Citing
CITING YOUR SOURCES
You can find style guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago Manual of Style visiting the link below. From there, you can find resources for citing various sources in one of the major styles.
Librarian
Contact
CONTACT ME
To contact me to set up a one-on-one, virtual consultation, please email me at erin.larucci@oneonta.edu
Chat
LIBRARY HELP CHAT
STARTING RESEARCH
When you begin a research project, it is a good idea to take a moment to reflect on your prior knowledge of the topic area. How much do you already know about this topic? How confident are you in moving forward with this topic?
In most cases, you will need to do a bit of research to get some general information on your topic. You can think of it like you are scaffolding a learning assignment for your students. To truly learn a new concept or skill, you need to create a solid base or foundation.
A great way to create this base is by conducting research in encyclopedias. Encyclopedias are arranged alphabetically and contain a general overview of a term or subject matter.
You can also access encyclopedias online through our reference databases like these:
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowContains a variety of media rich content, including over 20,000 pro/con viewpoints, approximately 19,000 reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues. National Debate Topics category provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Educator Resources include a research toolkit with tips on analyzing issues with opposing viewpoints, distinguishing fact from opinion, evaluating information sources, and recognizing deceptive arguments.
Finding Law Review Journals
Law Review Journals are journals published by colleges and universities and edited by law students. Hein Online and NexisUni both provide ways to find law review journals.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,400 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Can be used for course content: Law review articles and much more; permanent links. - Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
FINDING BOOKS IN MILNE LIBRARY
To look for books in the Milne Library catalog, navigate to the library homepage and click on 'Advanced Search.' If you wish to only find online books, leave the search scope to 'Online Access' and change the 'Material Type' to 'Books'. Then enter your search terms. If you desire print volumes, change the search scope to 'Library Catalog', limit to 'Books', enter your search terms and click 'Search'. Once in the results list, click 'Held by Library' to limit to print volumes only.
If you are planning to take books out of the library, please see the library's Online Library Guide for information on the procedure for checking out books.
FINDING SCHOLARLY ARTICLES
Find scholarly articles by using one of the databases listed below. These can also be found from the 'Databases' link on the Library's homepage.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts related to family studies, including families, marriage, divorce, and family therapy. Contains over 50,000 records.