Understanding Milne Search - the Default Library Search
What is Milne Search?
Milne Search is the default search on the Library's website. It provides sweeping access to books, e-books, articles, movies, music, and more. It is important to remember that it won't search all databases. If you want to search for books, it is better to use the Library Catalog (see the tab at left for more on searching for books). If you want to search for peer-reviewed scholarly articles, it is generally better to use a subject-specific database (see the tab at left for more on searching for articles).
Sign-in:
It is a great idea to Sign In (although not necessary). The benefits are:
Save Query allows you to save a search to a favorites list
Pinning allows you to save certain items to your favorites
Search History provides a detailed record of past searches
Resource Sharing accesses the collections of all SUNY libraries and allows you to initiate borrowing requests
Renew your active loans
Using Milne Search:
There are two main ways to use Milne Search.
Milne Search allows you to search simultaneously for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more. You may use keywords, titles, authors, or phrases. Refine your results using the choices on the left. For example, if you want to discover the newest results then select Sort by Date-Newest. Explore Resource Type, also on the left, to get a sense of the various materials available to you.
Library Catalog is commonly used to search the physical collections of the James M. Milne Library, including ebooks, by an author’s name or a book’s title. You may also use keywords to search the library catalog, which contains the table of contents for many records. Subject headings are included in keyword searching and are assigned to all library catalog holdings.
Other Collections:
While Milne Search and Library Catalog are two of the main searching functions in Milne Search, there are others available for use. Online Access, Child Collection, Course Reserves, EMC Media, NY State Collection, Reference, Special Collections (SCC), SUNY Catalog, and Young Adult (YA) are all options to choose from. These collections can be searched exclusively by selecting them in the top menu. For example, selecting Child Collection will include results only from that collection.