Online Encyclopedias
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Search reference sources across disciplines. Includes historical timelines, multimedia, selected magazine articles, notable quotations, and a dictionary and thesaurus.
Background Knowledge
When you begin a research project, it is a good idea to take a moment to reflect on your prior knowledge of the topic area. How much do you already know about this topic? You can learn more about your topic and discover new ways to approach it by checking out brief entries in reference materials such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. These resources will allow you to:
~ Get an authoritative overview of your topic
~ Discover key issues, people, dates, and events associated with the topic (these can be helpful keywords!)
~ Find additional resources to check out (references and bibliographies)
The Library has access to encyclopedias and dictionaries in print (in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor), and online through databases, such as those listed below:
Reference Encyclopedias
The following reference encyclopedias are available in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor. The books do not circulate but can be used anywhere in the library. You can request photocopies at the Reference Desk, or you can make scans of pages that you would like for the future.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy by ISBN: 9780816046423Publication Date: 2004-01-01This A-to-Z reference guide is the ideal place for students and general readers to start their research on America's relationship with the rest of the world. Looking at American foreign policy from a historical viewpoint, Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy details U.S. foreign affairs from the American Revolution up through the present day, with concise yet insightful information on important people, groups and organizations, events, legislation, and foreign policy-related topics. Entries include Alliance for Progress; Bricker Amendment; Camp David Peace Accords; Covert Action; Good Neighbor Policy; Human Rights; International Monetary Fund; Henry Kissinger; Manifest Destiny; NATO; and Sandinistas.
American Foreign Relations since 1600 by ISBN: 9781576075302Publication Date: 2003-06-17A thorough update of the standard bibliography of American foreign relations literature from colonial times to the present day.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy by ISBN: 0684314185Publication Date: 2003-12-01
