked · Reflects cutting-edge discussion and scholarship on current issues and debates regarding gender and society

"Completely Queer is a concise and balanced guide to the history, people, places, and ideas important to lesbian and gay communities worldwide. Linking a detailed chronology of homosexual life and achievement to nearly six hundred articles - ranging from "ACT UP" to "Lesbian Continuum," from "Military" to "Wilde" - it explores in depth more facets of today's gay and lesbian subcultures than any other one-volume reference work. Recognizing that the gay communities are far from static or homogenous in their politics, lifestyles, activities, and beliefs, authors Steve Hogan and Lee Hudson have created in this informative book an accessible volume. It features quotes, little-known facts, reading lists, and useful tables: one lists famous pseudonyms; another, gay detective novels." "Complete with more than 250 photos and illustrations, Completely Queer is the first guide to cover both lesbian and gay male points of view offering information on their common concerns as well as their different histories and interests."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

This text offers kaleidoscopic coverage of lesbian and gay life, history, politics, language, sex and humour. The volume's 2500 entries celebrate this culture's breadth, from Chinese folklore, Islamic poetry and Native American customs, to dykes on bikes, Alternative Miss World and the Gay Games.

This encyclopedia addresses every aspect of sex-from the most basic biological information to psychological, cultural, legal, and religions concerns. Each topic is treated with sensitivity and an open mind. The language is clear and easy to understand, making it suitable for readers from adolescence up. As anyone who has ever seen or heard Dr. Ruth on TV or radio knows, she is a fearless spokesperson on the always-controversial topic of sex. Her desire to educate, to demystify, and to encourage sex that is fun, safe, wild, adventurous, and above all fulfilling, is the philosophy behind this multi-authored encyclopedia. Whether it's a teenager confused about sex, a young adult struggling to establish sexual values, or readers of any age who wish to know more about their bodies, their sexual responses, and their intimate relations with others, this low-priced paperback encyclopedia provides the information they need.

The Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create(tm) includes current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. This Collection contains a multitude of current and classic issues to enhance and customize your course. You can browse the entire Taking Sides Collection on Create, or you can search by topic, author, or keywords. Each Taking Sides issues is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an Exploring the Issue section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, and Additional Resources and Internet References. Go to McGraw-Hill Create(tm) at www.mcgrawhillcreate.com, click on the "Collections" tab, and select The Taking Sides Collection to browse the entire Collection. Select individual Taking Sides issues to enhance your course, or access and select the entire Schroeder: Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Gender, 7/e ExpressBook for an easy, pre-built teaching resource by clicking here.. 

The Internationalnbsp;Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities offers a comprehensive guide to the current state of scholarship about men, masculinities, and gender around the world. The Encyclopedia's coverage is comprehensive across three dimensions: areas of personal and social life, academic disciplines, and cultural and historical contexts and formations. The Encyclopedia: examines every area of men's personal and social lives as shaped by gender covers masculinity politics, the men's groups and movements that have tried to change men's roles presents entries on working with particular groups of boys or men, from male patients to men in prison incorporates cross-disciplinary perspectives on and examinations of men, gender and gender relations gives comprehensive coverage of diverse cultural and historical formations of masculinity and the bodies of scholarship that have documented them. The Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities is composed of over 350 free-standing entries written from their individual perspectives by eminent scholars in their fields. Entries are organized alphabetically for general ease of access but also listed thematically at the front of the encyclopedia, for the convenience of readers with specific areas of interest.