Background Knowledge
When you begin a research project, it is a good idea to take a moment to reflect on your prior knowledge of the topic area. How much do you already know about this topic? You can learn more about your topic and discover new ways to approach it by checking out brief entries in reference materials such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. These resources will allow you to:
~ Get an authoritative overview of your topic
~ Discover key issues, people, dates, and events associated with the topic (these can be helpful keywords!)
~ Find additional resources to check out (references and bibliographies)
The Library has access to encyclopedias and dictionaries in print (in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor), and online through databases, such as those listed below:
-
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Search reference sources across disciplines. Includes historical timelines, multimedia, selected magazine articles, notable quotations, and a dictionary and thesaurus.
-
Europa World This link opens in a new window
Online global resource including political, economic and statistical information about more than 250 countries and territories, as well as international and regional organizations.
You do not need to login to access content. -
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
-
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new windowA guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world.
You might want to check out the following databases if your topic is considered controversial or could have multiple viewpoints:
-
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Search and discover overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
-
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text essays representing multiple sides of about 250 topics; in addition, the database includes political magazines, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books. Designed to provide a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.