Boolean operators are words or symbols that are used in conjunction with words to refine searches.
Here are six helpful ones to use:
Milne Search provides sweeping access to books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more through a user-driven platform supporting your research interests. You can use Milne Search without signing in. However, to access e-books, you will need to sign in when prompted.
There are two main ways to use Milne Search.
Milne Search allows you to search simultaneously for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more. You may use keywords, titles, authors, or phrases. Refine your results using the choices on the left. For example, if you want to discover the newest results then select Sort by. Explore Resource Type, also on the left, to get a sense of the various materials available to you.
Library Catalog is commonly used to search the physical collections of the James M. Milne Library, including ebooks, by an author’s name or a book’s title. You may also use keywords to search the library catalog, which contains the table of contents for many records. Subject headings are included in keyword searching and are assigned to all library catalog holdings.
While Everything and Library Catalog are two of the main searching functions in Search & Discover, there are others available for use. Child Collection, Course Reserves, EMC Media, NY State Collection, Reference, Special Collections (SCC), SUNY Catalog, and Young Adult (YA) are all options to choose from. These collections can be searched exclusively by selecting them in the top menu. For example, selecting Child Collection will include results only from that collection.
While Milne Library has an extensive collection of resources, you may need to search outside of the library to conduct further research.
To search for items that other libraries own, you need to search either the SUNY Catalog or Worldcat. Worldcat is an online catalog of material held by other libraries and research institutions around the world.
Access to Worldcat is through our databases. Click on the databases link in the side navigation bar on the library's homepage. Click on the "W" in the alphabetical letters and then select WorldCat.
If the item is currently owned by Milne Library, it will indicate that in the full record for the item.
The ILLiad system enables current SUNY Oneonta students, faculty, and staff to obtain academic and intellectual materials from other libraries. Your ILLiad account will allow you to: