Finding Articles using the Library's Databases
Databases provide access to articles and other information; sometimes the full text is available but sometimes only the abstract and citation information are available (in which case you can request the item through interlibrary loan). Databases can include access to peer-reviewed articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, etc. Some are specialized by topic, and some are interdisciplinary. Milne Library subscribes to hundreds of databases. Those listed below can be a good place to start for your work in this class:
-
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Search information about hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
-
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and the history of education. Indexing and abstracts for about 1800 journals; full-text for about 350 journals. Coverage is from 1955 to the present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database provide full-text access to thousands of academic journals, e-books, and images across most subject areas.
-
New York Times This link opens in a new window
All students and faculty have unlimited access to The New York Times digital platforms, including personalized user experience, live coverage of breaking news, access to NYT articles between 1851-current, access to the International edition and Canadian, Chinese, and Spanish editions, full access to the NYT Learning Network, and access to the InEducation resource that helps faculty bring current events into the classroom. This resource includes access to archival content and replaces Historical New York Times and New York Times Archive.
-
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Search over 200 years of The Times (London), an invaluable historical source widely considered to be the world's ‘newspaper of record.’